We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Odd address not accessible at all.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Causeway 353 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Causeway 353 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   353 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Pulau Penang, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Odd address not accessible at all.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

My boyfriend and i stayed for only 1night. The hotel is strategically located in city center surrounded by many cafes & just a block away from Bourke St mall. But this hotel is not accessible by cars. The hotel's main entrance is hidden in a back alley which is very awkward. Our room rate AUD260/night is unworthy. Air cond is not adjustable, shower is weak, lobby reception is cramped. Front desk on night shift is rude & least considerable. I'm sure we could have stayed at a better hotel with the similar rate.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chkjas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

907 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    472
    157
    54
    36
See reviews for
116
404
64
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Booked this place that had mixed reviews and had me a little worried, however it has all you need and more. Great location, 1 block from Bourke St Mall and Trams, 50m from Elizabeth St Trams and Shops, great cafes and pubs right at the front door. Reception is small and busy but very clean and cool. Rooms are only ready after 2pm so we had a little wait but when we got in there, Deluxe Twin, it was clean and perfect for what we needed. Firm comfortable beds, great bathroom, excellent shower, full block out curtains and no outside noises, Aircond perfect...Very happy with our few days, will stay again. Thanks 353.

Room Tip: Book away from the lift. We had a room 7 rooms away from the lift and didn't hear a thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stayed here with partner for one night. Good location in quiet area of Melbourne yet close to shops, cafes etc. First gripe is the room was not cleaned very well, in fact the carpets had not been vacuumed. Secondly, the staff need to lighten up and smile! Overall it was a positive experience but could have been a lot better if the staff made a bit more effort.
Also, fire alarms were activated throughout the building and although all patrons evacuated, there was no directives, assistance or explanation from staff. Obviously a false alarm, the Fire brigade didnt even bother showing up!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nomasaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights with wife and were very happy, the rooms are ok not huge and were cleaned every day.
Fantastic cafes in laneway and across road.
Got a great deal online and will stay here again when I need to be in melbourne CBD.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daniel s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lennox Head, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

I spent 5 nights at Hotel 353 while away on business. The staff were nothing but friendly to me during my stay - I always received a friendly greeting upon passing the front desk. My room was cleaning immaculately everyday. The hotel is located very centrally - and on weekdays you can grab beautiful coffee (and a fancier breakfast) by literally stepping outside. The breakfast offered is also sufficient - offering cereal, fresh and yummy fruit, croissants, and a selection of toasts with cheese and cold meats.
I will happily stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank biddiebride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Booked room six month in advance for a triple room with three single beds. Got there and they said they upgraded us to a premier room what a joke. We got two singles and a fold out couch that felt like you were sleeping on a board. I had my elderly mother with me and she couldn't get in and out of the bath for a shower which is why I booked the other room. Staff at front counter was nice but all she could say was I am only reception staff. Dirty pillow slips which were replaced but going to have a shower and unfolded the towls to find dirty marks was gross. Filled out form in morning but I would never go there again. Could not adjust air con breakfast basic but what I would expect for for light breaky. Best thing was the location centre of CBD and easy to find and close to where we needed to go with older person who can't walk long way. Over all NO AGAIN

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Musk30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights during the tennis open and found it a reasonable hotel. A great location, in a cool pedestrian lane with lots of cafes. Found to service excellent and the breakfast was fine. Rooms typical size and condition. Started to feel cramped and lacking sunlight by the end of our stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Felix150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#112 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#103 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 514 reviews
Central Business District
Ibis Styles Melbourne, The Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Novotel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
Rendezvous Hotel Melbourne
#60 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 3,462 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway 353 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway 353 Hotel

Property: Causeway 353 Hotel
Address: 353 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway 353 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular 4 star hotels in Melbourne CBD, Causeway 353 Hotel is ideally located on Little Collins Street. Close to shopping and the corporate offices, the hotel is equally accommodating to both leisure and corporate visitors alike.Positioned amongst an extensive array of international eateries, cafes and quirky shops, Causeway 353 Hotel offers you an opportunity to experience the best of Melbourne's shopping right at your doorstep. Bourke Street Mall is within walking distance offering an assortment of retail icons such as Myer, David Jones and Zara department stores plus much more! The close proximity of public transport makes getting around town or visiting Melbourne's attractions easy, with both trams and trains departing nearby regularly. Entertainment and sporting venues such as The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Etihad Stadium, Crown Casino, Princess Theatre, Regent Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria, Eureka Tower, Melbourne Gaol, and Melbourne Aquarium are all easily accessible on foot, whilst it takes only minutes on a tram or train to visit attractions such Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and the Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit. Shopping destinations such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and the DFO South Wharf shopping centre are just a quick tram ride away.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.Causeway 353 Hotel is contemporary in style, fitted with modern facilities, designed with a rich warm decor with an ambience of comfort. The hotel offers 142 rooms comprising of Deluxe King and Twin Rooms, Spa Rooms and Deluxe Suites. All rooms feature an LCD TV with select Foxtel channels, in-room safe, en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, minibar, ironing facilities, as well as wired and wireless internet access (at a charge). Amongst the other facilities within the Hotel, a fully equipped gym and steam room are available on the 2nd Floor along with a separate business centre with internet access and printing facilities. Causeway 353 Hotel also provides a 24 hour reception and tour desk, as well as a guest laundry. Continental buffet breakfast is served daily from 6.30A.M. to 10.30A.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Causeway 353 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway 353 Melbourne
Hotel Causeway 353

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing