We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,174)
Filter reviews
1,174 results
Traveler rating
241
615
202
66
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
615
202
66
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews continental breakfast equitable place collins street great location lane way central location yogurt spa suite steam room elizabeth st good size would stay here again tea coffee free wifi federation square king room bed was comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
827 - 832 of 1,174 reviews
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Upon arrival we were barely acknowledged as the (1) trainee staff member on the front desk fluttered around trying to assist another client with coins to the laundry for about 15 mins. The hotel is musty and smells of smoke with old cheap decor, dark gloomy rooms and dingy breakfast area. Cheap soft pillows on the beds which were two singles stuck together to make a king and the sheets didn't fit. One pillow on the bed had brown stains on it and when I gave it to house keeping I was given no apology. On the second day our room was not cleaned even though house keeping assured us it was.. but a soap line on the tub and wet towels on the floor does mean it hasn't been cleaned. Our fridge was also not restocked with all blame being allocated to the 'morning staff' and afternoon staff couldn't do anything about it. After this we made the decision to leave a day early and check into a 'nicer' hotel. Upon check out the 'caring' hotel staff did not even ask why. I do not recommend this hotel :(

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Xiphon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We stayed there May 2012 and had no difficulty in finding our way there. Staff were formal and efficient but not what I would consider friendly. Room was dark and damp with noisy air conditioning. Breakfast was just fine with a good selection of basic foods and serials. The best part of this hotel though its its location which is in the heart of central Melbourne. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Corner room was the best.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BMG67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The room was comfortable, with a well stocked mini bar (not overly expensive too). The biggest drawcard was the location, as it was within walking distance of the entire CBD area, close to Bourke street and Federation square. It was a bit hard to find in the beginning, as we weren't accustomed to Melbourne's Laneways. There are a few resturants in the laneway however they tended to cater to business people, therefore closed fairly early. Cheaper internet alternatives would be welcomed.

The only downside was the fact that the Kingsize beds we'd ordered were in fact two singles pushed together which made sleeping in the centre of the bed very uncomfortable. Due to this I wouldn't recommend for couples getting the Kingsize suite.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Warning..... This hotel is hard to find and our taxi driver was no use at all. There are three hotels with similar names all very close to each other. This hotel is down a filthy alleyway (can no one in this Melbourne alleyway use a broom & throw rubbish out?).

Upon arriving at the hotel we were told that our bill was not paid as we had booked through Agoda. This was checked by us and was a complete lie. Agoda had taken our money and it was up to the hotel (not us) to then collect the money from Agoda. Excuses were made but no apology offered.

The hotel room was clean as was the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable but the furniture was nasty & very, very cheap. Everything was chipped and rather rickety. There is no view except of roof tops, walls and yet another dirty alleyway.

Breakfast was shockingly dreadful. You just sign a tiny scrap of paper, there is no staff to assist you. The room is overcrowded with cheap plastic chairs & tables, the coffee and tea come out of a machine and the taste was awful. The cereal on offer is fine if you like stale, old stuff. The fruit was ok as was the toast (that you make yourself). There are no wait staff at all. We attempted breakfast only once in four days. Go to a Cafe...,.even Maccers has better food & service!!

The cleaning staff are friendly, the location is good and the noise level is low. Don't go with any expectations....that way you won't be let down.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on higher floors at least offer some natural light and are quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicar43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Required a hotel for a night in December 2012 while celebrating my Xmas party. The location is perfect and only a block from the Bourke Street Mall and a cpl blocks from all major train stations and loops.

The hotel was clean and comfortable and most of all quiet. The only thing I could fault was the dripping sound I heard in my room from the upstairs showers/hand basin. While it was a little frustrating, it wasn't anything I'd complain about.

I booked this room as part of a Summer Saver deal for $139 and was very happy with this rate. This rate included a continental breakfast for 2 ppl.

Overall good value for money. Probably wouldnt book this place if I was paying full price, but when do you ever pay full price these days?

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryanmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews