We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,168)
Filter reviews
1,168 results
Traveler rating
241
615
198
66
48
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
241
615
198
66
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastequitable placecollins streetgreat locationlane waycentral locationyogurtspa suitesteam roomelizabeth stgood sizewould stay here againtea coffeefree wififederation squareking roombed was comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
826 - 831 of 1,168 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Warning..... This hotel is hard to find and our taxi driver was no use at all. There are three hotels with similar names all very close to each other. This hotel is down a filthy alleyway (can no one in this Melbourne alleyway use a broom & throw rubbish out?).

Upon arriving at the hotel we were told that our bill was not paid as we had booked through Agoda. This was checked by us and was a complete lie. Agoda had taken our money and it was up to the hotel (not us) to then collect the money from Agoda. Excuses were made but no apology offered.

The hotel room was clean as was the bathroom. The bed was very comfortable but the furniture was nasty & very, very cheap. Everything was chipped and rather rickety. There is no view except of roof tops, walls and yet another dirty alleyway.

Breakfast was shockingly dreadful. You just sign a tiny scrap of paper, there is no staff to assist you. The room is overcrowded with cheap plastic chairs & tables, the coffee and tea come out of a machine and the taste was awful. The cereal on offer is fine if you like stale, old stuff. The fruit was ok as was the toast (that you make yourself). There are no wait staff at all. We attempted breakfast only once in four days. Go to a Cafe...,.even Maccers has better food & service!!

The cleaning staff are friendly, the location is good and the noise level is low. Don't go with any expectations....that way you won't be let down.

Room Tip: Corner rooms on higher floors at least offer some natural light and are quiet.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Vicar43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

Required a hotel for a night in December 2012 while celebrating my Xmas party. The location is perfect and only a block from the Bourke Street Mall and a cpl blocks from all major train stations and loops.

The hotel was clean and comfortable and most of all quiet. The only thing I could fault was the dripping sound I heard in my room from the upstairs showers/hand basin. While it was a little frustrating, it wasn't anything I'd complain about.

I booked this room as part of a Summer Saver deal for $139 and was very happy with this rate. This rate included a continental breakfast for 2 ppl.

Overall good value for money. Probably wouldnt book this place if I was paying full price, but when do you ever pay full price these days?

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryanmcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Without doubt the location of the Causeway 353 hotel is its best feature being within walking distance of many of the main sites and with easy tram connections to those further afield. I stayed for 3 nights in November when on holiday with my sister. The reception staff were efficient rather than friendly and at times appeared over stretched. The room was fine - slightly on the small side but perfectly adequate and the bathroom clean and functional. It was clean,and the beds were comfortable with good bed linen. The wall of the bedroom were beginning to show signs of needing a repaint but not to the extent others have mentioned nor did we notice any adverse smells. There is a safe for valuables and complimentary tea and coffee. Air conditioning worked fine

The basement breakfast room is a tad depressing being a very large and very sparse room with bright over-head lighting. The defunct bar area made the room look as if it was being put into mothballs! That said the food itself was OK - cold meats ( sometimes slow to replenish) and cheese, some fruit and a range of pastries. Coffee from the machine is reasonable My suggestion would be to skip breakfast as there are so many really great coffee shops etc nearby.

Overall we were not disappointed: we found the causeway to be a perfectly acceptable, functional -and cheap -hotel in a good location which is what we wanted.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rosyposy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Not expensive, but expected better. First, very difficult to find ....off the main street down a rubbish-strewn alley ...very off-putting. Room was shabby, clean enough though but dark and gloomy. Staff ok. Glad not to have booked for any longer.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

Went to Melbourne for a 4 day trip. The only great thing about the hotel is the location. 2 minutes and you are in Bourke Street Mall. The rooms are very average. A lot of the furniture scratched and scuffed. Spa bath in some rooms, definitely made it better. Air conditioning not adjustable!!! Got quite stuffy in the room. Staff not friendly at all - unacceptable for a hotel. Wouldn't stay again.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews