We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Causeway 353 Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$229
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$192
$104
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$173
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Westin Melbourne(Melbourne)
$195
$176
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$158
Hotel Windsor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Alto Hotel on Bourke(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$148
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
$126
$91
Radisson
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$261
$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$199
$175
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,141)
Filter reviews
1,141 results
Traveler rating
236
598
195
66
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
236
598
195
66
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscontinental breakfastequitable placecollins streetgreat locationcold meatslane waycentral locationspa roomyogurtelizabeth stwould stay here againgood sizefree wififederation squarebed was comfortablecoffee machinetwin room
Filter
Updating list...
919 - 924 of 1,141 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Centrally located one block from Burke St mall. Spacious room with good facilities including spa. When priced right this is a great hotel to stay at.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BazAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2011

I stayed just overnight with my teenage daughter and we found Causeway 353 great for our needs. Location is excellent. We had a twin room which was small but adequate for what we wanted. It was clean and quiet - there were tea and coffee making facilities and a microwave oven. The bathroom was compact but cleverly designed.

We found the staff at reception very courteous and helpful and friendly. Breakfast was good - cereal, toast, danish, croissants, fruit, ham, cheese, yoghurt. It's included in the price which is hard to find in other Melbourne hotels.

Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WoniOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

All in all the value and service is absolutely recommendable. Due to the reason that this hotel is a 4* hotel the rooms are quite good equipped and the location of the hotel is perfect. Close 2 Flinderstreet station and just a few minutes walk to Crown Casino Complex. CQ Bar is just around the corner! Hotel is perfect for all generations and also suitable for families.
The breakfast is just standard nothing special.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joohgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights on business. The entrance to the hotel was a bit hard to find as it's tucked away in a laneway between little Collins St and Collins St. Once found, ckeckin was seamless and the room was pleasantly big.

Perhaps as a corporate client, I did get one of the bigger rooms which could have fitted a whole family.

The room was modern, clean and sleek but their choice of appliance brands gave away their budget for room fitouts.

Comfortable king size bed and most importantly a strong shower.

The gym had the basics and a view looking out onto little collins St.

The continental breakfast was most disappointing with little choice. But there are plenty of cafes within steps of the hotel that serves nice hot breakfast.

A 5-10 min walk will take you to bourke St mall.

Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank contactim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

Stayed at the Causeway early September for 3 nights . Staff member at Check-in was difficult to understand and appeared a little bewildered at our questions on payment procedures ( like it's not always the same at each Hotel , including how security deposits are held/refunded etc)

Room was fine , pillows lousy ! Plenty of towels and bathroom toiletries. TV - channels limited . Didn't require Internet connections.

Breakfast was ordinary and sufficient but stale ( and I mean rock hard) bread was in amongst fresh slices of bread , however the staff are like zombies and very unfriendly . In fact not one of them spoke to any of the guests during the 3 breakfast sitting we were there , when a guest asked where the milk was a staff member just pointed in a general direction and kept walking .

Dishes are removed but tables not wiped over , I saw a few guests wiping the tables with serviettes before sitting down , so I'm not the only guest that noticed this lack of hygiene attention.

There was an unfortunate incident on our floor which was badly handled by staff at the front counter who should not have let us go to our floor which was supposed to be locked for security/police reasons , once again a lack of communication between staff and guests .

Otherwise it's location is good if your visiting inner Melbourne or on a quick business visit . Expensive for what it claims to be but still reasonably good compared to others in the same area.

There's an excellent Malaysian restaurant just around the corner in Little Collins street , superb food at excellent prices.

Room Tip: Most rooms appear reasonably quiet but the ones facing the small lane have trucks/delivery vans entering early in the morning. Not a big issue but they did wake me up.
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mahjong77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews