We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located 4-Star hotel”
Review of Causeway 353 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Causeway 353 Hotel
Ranked #89 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed September 22, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights on business. The entrance to the hotel was a bit hard to find as it's tucked away in a laneway between little Collins St and Collins St. Once found, ckeckin was seamless and the room was pleasantly big.

Perhaps as a corporate client, I did get one of the bigger rooms which could have fitted a whole family.

The room was modern, clean and sleek but their choice of appliance brands gave away their budget for room fitouts.

Comfortable king size bed and most importantly a strong shower.

The gym had the basics and a view looking out onto little collins St.

The continental breakfast was most disappointing with little choice. But there are plenty of cafes within steps of the hotel that serves nice hot breakfast.

A 5-10 min walk will take you to bourke St mall.

Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank contactim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,093)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

880 - 886 of 1,093 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2011

Stayed at the Causeway early September for 3 nights . Staff member at Check-in was difficult to understand and appeared a little bewildered at our questions on payment procedures ( like it's not always the same at each Hotel , including how security deposits are held/refunded etc)

Room was fine , pillows lousy ! Plenty of towels and bathroom toiletries. TV - channels limited . Didn't require Internet connections.

Breakfast was ordinary and sufficient but stale ( and I mean rock hard) bread was in amongst fresh slices of bread , however the staff are like zombies and very unfriendly . In fact not one of them spoke to any of the guests during the 3 breakfast sitting we were there , when a guest asked where the milk was a staff member just pointed in a general direction and kept walking .

Dishes are removed but tables not wiped over , I saw a few guests wiping the tables with serviettes before sitting down , so I'm not the only guest that noticed this lack of hygiene attention.

There was an unfortunate incident on our floor which was badly handled by staff at the front counter who should not have let us go to our floor which was supposed to be locked for security/police reasons , once again a lack of communication between staff and guests .

Otherwise it's location is good if your visiting inner Melbourne or on a quick business visit . Expensive for what it claims to be but still reasonably good compared to others in the same area.

There's an excellent Malaysian restaurant just around the corner in Little Collins street , superb food at excellent prices.

Room Tip: Most rooms appear reasonably quiet but the ones facing the small lane have trucks/delivery vans ente...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mahjong77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Hotel Causeway 353 in in a great location in the city.
Great little restaurant down in the basement level, we had dinner there as we arrived late at night.
The free breakfast is not worth having if you have come to Melbourne to eat! Harry joys 2 doors down has a great breakfast!
Rooms are fine for the price. The bed was quite uncomfortable and the pillows were so soft they were non existent but I did ask for a spare therefore 3 pillows here met my standards as one at home.
Also while staying there we did get alot of cigarette smell coming through the aircon vents which was quite unpleasant for a non smoker. Probably wouldn't stay here again but would choose a location near by.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Candiccejh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

This hotel has received excellent reviews on this site and they are well-deserved. It's located right in the centre of the CBD- about 5mins walk from Flinders St Station. The hotel is extremely clean (a non-negotiable issue for me!), the (king-size) bed was very comfortable and we slept well. Given that the hotel is down an alleyway off Little Collins St- it's also a very quiet location. Directly outside the hotel entrance there are a number of cafes so there's plenty of breakfast choice for tired NZ travellers who've caught the 6am flight from Wellington. We were impressed that even though we arrived at the hotel quite early in the morning, there was no problem about an early check-in. We were also given a 2-hour extension on the check-out on the day we left and that made the wierd international arrival and departure times ex-Wellington, NZ, very easy. A copy of 'The Age' newspaper is delivered each morning. The rooms are small and there's not a lot of natural light but this didn't worry us because we didn't go to Melbourne to sit in the hotel room.

We read the poor reviews of this hotel (about unhelpful staff and the breakfast in the basement) and have to say that this wasn't our experience. The staff were welcoming and professional; and yes, the hotel restaurant is in the basement, and while it wasn't glamourous, it was perfectly clean and respectable--- the continental breakfast was simple but entirely adequate for our needs (besides, there's plenty of choice in the cafes outside if the continental doesn't appeal- cooked breakfasts can also be ordered at the hotel restaurant). The breakfast buffet includes cereals, toast, a small selection of cold meats, pastries and fruit, tea, coffee and juices; the cost was included in the accomodation package. On the first Tuesday of each month, there is a comedy evening in the hotel resturant- we caught the end of this month's act and were fairly impressed (good to see a NZ comedian on the bill too!). Overall, we liked this hotel and would probably choose to return on our next trip.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank falstaff1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

A great little hotel located in the Heart of Melbourne so close to everything ! Great continental breakfast considering it's free and lovely customer service from the front reception staff to even the cleaners . Will be recommending to anyone traveling to Melbourne !

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurenjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Located down a sidestreet off Little Collins street which can be initially difficult to find but centrally located. Short walk to Federation Square and many of the 'precincts' around Melbourne CBD.
Used SkyBus for travel from/to airport with free transfer to hotel which solved finding it for the first time.
Welcome drink voucher on arrival for use in bar.
Buffet breakfast was very good with hot and cold selections.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pauste1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I've stayed here a few times as the hotel is right behind my offices in Melbourne. Whilst there is little natural light, the rooms are a good size and the bathroom is functional. Whilst breakfast is a bit basic in the basement, it is free. I would say it is a convenient business hotel where all you need is a bed in a central location or if you plan to be outside of the hotel if you are holidaying.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OzzyGriswolds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#110 of 161 in Melbourne
644 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Causeway
Hotel Causeway
#140 of 161 in Melbourne
362 reviews
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#87 of 161 in Melbourne
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#38 of 161 in Melbourne
1,848 reviews
Central Business District
Brady Hotels Central Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#99 of 161 in Melbourne
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Causeway 353 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Causeway 353 Hotel

Address: 353 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $97 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Causeway 353 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most popular 4 star hotels in Melbourne CBD, Causeway 353 Hotel is ideally located on Little Collins Street. Close to shopping and the corporate offices, the hotel is equally accommodating to both leisure and corporate visitors alike.Positioned amongst an extensive array of international eateries, cafes and quirky shops, Causeway 353 Hotel offers you an opportunity to experience the best of Melbourne's shopping right at your doorstep. Bourke Street Mall is within walking distance offering an assortment of retail icons such as Myer, David Jones and Zara department stores plus much more! The close proximity of public transport makes getting around town or visiting Melbourne's attractions easy, with both trams and trains departing nearby regularly. Entertainment and sporting venues such as The MCG, Rod Laver Arena, Etihad Stadium, Crown Casino, Princess Theatre, Regent Theatre, the National Gallery of Victoria, Eureka Tower, Melbourne Gaol, and Melbourne Aquarium are all easily accessible on foot, whilst it takes only minutes on a tram or train to visit attractions such Luna Park in St Kilda, Melbourne Zoo and the Albert Park Grand Prix Circuit. Shopping destinations such as Bridge Road, Chapel Street and the DFO South Wharf shopping centre are just a quick tram ride away.The hotel has a discount parking arrangement with Wilson's Galleria car park located at the corner of Little Collins and Elizabeth Streets. Should guests require airport transfers and tours, reception staff gladly oblige to assist with bookings.Causeway 353 Hotel is contemporary in style, fitted with modern facilities, designed with a rich warm decor with an ambience of comfort. The hotel offers 142 rooms comprising of Deluxe King and Twin Rooms, Spa Rooms and Deluxe Suites. All rooms feature an LCD TV with select Foxtel channels, in-room safe, en-suite bathroom, air conditioning, minibar, ironing facilities, as well as wired and wireless internet access (at a charge). Amongst the other facilities within the Hotel, a fully equipped gym and steam room are available on the 2nd Floor along with a separate business centre with internet access and printing facilities. Causeway 353 Hotel also provides a 24 hour reception and tour desk, as well as a guest laundry. Continental buffet breakfast is served daily from 6.30A.M. to 10.30A.M. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Causeway 353 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Causeway 353 Melbourne
Hotel Causeway 353

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing