We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice food and atmosphere”
Review of Lamaro's Hotel

Lamaro's Hotel
Ranked #939 of 4,114 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $79
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Welcome to Lamaro's Hotel, South Melbourne's favourite pub. We're all about classic dishes done just right with the best of local produce. Gather your friends and family and come in to see us! We're always glad to see you.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice food and atmosphere”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

A group of six of us dined here on a Friday night. The restaurant was reasonably full, but the service was good and the waiters were attentive, re-filling water and wine glasses regularly. The atmosphere was nice, with good separation between tables and a pleasant layout. The food was good - the steaks were excellent. The chocolate pudding was also excellent.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Autraliantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    19
    11
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Have been a regular here over the last few years and have never been let down.
Great selection on the menu and I've always enjoyed every dish.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank erialcw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The best tasting plate and warm atmosphere”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We love Lamaro's especially on a Sunday afternoon. We often go in the afternoon on a Sunday when it is fairly quiet but you can still order off the bar menu..which has more than enough to choose from. We love the tasting plate for two, it is consistently wonderful. Also on a Sunday afternoon, they have a guy on a guitar..he was great too.
Service, food and atmosphere all highly rated!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PHOAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great ambience, food and wine bar”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We attended the Samuél's Gorge wine dinner at this great restaurant recently. As it was winter, the fires were alight, there were many people enjoying a glass or two of wine and the ambience was good. We had many small courses, the food was first class including the rabbit terrine and duck pate. This was accompanied by great wines from Justin.
The small dining rooms are excellent for these occasions.
We will certainly return to this restaurant when next in Melbourne

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food in a great pub-style venue”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had a private dining room function for about 20 people and the food and service were both excellent. The menu had a great selection, as did the wine list. Not overly priced either... it was good value for great food.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lamaro's Hotel also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Lamaro's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing