We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute Torture”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Flinders Backpackers
Ranked #41 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Torture”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Firstly, this hostel is a dive, and i mean disgusting- the rooms had mould all over the windows, we were in a TINY room with 3 other ppl (2 of whom were sharing a single bed :S) There was nowhere to put our stuff. The bathrooms were horrific.....and by that I mean that sharing with wild animals would have been a cleaner environment! The showers & toilets looked as if they had never been cleaned. We had no hope of sleeping since there was a club on the 3rd floor of this hostel (we were on 7th) of which I could hear every single word & feel every single beat coming from. There were ppl in the corridors banging doors & screaming. Some guys thought it was funny to go & down in the elevator getting off at every level to shout and just yell in general at the top of their voices for about an hour & a half. Which brings me to the point that there is absolutely no security. The club finally stopped at 5 o clock - and then what happens - everyone piles into the corridors and rooms and shouts & plays music. At this point no sleep had been had by the way. So then one of the people sharing our room came into the room, bangs the light on and proceeds to rearrange his wardrobe, send txts loudly and then opens the window slightly (from which came the blurring noise of police cars/taxis/ppl screaming/more music!) and lights up a cig!! So the tiny room is filling with smoke & then he decides to do the most intellegent thing & shut the window? The stay resulted in us checking out at 5am - the staff on the front desk didn't care at all about our stay & just wanted the money - they don't do refunds apparently (how convenient). Will be telling everyone never to stay here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    81
    84
    33
    52
See reviews for
3
61
108
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed December 5, 2012

if u want a simple nights sleep DO NOT STAY HERE i am an outgoing guy who stayed here with my girlfriend and it is without doubt the worst place i have stayed staff are very poor they do not do refunds which says it all. they seem to allow people to run riot making extremely loud noise throughout the night and take drugs, beds are dirty, rooms are dirty, i can not say 1 good thing about this place apart from the free hour internet they give you when you check in which i am now using to write this. enjoy oz dont stay here :) off to buy a tent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Having travelled through 3rd world countries, i have to say this place was worse!! What a joke....for starters, the price is ridiculous for what you get, its the most i have ever paid for a backpackers and it was the dirtiest. They obviously dont give a damn, its all about getting the people in and out, u ar just a number and the staff are not helpful. The room was tiny, the bed was caving in with a pole holding it up in the middle, the doors slammed all night and all morning, they obviously dont want to invest in door stoppers that decrease the noise, the floor was disgusting and the bathrooms, oh wow........filth.........

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lori b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed November 11, 2012

When i arrived at the first day and moved in the room(4-female), I was shocked by the dirty situation. There were so many stuff and rubbish on the floor (I met a mud roommate). It seemed that no staff cleaned up the room. Another shocking incidence was that there was no hot even warm water supply for shower. Although I went there in spring, the weather was still a little bit cold. How come there was no hot water supply. I could only wash my hair but no shower. I asked the staff, but they just replied me to try other floors or there should be hot water supply if I waited for few minutes. However, the fact was the same situation on other floors. How come such terrible? The toilet and the shower area were not clean. The shower curtain was so dirty. They would provide free breakfast (just simple bread and oatmeal) The location is relatively good. It is close to the flinders station. But, I will never choose it. I almostly cried for the terrible incidence. I advise you rather living in YHA with the same price. I dont know why it has 7X% rating.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badbad_928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Rooms were a bit cramped and the lift was broken, but it was clean, decent bathrooms, free breakfast and free beer some nights - the pool table was broken but hey, beggars can't be choosers, right?

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCB85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2012

the hostel all together is pretty average. small rooms without heating !!! its freezing!! the showers are clean but mainly cold or luke warm.
i was surprised at a big place like this how clean the kitchen is. i think its got an excellent location and good price (150 p.w 4 share) but nothing to stay for longer.
reception staff is very friendly and helpfull and i like the fact that is has continental brakfast every morning.
i would come back but if u looking for a cosy friendly social backpackers .thats not the right place

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

I stayed almost a week here, longer than planned. The kitchen is a nice size, the staff are friendly and there is a good tv/pool communal area where you can meet people. We didn't get any noise in our rooms at night. The rooms themselves were small, so you had to keep tidy and the lockers were under the beds which was a bit annoying. But with a nice common room and lots to do in Melbourne I wasn't there much. The bathrooms are clean with plenty of toilets and showers. The location is great. Close to all restaurants and shops and some nightlife. Other places to go in the evening were cheap to get back from if you shared a taxi. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunseeker2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 136 in Melbourne
535 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#33 of 136 in Melbourne
412 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#19 of 136 in Melbourne
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Home at The Mansion
#48 of 136 in Melbourne
118 reviews
Central Business District
Discovery Melbourne
Discovery Melbourne
#103 of 136 in Melbourne
476 reviews
Central Business District
King Street Backpackers
King Street Backpackers
#104 of 136 in Melbourne
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Flinders Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flinders Backpackers

Property: Flinders Backpackers
Address: 35 Elizabeth St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Flinders Backpackers is located in the heart of Melbourne CBD, which makes it the perfect location for every traveller! Every guest gets a FREE breakfast with make your own PANCAKES every morning to start his or her day off right. We have a HUGE common area for guest to enjoy with a NEW Movie room with a 70" TV and endless movie selection, FREE pool table and ping-pong table and a fully equipped kitchen with walk-in cool room. Staying with us will have you living amongst Melbourne's funky cafe and shopping district while only being a few minutes walk away from Flinders Station, South Bank and Federation Square. We offer great value accommodation across seven floors with 2, 3 and 4 bed dormitory rooms, twin and doubles private rooms all with shared bathroom facilities. After a day of exploring what Melbourne has to offer come home to some great events including bingo with great prizes, trivia, movie night with free popcorn and free meal nights. No free Wi-Fi but some of the cheapest Internet around. Our rooms: Every dorm room has individual security lockers, fan, secure card entry, linen, pillows and blankets provided. Towels are also available for hire. Please take note before booking: All guests must have international government issued photo ID in the form of a driver's license or passport and a credit card at time of check in All guests must be 18 years or older. Sorry no children. Flinders Backpackers is in the heart of the busy CBD. As such, guests may be disturbed by noise due to trams, traffic, and people on the busy streets surrounding the hostel. Friday and Saturday night's guests may also be disturbed by noise from the bar in the basement level ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Flinders Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Flinders Station Backpackers Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing