We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Skips drinks, go straight to the table (if u can)”
Review of Red Spice Road

Red Spice Road
Ranked #43 of 4,065 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $33
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
The moon
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Skips drinks, go straight to the table (if u can)”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

You know that extreme flavour bliss moment when the group you are dining with all take that first bite and experience a combined bliss moment? Well that was what happened when we at the pork belly. This place delivers on flavour and quality, albeit service was a tad rough and ready.

My only real gripe is the front of house staff deliberately tell guests upon arrival that there is only a short wait and they can go to the bar until their table is ready. So we did this. Whilst having a few drinks, it's not hard to count about 30 empty tables in the restaurant where we could be sitting! It took me three requests before we finally (and I sensed reluctantly) were shown to our table. I have shared this anecdote with acquantices who all confirm the same has happened to them.... leads me to think it's a cheeky ploy to get you to bump up your spend on their alcohol.

That aside, great place to eat and worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jason V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    309
    86
    40
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Not exactly what I had in mind.”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We ate here on NYE with the set banquet menu. I liked the overall style and theme of the restaurant, although with the big tables it does not make for a romantic meal. We had 4 dizzy blondes to one side, a rather dull couple opposite , who's life ambition was to win big at Crown ( what a winner - not) and a guy groping his hooker girl-friend on the other side.
We would have quite happily have not sat with any of them.
The food was interesting, some I loved, some I did not.
I might try it again if I were nearby, but I won't be going out of the way to eat there again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Globalcrtique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
388 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“Not sure what all the fuss is about”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Came here after hearing so many great things, including about the pork belly that was meant to be to die for.

There were four of us and we ordered 2 pork bellies and shared. The Asian slaw the comes with it was great and the kitchen was accommodating and did not put chilli in the sauce as requested. The rice was also fine. (Why I'm giving it an average and not poor.)

As for the pork, first let me say this. Pork is my favourite meat. I'm a sucker for crackling and make a pork roast and I'm yours. Make me pork belly and I'm yours forever. Whilst there was a decent amount of pork it was so fatty and greasy that I could not eat the whole piece and either could my husband. It was like eating lard with Chinese spices. I could not do it and thought maybe I'd just gotten a dud but my friends had the same issue and I could see a dish that came out a little while later with the same issue. It was gross!

The decor inside is nice and I like the idea of the communal tables but I'm yet to understand what all the fuss is about and wouldn't recommend this place with so many better options for the same price.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ktsnowowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

A fabulous meal shared with family for my birthday. Lots of delicious small plates for sharing and the Pork Belly would probably be the best I've ever eaten. The Crispy Duck was great too.Our waitress was exceptional-friendly, efficient and professional. First plates were slow in arriving but from then on everything was served at the right intervals. Interesting wines too!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Reindeer48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good food, after an eternity...”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

An interesting enough restaurant with a slightly hackneyed food theme - westernised south east asian - to match the 90s funky asian fusion design. So far so good.

Until you meet the service. A flustered and grumpy floor host, followed by an equally disinterested and patronising waiter ("Oh we don't do limonata here, you know, this is a South East Asian restaurant"), who along with his colleagues specialised in avoiding eye contact (a peculiarly Australian service trait).

The food - on a busy but not frantic lunchtime - took an hour and fifteen minutes, despite repeated assurances after 50 minutes or so that it was "just two minutes away". Ok, it was pretty good, especially the pork belly with apple salad and the braised beef cheek, but really??

My 9 year old son took it upon himself to write a scathing yet accurate comment at the restaurant...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alistair M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Spice Road also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Red Spice Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing