We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Spice Road

Red Spice Road
Ranked #50 of 3,661 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

first visit to this novel restaurant with great atmosphere which my wife and I thoroughly enjoyed. The menu was enticing and the food lived up to expectations - well presented on a timely basis and full of flavors. The wine listed also contained some interesting selections, well beyond the standard. Oh and the service was friendly, efficient and helpful. Pricing was on the market and overall RSB is recommended for a further visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wg t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    377
    250
    73
    33
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Superb food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Fantastic in every way. Atmosphere is fun with communal dining setting. Some people wouldn't enjoy this if they were after a more intimate dinner, but we found it great. Large tables which would be fantastic for a big group.
I ordered the pork belly and it was the best be ever had. Delicious and moist meat covered in a tasty crisp crackling. The tasty rich sauce was perfect, and the portion size was very generous for the $32 price tag.
Great service. We were well looked after and the waitress gave us her preferences from the menu and even warned us when she thought we were ordering too much food.
The cheapest bottle of wine was around $55, but I do believe that on Mondays they may be BYO.

Overall, a great experience and we will surely be back soon.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mon_teeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
90 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great place, great food, great staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

This place has a great atmosphere (although pretty loud, so if you don't like that kind of thing, give it a miss), with delicious, plentiful food that's fresh and served with a smile. I was very impressed with the staff and the prices are on the upper scale of fair for what you get and the beautiful restaurant you're in. Treat yourself to a cocktail if you have to wait at the bar for a table.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiff85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
186 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Went ad a group of 3, the food here is excellent with the standout dishes being the Pork Belly and Beef Cheeks, which were all excellent. The restaurant has large group tables as well as some smaller tables, so if you are looking for a bit of privacy then I would suggest booking a smaller table. The staff are excellent. Would definitely return and would highly recommend this restaurant.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everything is good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Tried three small plates Scallops, corn fritters & two large plates Pork belly & crispy duck, all were very, very tasty & I would order them again when we go back. But my standout was the Chilli Salt Lamb Ribs with Pineapple Tamarind Dipping Sauce, Absoluetely delicious. The staff were very friendly & helpful our waiter even advised us that we initially ordered too much food so we left one large plate off our order. We still had more than enough food as the servings were all generous in size. I would highly recommend Red Spice road to anyone. This restuarant is probably more suited to friend rather than a romantic dinner as most of the seating is communal on large tables.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johnfromoz62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Spice Road also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Red Spice Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing