We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rare Steakhouse Uptown

Rare Steakhouse Uptown
Reserve with
Rare Steakhouse Uptown is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 3,661 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $53
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Committed to serving premium quality produce in a welcoming environment, our beef is sourced from across the country from Gippsland to Rockhampton and is graded by Meat Standards of Australia for its cut and quality - Come experience premium beef, basted and grilled to perfection, at three steak restaurants in Melbourne's CBD.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Beef is great quality, and also sides are very well cooked.Service and waitresses are welcoming and the wine offered is also good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank agrimante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    142
    25
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Fantastic food; price to be expected.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Went there on a Saturday night with a party of 5. Prebooked, but gave us a 2 hour window to vacate the table (which was fine considering we arrived early, giving us more like a 2 and a half hour window).

Food was fantastic. Had the rump steak. Good value for money. Had a side of the seasonal vegetables, which were slightly over seasoned but otherwise great. Baked potato was the best I've ever tasted. Black pepper sauce was subtle, but still fantastic (and was given a decent amount).

Overall, only issue with it is that, in the beginning, we were under the impression that the bread and olives offered upon your arrival were complimentary. We were not aware that the small bowl of olives (about a handful) would cost $7.50. Seems a trivial amount, hence why it didn't plague this review too much - it is however to inform customers of hidden charges, to which this was one.

Nevertheless, fantastic meal, reasonable prices, definitely going back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitchell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Everything ou read about the steaks is true, they're amazing! The service was great too. The restaurant is hidden down a lane way in venal Melbourne. All in all a lovely dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best steak I've had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

I've eaten here and the King st restaurant 3 or 4 times and I can honestly say its my favourite steak in Australia. Always delicious and for the quality it's reasonably priced. My dad had the rack of ribs and they were also outstanding.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Triton82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Great Steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We went for a early dinner and picked up their $35 for 2 course + glass of wine special. The steak for main was rather good considering the price - yes not the most tender piece of beef but I am sure if you bought a better cut off the main menu you could expect so. Cooked well, maybe very slightly overcooked. All in all a great value restaurant with load of potential. The staff were extremely attentive but unobtrusive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank prozerran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rare Steakhouse Uptown also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Rare Steakhouse Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing