We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious!”

Rare Steakhouse Uptown
Ranked #38 of 4,058 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $55
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Committed to serving premium quality produce in a welcoming environment, our beef is sourced from across the country from Gippsland to Rockhampton and is graded by Meat Standards of Australia for its cut and quality - Come experience premium beef, basted and grilled to perfection, at three steak restaurants in Melbourne's CBD.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Everything ou read about the steaks is true, they're amazing! The service was great too. The restaurant is hidden down a lane way in venal Melbourne. All in all a lovely dining experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jess D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    169
    41
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best steak I've had”
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I've eaten here and the King st restaurant 3 or 4 times and I can honestly say its my favourite steak in Australia. Always delicious and for the quality it's reasonably priced. My dad had the rack of ribs and they were also outstanding.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Triton82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great Steakhouse”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

We went for a early dinner and picked up their $35 for 2 course + glass of wine special. The steak for main was rather good considering the price - yes not the most tender piece of beef but I am sure if you bought a better cut off the main menu you could expect so. Cooked well, maybe very slightly overcooked. All in all a great value restaurant with load of potential. The staff were extremely attentive but unobtrusive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank prozerran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobram, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Sex on a plate”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is the best steak I have had in year, staff were great food was brilliant and we just walked in with no reservation

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DamIen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good steak, bad service”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We booked online which was nice and easy to do with instant confirmation.

We had some nice lamb cutlets and a chicken kebab to start. My main of T bone steak was cooked well and tasted very good. So far, so good.

Next came dessert or so we thought. After 30 minutes of waiting, including being told that we would be seen next, we gave up staring at the dessert menu and got out of our seats to pay the bill. When you are paying $45 for a main you would expect better.

The restaurant wasn't full at the time, plenty of empty tables whilst we were leaving, so I cannot think of a reason for this.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tom w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rare Steakhouse Uptown also viewed

 

Been to Rare Steakhouse Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing