We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never fails to deliver”
Review of Cumulus Inc.

Cumulus Inc.
Ranked #36 of 4,023 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Never fails to deliver”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

We have been to cumulus on numerous occasions & they never fail to deliver. Highlights from my meal were the charcuterie board for starters (the ox tonge a surprise hit) & rum baba for desert. Wine & beer selection both great, only complaint would be that wines by the bottle a little over priced.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    841
    521
    149
    42
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Martinborough, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Amazing service and great food”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We arrived and went to the holding area and ordered a bottle of wine. We only had to wait about 10-15 mins and we were then seated at the bar. It is interesting to watch the dynamics in a well run establishment.

I made a bit of a mess of the Wagyu bresaola - nearly dropped the lot on the floor. Never mind, it spread like butter and had a strong beef flavour. We had a fantastic meal and walked out suitably fed and watered. Thanks guys, we had a great night.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not worth the wait”
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Good food but have to wait for a table and for service. Note to management - you need more staff! It was a stressful experience watching the staff. Not rushing back given all the other great places in Melbourne.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiscerningSydney2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Another tapas/sharing type meal, that was a flavour explosion with every dish. Great staff, great food, and an excellent drinks menu. This place is trendy and great to experience, I recommend it to everyone. Dish of the day for me was the ginger steamed pudding with burnt butter ice cream and matched with a 20 year old Muscot, absolutely divine!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rt_zooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Arc One Gallery function”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We had a business dinner for 23 in the private function room/gallery. A set menu that was more inline with a degustation menu, was absolutely fantastic. Every dish was wonderful & quite unique in its own right. They were extremely attentive to special dietary needs. The room was large but intimate and perfect for a private dinner. The staff were excellent. My only disappointment was the amount of food that was left at the end, we were all so stuffed that we couldn't eat it all. Overall a wonderful experience that I would highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mel_GoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cumulus Inc. also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Cumulus Inc.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing