We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location”
Review of British Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
British Apartments
Ranked #152 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed April 12, 2014

I stayed here to attend a conference near the Melbourne University/Arts House and the location was amazing for that. The tram station is just across the road and takes you directly into the city on the 55 or 57 tram.

Alternatively you can walk down Ardent Street to reach the Hospital, cafes, bars and pubs.

The room was a decent size and provided a washing machine, dishwasher, stove top, fridge and plenty of tea/coffee. Relatively clean, the furniture had a couple of cigarette burns, but nothing major. The shower was super hot and have very good pressure. TV is a little small, but if you're travelling it's probably the least of your concerns.

The main problem I had with these apartments was the sleep quality was just awful. I unfortunately had the room right on the corner facing the traffic and trams. The windows are only single glazed, so you hear every tram, truck, car, walk signal and general foot traffic. Would highly recommend a room near the back, or bring ear plugs!

I was only here for a short period, so can't comment if the rooms were serviced or not.

Room Tip: Away from the road, much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank brendanabbott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 30 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

C'mon guys how hard is it to buy a good bed for the hotel!!!
In 4 nights I haven't had one good sleep!!! Bed is short, mattress is awful, soft, uneven, bed base is unstable. The worst bed I have ever slept in.
People beware!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlexPrakhiy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2014

This hotel is now named as plum serviced apartment, it required lot of improvement in their services and check in procedure is a bit troublesome.
This hotel is noisy at all corners, as its located at the intersection of busy roads. Location wise is pretty convenient, the size of the room is rather good but just the overall service need improvement.
We lived there for one week and we had a bad experience on Friday night. A group of guests rented a room for their party and the guests were very inconsiderate and uncooperative. The party started from 8pm and some guests were drunk. We made numerous calls to the hotel manager from 1230am till 3am, but he failed to control the situation. The only response from him was 'sorry we are trying our best, please call back if the noises continue'. It totally a nightmare !
Not recommended for family with children.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank angie1ktn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

After reading previous comments we were a bit dismayed but after staying for a week were happy with our choice. Very handy in North Melbourne with trams to City and shopping centres in opposite direction. Healthy walk to Queen Vic markets for breakfast or any of the other cafe's in the area. Only issue was the check in procedure which was a pain but ok if all you have is a back pack! Rooms were clean and good and not that noisy but we were pretty much on the last trams out of town every night :-))

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Djpz66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Handy to tram lines. The booking in procedure is painful as the main reception where you collect the keys is miles from the apartments.
I wouldn't use them again unless they found a way to improve the check in process.
Although, once you have got through the 2 taxi or 2 tram process to check in...the apartments weren't bad.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Darwin011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My son rented an apartment for me for a week and on the whole it was ok, very comfy bed (twins pushed together) and great shower. The 'service' was hit and miss, cobwebs hung from every corner, dead bugs, noisy between floors, washing machine didnt work. Rather expensive given lack of service and outside space dirty with dead trees in pots. good location for us but probably wouldnt use again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chrissiebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here a couple of times over the years and overall the units are excellent value for money in north melbourne, which is a great suburb. The units are always clean and crisp with all the standard inclusions. The main negatives are the noise if you happen to get a unit close to the road, which is extremely busy and the noise from the tram, makes sleeping really hard and I'm a heavy sleeper. I would make it a priority to only stay here if you have a room further back from the road with the tram on it. I've stayed further back before and the noise was not an issue.

Collection of the keys is also an issue as this is done from an apartment block in carlton (about one suburb away). There is absolutely NO parking out the front and this is tricky.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VNess77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Arrow On Swanston
#130 of 161 in Melbourne
287 reviews
Bayview On The Park
#135 of 161 in Melbourne
920 reviews
Seasons Heritage Melbourne
#123 of 161 in Melbourne
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Harbour View Apartment Hotel
Harbour View Apartment Hotel
#146 of 161 in Melbourne
331 reviews
Comfort Hotel East Melbourne
#120 of 161 in Melbourne
118 reviews
Parkville
Vibe Hotel Carlton Melbourne
Vibe Hotel Carlton Melbourne
#97 of 161 in Melbourne
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to British Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about British Apartments

Address: 168 Arden Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Plum Serviced Apartments North Melbourne)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > North Melbourne
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $81 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — British Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your British Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing