We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and fast service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Meiji Japanese Cafe - CLOSED

Meiji Japanese Cafe
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Chinatown
Tasmania
Level Contributor
738 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 361 helpful votes
“Great food and fast service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our previous favourite Japanese restaurant on Little Bourke has closed down so we walked up the road and found Meiji. The restaurant has a small lower dining room that has a very Japanese feel (upstairs is larger but not as atmospheric). We shared a yummy sushi plate and had tonkatsu which was a large serving. They have a good basic wine list and lots of sakes. The meal was good value and we will be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wombatdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    9
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A gem in Chinatown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great little sushi restaurant in the heart of Chinatown. Sushi/Sashimi is great, their hotpots are fabulous and the service was great. Really a pleasant meal.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaBrenton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
410 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Nice food but dreadfully slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

I went to Meiji after arriving in Melbourne late. There was only one other table so I thought I would be served quite quickly. Well, was I wrong! I had ordered sashimi and tempura. It took some half hour for the sashimi to come out and then another twenty minutes or so after I had finished the sashimi for the tempura to come out.

The food was actually very good but service is just too slow.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank klkh2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average food, poor service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

When we walked in and were taken upstairs to the extremely hot first floor, we probably should have taken it as a sign to leave.
Downstairs was lovely and cool but upstairs was like a sauna.
Service was poor (my drink didn't arrive, the water we requested was sent to the table behind us), and the food was just so bland. Not bad, but certainly not good.
We wouldn't return, as there are nicer Japanese restaurants only a short distance away.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sebthunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wasn't thrilled”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Nice location. But didn't seem authentic by any stretch. If I'm not mistaken, the owners aren't even Japanese. Cheap? Yes. Tasty? Not really.

Will I go back? Nope.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vagabiztravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meiji Japanese Cafe also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing