We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mesh - Crown Promenade

Mesh - Crown Promenade
Reserve with
Mesh - Crown Promenade is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #289 of 4,055 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Australian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Southbank
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

Started with the Pork Belly. This is one of the worst meals ever placed in front of me and although we were not charged for it at the end of the night, it should never have come out of the kitchen. My main on the other hand was delightful. We dined here because we were staying at Crown Promenade.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Clinton849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    108
    63
    16
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
103 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Some work needed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Went here twice for breakfast during our stay and it was well priced for a buffet breakfast in a hotel of this quality however the coffee was quite poor that they offered in the breakfast should have probably paid for a latte or cappuccino. When compared to other hotels it would compare woth the bacon was a lower quality and there wasn't as wide a selection of hot items as you may expect to see.

Helpful?
Thank tris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful seafood buffet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2013

We had a memorable night at Mesh, best thing was the live music. Seafood was excellent with oysters and prawns. We loved the veal fillet and lamb cutlets. To top off a great night was the dessert selection with a chocolate fountain.

Only down side was that it was very hard to find in the crown complex, there are not enough directions, and don't ask security staff where it is, they don't know and will give you a bum steer!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Willwork4holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Better value elsewhere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

I was recommended Mesh but was a bit disappointed, perhaps from high expectations. Buffet style desserts and entrees were very nice but main was extremely average, dry chicken, cold steak. Nothing to rave about. 3 drinks included on a Friday night and friendly service, plus good live music (covers). I wouldn't come back though, if you like desserts and choice then maybe it's for you but there are better places to eat in Melbourne for the same price. If I had to go back I would load up on the defrosted prawn entrees and have them as mains for the night.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank missie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

Have been here numerous times in 2013 on a Sunday for the full buffet and free flowing champagne. I can not fault it at all. It was great value for money and food choices were endless. Make sure you book because I have twice been turned away for not having a booking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mesh - Crown Promenade also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Mesh - Crown Promenade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing