We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“All ok except for the steak” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Era - CLOSED

Cafe Era
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Australian, Italian, Cafe, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level Contributor
258 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“All ok except for the steak”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Visiting the city, wife and I looking for a place to eat. Overall ok, my wife enjoyed her meal but my rare eye fillet rated as one of the worst I've ever been served and big mushrooms that tasted as if they'd been soaked in worsty sauce. A rare fillet is seared both sides and rested. This was grey and tough. To their credit I was asked why I had left so much, offered a replacement which I declined, and we were given a bowl of fresh cut fruit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MerlinBlaise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    3
    0
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
151 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Nice Cafe'”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Good, generous sized meals served with friendly service. We had Turkish bread with dips and when we finished the bread, the waitress asked us if we'd like more bread to go with the remaining dip. That's not something we've been offered before. Hubby had eye fillet for his main and I had the chicken burger. We were both we happy with these. The burger was massive! We had cheese cakes for desert which were both very nice. Oh and the coffe was fabulous! Will return next time we're near Melbourne Central.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bree_La_Marca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Average but ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Ordered a vegie wrap after telling waitress I am vegan. It came served with a salad smothered in mayo! Wrong! Coffee average too

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank 30ish61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for a quick lunch mid shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in while shopping in the mall.friendly staff.i ordered a banana smoothie and caesar salad while my husband ordered the eraburger.salad was really tasty as was the smoothie and the burger was huge and chips crunchy.nice to sir out in mall Alley and relax.

Helpful?
Thank Jacqui T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Goosnargh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, fantastic atmosphere.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

A great restaurant, good menu, excellent specials. Great coffee, nice house white. Definitely will be going back.

Helpful?
2 Thank J K L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Era also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing