We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcome, good value 7 great wine list!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lord Cardigan

Lord Cardigan
Reserve with
Lord Cardigan is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #392 of 4,060 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $93
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Albert Park
Melbourne
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A warm welcome, good value 7 great wine list!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2012

We regularly make the journey from Camberwell to Albert Park to this great eatery.
It seats only 40 which, like many of the great French bistros we have enjoyed, affords a much better opportunity for quality control, service and ambience, as it is invariably less noisy.
You are really made to feel welcome, and the suggestions for the evening are always informative.
Also, you can book, unlike some Melbourne establishments which seem to think it is chique to make you turn up to their door on spec!
The Lord Cardigan is a breath of fresh air in an industry that is becoming too imbued with excessive plate charges,large "feedlot" style venues & "celeb chef syndrome".
Sam'
Melbourne

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    15
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Excellent food, good ideas,interesting wine , great service and on balance just what you want from a good restaurant

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Psea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Top Food, Service and Price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

John and Dominique run a great restaurant in Albert Park. There is always plenty of parking outside the place and we have always been welcome each time we have gone to the dine there. Recently we married and John and Dominique were more than happy to organise a menu for us and happy for us to hire the restaurant out on a Saturday night. All the guests raved about the food and service. John uses the freshest ingredients and blends asian and european styles together with ease. Everyone also loved their coffee.

We have dined at Lord Cardigan for breakfast on the weekends, lunch and dinner for our wedding reception. We will definitely be returning again soon!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank paws71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Hidden gem - food, atmosphere and service impeccable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

My partner and I dined here the other night. Staff were efficient and friendly. Couldn't fault them at all - service was best we had experienced. Food was absolutely delicious and we cannot wait to return. Couldn't fault anything about the Lord Cardigan. Reasonably priced too. Even the side serve of green vegetable was awesome - and to say that about a plate of greens, is mind boggling. Couldn't recommend it enough!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Readybluedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Superb every time, breakfast lunch and dinner. Friendly service, fantastic food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2010

We've been going to Lord Cardigan in Albert Park since it opened about 2 1/2 years ago. The service has always been friendly, welcoming and professional. The food speaks for itself, a fantastic varied menu, every dish a winner so far, and we've tried many! The wines are chosen with great care, and are always of a high quality. We have been here for breakfast, lunch and dinner, and even held a special birthday celebration here as a private function. We just keep coming back because of the wonderful hospitality and consistently delicious food. You wont be disappointed.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GerriM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lord Cardigan also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Bundoora, Greater Melbourne
 

Been to Lord Cardigan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing