We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good little local Japanese...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of MOSHI MOSHI Japanese Seafood Restaurant

MOSHI MOSHI Japanese Seafood Restaurant
Reserve with
MOSHI MOSHI Japanese Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,007 of 4,055 Restaurants in Melbourne
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Port Melbourne
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
239 reviews
186 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Good little local Japanese...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We went in on a cold December evening midweek and the place was almost full, mostly with couples. They weren't quite sure whether they could fit us in at first!

The smiling little waitress didn't speak much English, so communication became a little difficult at times. There was a very long wait for menus and a still longer wait for our drinks. Once we'd managed to order, and our drinks had been served, service quickly picked up and became speedy and efficient. I think they had been dealing with a lot of takeaway orders.

The food was very good. Tempura, particularly, was excellent - as was my Wagyu beef dish. We didn't want much to eat, but sampled some sushi and sashimi - again, spot on.

The boys had the green tea ice cream with red bean and black sesame ice cream and pronounced them superb.

Lovely little neighbourhood place! We'll be in again if we rent in Port Melbourne.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline1651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    12
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Japanese Seafood”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Been around for a while, proven quality, service and reasonably priced. Love the sushi and winter dishes.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mickibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Love this hidden gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Only recently found this place last week and I am so glad that I did!
Amazing authentic Japanese food!
Highly recommend getting lots of entrees as they are delicious!
Gyoza was great, sushi was delicious! Could not fault the place!
Most of all the staff are friendly!

Will definitely go back again!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chiclife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
193 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Japanese food cooked by Chinese?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

We called in to Moshi for lunch today, we were actually looking for a different Japanese restaurant and we got lost.
Service was excellent, but the food was very average, our fish was on the dry side and even though it was 'service with a smile' this is not sophisticated Japanese food for well travelled gourmets, this was sort of Japanese food for westerners.

The paint on the chopsticks had chipped off, so we chose not to use them.

Service and staff attitude was A1 but the food was somewhat disappointing for seasoned Japanese eaters.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jenjenrossco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I either dine or have take away from Moshi Moshi on average once per week. I would recommend getting many of their entree's and maybe skip the main as the only average meals I have ever had have been from the "main's" selection.

Tip: The $15 Bento boxes which are available for lunch during week days are sensational and excellent value!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank email_iandsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MOSHI MOSHI Japanese Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to MOSHI MOSHI Japanese Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing