We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best food, great coffee, friendly staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Batch

Batch
Ranked #780 of 3,684 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best food, great coffee, friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Love this little hidden treasure in Balaclava! They have a yummy breakfast/lunch menu. Food is always yummy, fresh and always served hot!! They have the best bread, and the variety of food on the menu is top quality! Fantastic coffee! What more can one ask for. I am there three times ax

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HFabez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    9
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
125 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It's all about the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

A great neighbourhood cafe with friendly efficient service and a kitchen that really knows how to cook with flavour and how to apply some creativity to the latest breakfast and lunch favourites. I have been to Batch six times now, eating something different every time, and the meals are absolutely delicious. Don't expect fancy decor; it's all about the food (and the coffee's not bad either). Compliments to the chef!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teajaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Brilliant the previous reviews say it all and great coffee, food and service. Had to wait 15 min for table, worth it. Beaut presentation. Nz theme

Helpful?
Thank Anita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“An honour to recommend it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

For the first half of this year when I lived just around the corner, I breakfasted/brunched/lunched at Batch at least once a week, often two. I'm now living half way around the world and have realised how lucky I was to live so close to a place that offers such good food for such rare value.

The breakfast menu, especially on the weekends, is consistently top notch. I recommend the roasted muesli (such divine golden crunchiness), the avo mash or eggs with your choice of generous sides. For lunch, if they're still doing the quesadillas then don't hesitate - they're full of mushroomy goodness and well portioned. There are also some scones, slices and cakes on display, a superb pairing with some butter and jam. I think it should be a criminal offence for hazelnut/chocolate ganache cookie to taste as good as it does.

The coffee is equally strong and divine, perhaps my fav macchiato in all of Melbourne (and that's a big call). The time I went of coffee it was difficult for me to walk past Batch on one of Melbourne's blustery winter days and not stop by for a hot chocolate, which were for some reason also really good.

The staff were almost always lovely, even when it was packed. They also get extra points for having The Australian, Herald Sun and the Age - the sign of a truly respectable cafe. Although if they started stocking the Financial Review that would also be welcome. Not that I'll get to go back for a while, which is saddening.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JacobLewis123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“A little slice of Aotearoa right here in Melbourne.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Batch sums up everything I loved about NZ when I lived there. Super friendly staff, relaxed vibe and yum food. I love the whole menu but the Avocado and Feta mash is my weekend staple. Great coffee too.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Batch also viewed

St Kilda, Port Phillip
Balaclava, Port Phillip
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Batch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing