We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I came back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Camera Restaurant Southgate

La Camera Restaurant Southgate
Reserve with
La Camera Restaurant Southgate is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #79 of 4,055 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Southbank
Description: In the Italian language, La Camera means "The Room"; an unpretentious name for a stylish but modest restaurant, in a location where style is everything.La Camera's distinctive design and lighting creates an airy and modern mix by day, and an elegant ambience by night. Enjoy Melbourne’s amazing city skyline from indoors or on the balconies, whilst sampling La Camera's extensive menu for breakfast, lunch or dinner. As one of the busiest restaurants in the Southgate building La Camera prides itself on sumptuous meals, efficient service, superb views of the city and friendly staff.Breakfast, lunch or dinner, as you approach La Camera Southgate, the hum of conversation assures you that you are on to ‘ a good thing ‘ Whether you want a place to meet with close friends, a romantic dinner for two or simply somewhere to catch a great meal before a visit to the theatre or opera. Relax, unwind and make La Camera - Your Room…..where as with all Italians…” Food Is Life”.
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
146 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“I came back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I had the opportunity to revisit La Camera again, this time with my family for a celebration birthday lunch.

We were seated in a booth which was great for our group of 8 (with 6 energetic boys!), us adults sat on the ends to keep them in! We were promptly served, ordering 3 pizzas and chips. We didn't wait long for the food. Pizza's were delicious, husband said they were up there with being the best his tasted, especially liking the thin crust. If there has to be a complaint it was the chunky chips, not enough for the $ you pay.

From the moment we entered the staff were attentive and helpful, right to the end, which was lovely, seeing my lot were quite noisy!

Overall we all enjoyed our meal and will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sonlou73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCameraSouthgate, Manager at La Camera Restaurant Southgate, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
It's great you came back and it sounds you were not disappointed. The staff are use to kids and you can not get any more mischievous then my own two. I must agree that our pizza's are top class with a very unique base.
I will also look into the chips situation and resolve this quickly.

Kind regards

Paul. Scidone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    306
    94
    43
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
107 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delicious and well priced”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We went to La Camera for lunch In Oct 2013. The Service was great, the meals were well priced and delicious. They are located upstairs at southgate, so while you eat you can see the river and city. I ordered the mushroom ravioli which was amazing and my husband ordered the chicken parmigiana which he loved.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ammie90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCameraSouthgate, General Manager at La Camera Restaurant Southgate, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Hey guys its great to hear you loved our restaurant. Our aim is to please on all 3 main areas: food , service and location.

Sounds like we ticked the boxes.

All the best and hope to see you again.

Kind regards,

Paul Scidone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant for breakfast lunch or dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

We have chosen La Camera a few times now. The meals are first class, service is always very good with friendly efficient staff, the location is great especially outside if available. It pays to book but my wife and I have not had to wait long for a table. Always a nice dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank John_Rose_PerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCameraSouthgate, General Manager at La Camera Restaurant Southgate, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
It's great to hear you enjoed your dining experience.

I too would agree that the balcony seats are the best spots, especially if you are wanting a more quiet or romantic dinner.

Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

Paul Scidone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic meals and quick friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We were a table of 5 who went to La Camera for dinner. Quick friendly service and the meals were very nice. A good size meal. The only downfall was we couldn't even make it too dessert! Would recommend you give this place a try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kiwi721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCameraSouthgate, General Manager at La Camera Restaurant Southgate, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
So sad you did not make it to dessert this time, but if you come in again I would recomend our home made Tiramisu or one of the sweet calzone.

Thanks for your great feedback!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
310 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fast paced Italian restaurant at Southgate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Its at the North end at South gate ,upstairs.
The night we went it was busy and noisy. A man was singing inside and he was competing with 2 wine tasting tables.
We were offered a table on the terrace which was great.
we had pastas, a beer and some wine. the pastas were very good, and the service is fast and automated?.
We enjoyed the food,the prices were average for serves that were not over large, but the amex surcharge of 2.6% was an unnecessary irritation to a good meal.
Its a very busy restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BarryJ_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCameraSouthgate, Manager at La Camera Restaurant Southgate, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the meals. We do tend to be a busy restaurant and we hope to provide efficient service without hopefully seeming mechanical. The singing you heard was our community night held once a month on the last Monday of the month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Camera Restaurant Southgate also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to La Camera Restaurant Southgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing