We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fast paced Italian restaurant at Southgate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Camera Restaurant Southgate

La Camera Restaurant Southgate
Reserve with
La Camera Restaurant Southgate is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #77 of 3,851 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Romantic, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Southbank
Description: In the Italian language, La Camera means "The Room"; an unpretentious name for a stylish but modest restaurant, in a location where style is everything.La Camera's distinctive design and lighting creates an airy and modern mix by day, and an elegant ambience by night. Enjoy Melbourne’s amazing city skyline from indoors or on the balconies, whilst sampling La Camera's extensive menu for breakfast, lunch or dinner. As one of the busiest restaurants in the Southgate building La Camera prides itself on sumptuous meals, efficient service, superb views of the city and friendly staff.Breakfast, lunch or dinner, as you approach La Camera Southgate, the hum of conversation assures you that you are on to ‘ a good thing ‘ Whether you want a place to meet with close friends, a romantic dinner for two or simply somewhere to catch a great meal before a visit to the theatre or opera. Relax, unwind and make La Camera - Your Room…..where as with all Italians…” Food Is Life”.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
310 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Fast paced Italian restaurant at Southgate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

Its at the North end at South gate ,upstairs.
The night we went it was busy and noisy. A man was singing inside and he was competing with 2 wine tasting tables.
We were offered a table on the terrace which was great.
we had pastas, a beer and some wine. the pastas were very good, and the service is fast and automated?.
We enjoyed the food,the prices were average for serves that were not over large, but the amex surcharge of 2.6% was an unnecessary irritation to a good meal.
Its a very busy restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BarryJ_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCameraSouthgate, Manager at La Camera Restaurant Southgate, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the meals. We do tend to be a busy restaurant and we hope to provide efficient service without hopefully seeming mechanical. The singing you heard was our community night held once a month on the last Monday of the month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    306
    94
    43
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent meal and service for my birthday celebration.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Our group of 10 dined outside with view of the Yarra and we all enjoyed our meals and wine. The staff were very friendly and great service. Can't wait to return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 021055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCameraSouthgate, Manager at La Camera Restaurant Southgate, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Can't wait to have you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster East, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good for eating before a show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

staff did not have my online booking and we were placed in an out of the way corner - would have preferred a view but the wine was good and the meal was prompt and the service was friendly and efficient. Would have liked longer to stay and peruse the menu some more but we were off to a show and the staff certainly got us out in plenty of time

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent place for brekky!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Been here twice on our Melbourne trips from ballarat. Was recommended to us by my sister who ALWAYS comes here on her visits to Melbourne with her husband. Both times I've had the Big Breakfast, which is absolutely PERFECT!!! And both times the staff have been very attentive and friendly. Service is top notch!!! The restaurant is very cozy and in a great location. LOVE IT!!! Will be back on our next visit!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lynniegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCameraSouthgate, Manager at La Camera Restaurant Southgate, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thanks for the comments, we appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again for brekkie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

Ate there last night and very impressed. Staff were aware of our time limitations (going to a show) and made sure we were served promptly (also pointed out that one dish chosen would take a while to prepare, allowing us to order something more suitable). Really impressive service. Have been there several times and the place is always buzzing and the food is great value for this setting. Lovely city views from the terrace.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCameraSouthgate, Manager at La Camera Restaurant Southgate, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Glad we could accommodate you. Being located so centrally to arts, sports and entertainment areas, we're used to time limitations and hopefully do our best to make sure no-one runs late to anything. Even if it means we have to carry you there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Camera Restaurant Southgate also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to La Camera Restaurant Southgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing