We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh, My Kingdom For a Cubicle.”

La Camera Restaurant Southgate
Ranked #78 of 4,114 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $37
Cuisines: Italian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Southbank
Description: La Camera Italian Restaurant Southbank Melbourne offers a welcoming environment where you can enjoy authentic, Italian food, served by friendly efficient staff right in the heart of the Southgate Shopping Precinct. Whether you’re after a quick bite before work, a venue to host a business lunch, great food in a central location for a family meal, or a pre theatre meal, La Camera has you covered. Nestled amongst riverside treetops on Southgate’s mid level, La Camera boasts two balconies with stunning views over The Yarra River and iconic Flinders Street Station. The interior is adorned with vintage black-and-white photographs depicting the history of the family that has owned and operated the restaurant since it opened in 2000. La Camera Southgate offers an array of authentic Italian dishes including unique Roman-style pizzas, authentic Pappardelle Ox Cheek from Trastevere-Rome and by far the most delectable Tiramisu in town. The emphasis is on quality ingredients, and fresh seasonal produce. La Camera is a touch of Italy right on Melbourne’s door step located in the sport and entertainment precinct and within walking distance to Melbourne’s most popular attractions such as The Arts Centre, Hamer Hall, Melbourne Recital Centre, Federation Square, MCG, Rod Laver & Hisense Arenas, Aami Park and Eureka Skydeck. La Camera is the perfect place for your next celebration, romantic evening out, and the best place to watch Melbourne’s New Year’s Eve fireworks display. Relax, unwind and escape, make La Camera your room…where, as is the case with all Italians … “FOOD IS LIFE”.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Oh, My Kingdom For a Cubicle.”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

We thought we would do lunch prior to going to the Theatre. We picked a busy day as the Moomba celebrations were in full swing in the CBD. We ordered the Gnocci and the Rissotto. Service was friendly but slow as the restaurant was jam-packed. After about a thirty minute wait, our meals arrived but as we were in a good humour, we didn't mind as the gnocci and rissotto were A1 delicious.
The day was very hot so we decided on drinks which were cold and simple. The good news was that the two drinks were less than $10 in total. I had a Milk Shake and my wife had iced tea. The meal cost us approximately $50, great value! Summing up, it was an almost excellent dining experience except for one thing. SSh, I'll have to whisper this. In the men's Loo there is only one single cubicle. I had to join a long queue of men, all looking distressed and out of sorts. Can you believe it, one cubicle, I found this situation mind boggling as there would have been maybe hundred people in the restaurant at a quick glance. Still, despite this amazing anomoly, we were very pleased with our dining experience at La Camera. Yes, we will return!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 255100Max
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCameraSouthgate, General Manager at La Camera Restaurant Southgate, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Sounds like overall you had a great experience so thanks for your kind words.

Sorry about the toilets but I will have to pass the buck and speak to the architects with this one...lol.

However the complex toilets and family rooms are right across the foyer and are maintained very well. If it gets a bit busy we let patrons know about them.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    284
    341
    99
    49
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
698 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“A place with community spirit”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

La Camera is a restaurant that encourages a spirit of community for Southbank residents. Each month there is a special community evening, with entertainment. 'Membership' of the La Camera club is free and entitles people to offers and discounts. The atmosphere is friendly and efficient, and food is really good, so there is a lot to like about La Camera.

In addition, the location is great. In the Southgate precinct, it's close to all the venues at the Arts Centre, so ideal for pre or post theatre meals. There is outdoor seating overlooking the Yarra. Most pleasant.

If you have room after your main, be sure to try the tiramasu. It's delicious!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nocatnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCameraSouthgate, Manager at La Camera Restaurant Southgate, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed the community feel. We have run these Community Nights for the last 6 years and they are great fun.

Don't miss out on this month's Opera Challenge as we have two opera singers from The Phantom of the Opera. (Richard Thomas and Samantha Uren) See you on March the 25th at 6.30 pm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“It get what you paid for”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

What can I say - the waiters always get the orders wrong and I am always disappointed by the arrogant service. I never ever go there again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paulus1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCameraSouthgate, General Manager at La Camera Restaurant Southgate, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
So sorry to hear about your unpleasant dining experience. It sound like the waiter was rude and that is not good enough....no excuses for that. We are reknowned for our friendly service and will not stand for arrogance at La Camera.

I hope you take up the offer I have sent you personally and give us one more chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food and service”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

My husband and I ate here before seeing a performance at the Hamer hall. We advised them of this when we booked and they advised as to how many courses we had time for when we arrived, which was helpful. We ate indoors and ordered the salmon and the veal dishes for main which we enjoyed. We had the chocolate pizza -like dish and the sticky date pudding and they were very good. Not stingy on sauces or ice cream. Will be returning.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 021055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very good service food was excellent. Great location. Will go back later in the year................................

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 406Gazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCameraSouthgate, General Manager at La Camera Restaurant Southgate, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks very much for your feedback. Our main aims at La Camera are very simple, great food, quick and efficient service, friendly staff and an overall pleasant dining experience.

See you later in the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Camera Restaurant Southgate also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to La Camera Restaurant Southgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing