We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”

La Camera Restaurant Southgate
Ranked #242 of 4,400 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $18 - $37
Cuisines: Italian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Southbank
Description: La Camera Italian Restaurant Southbank Melbourne offers a welcoming environment where you can enjoy authentic, Italian food, served by friendly efficient staff right in the heart of the Southgate Shopping Precinct. Whether you’re after a quick bite before work, a venue to host a business lunch, great food in a central location for a family meal, or a pre theatre meal, La Camera has you covered. Nestled amongst riverside treetops on Southgate’s mid level, La Camera boasts two balconies with stunning views over The Yarra River and iconic Flinders Street Station. The interior is adorned with vintage black-and-white photographs depicting the history of the family that has owned and operated the restaurant since it opened in 2000. La Camera Southgate offers an array of authentic Italian dishes including unique Roman-style pizzas, authentic Pappardelle Ox Cheek from Trastevere-Rome and by far the most delectable Tiramisu in town. The emphasis is on quality ingredients, and fresh seasonal produce. La Camera is a touch of Italy right on Melbourne’s door step located in the sport and entertainment precinct and within walking distance to Melbourne’s most popular attractions such as The Arts Centre, Hamer Hall, Melbourne Recital Centre, Federation Square, MCG, Rod Laver & Hisense Arenas, Aami Park and Eureka Skydeck. La Camera is the perfect place for your next celebration, romantic evening out, and the best place to watch Melbourne’s New Year’s Eve fireworks display. Relax, unwind and escape, make La Camera your room…where, as is the case with all Italians … “FOOD IS LIFE”.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very good service food was excellent. Great location. Will go back later in the year................................

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Gareth J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCameraSouthgate, General Manager at La Camera Restaurant Southgate, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2013

Thanks very much for your feedback. Our main aims at La Camera are very simple, great food, quick and efficient service, friendly staff and an overall pleasant dining experience.

See you later in the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (879)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

732 - 736 of 879 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went here for lunch and couldn't get a pizza, at an Italian restaurant! The pizza chef was apparently on a break so we were asked "what else do you want?" It was hot so we wanted to sit inside in the aircon but were shepherded outside on the verandah. Nice outlook but it was till hot. Unfortunately we had a very loud diner at the next table which only made it more less enjoyable. We were not the only diners discreetly asking that someone ask her to speak softer, they didn't want to so the wait staff disappeared inside to get away from her. Food was ordinary and not the standard we have had there previously.

Thank Aussietravellers1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I had dinner here and it was most enjoyable. I started with a Cosmopolitan cocktail,then Bruchetta for entree which was lovely, very nice flavours, fresh and just the right portion size (two slices of ciabatta piled with tomatoe salsa)then a Warm Chicken Salad, which was very nice. Plenty of chicken, variation of leaves, cherry tomatoes and a balsamic dressing that was very flavoursome. I enjoyed everything, very good coffee also. I sat in the outside seating on their covered balcony and it was a lovely evening, so riverside was very pleasant indeed. Service is very attentive and responsive. I will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Ali_Hawkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2118
Reviewed February 13, 2013

This was close to our hotel and we ate there for dinner and twice for breakfast.
The cooked breakfasts are extremely good value ( about $9- $14), being freshly prepared and accompanied by $2.50 cups of great coffee.
Staff were very attentive and polite and nothing was too much trouble. Beautiful for al fresco dining overlooking the river on summer mornings and balmy nights.

1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCameraSouthgate, Manager at La Camera Restaurant Southgate, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thanks for your great feedback.

Our Monday to Friday breakfast specials have been very popular over the last 11 years. You would be surprised to know that they were even cheaper, but we have now added free range eggs and better quality ingredients.

Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

Good location overlooking the water, attentive staff and extensive drink options. However the food really lets down the whole experience. Antipasto ingredients suggested they were straight out of a bottle, the calamari had been frozen and the whole meal was particularly bland. For the price, I expected better.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Micka0482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCameraSouthgate, Manager at La Camera Restaurant Southgate, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Thanks for your feedback and we are sorry that you did not enjoy the food. Obviously the three main aspects La Camera is renowned for are excellent value for money , great service and a fantastic location.

We are the busiest restaurant in Southbank and our ordering process is done daily. The majority of foods are all prepared in the kitchen, but we do out source some food items eg, many of our desserts.

Would love if you gave us another try and happy to offer you a bottle of wine if you choose to do so.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Camera Restaurant Southgate also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to La Camera Restaurant Southgate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing