We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always the very best seafood”
Review of Bacash Restaurant

Bacash Restaurant
Ranked #259 of 4,108 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $47 - $118
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nice, France
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Always the very best seafood”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We always try and eat here when we are in Melbourne. This trip we went on three occasions, once as a party of four, then a party of three and finally a party of four again. My wife and I were planning to visit by ourselves but it is just too good not to share it with others. On each occasion the service was just perfect and the food just speaks for itself, just beautiful, I do not believe there is a better seafood restaurant anywhere, people in Europe would just dream of having seafood like this, especially seeing it's available all year.
Although all the entrees are good, the tuna sashimi entree is just really amazing and whatever the fish of the day is, order it as you will never be disappointed.
The desserts (if you have room left) are just as memorable.
All in all, this restaurant is right up there with the best, forget about "critics" who only rate their favourite places as the ones where they can sponge a free meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    47
    17
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Birthday bash at Bacash”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We were a party of four and had a wonderful birthday dinner for our daughter at Bacash. The service was beyond reproach. Unfortunately, we did have gripes in that one party's steak was overcooked. However, on the positive side the flounder main course another party ordered was perfect, and the wines wines were very good. Overall, while we enjoyed ourselves, we felt that it was overpriced.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stewart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Happy 70th Birthday Barbara”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

A group of 18 spent a very enjoyable evening celebrating a special occasion at Bacash.

Fiona was helpful and courteous in preparations and it was a shame to have not met her on the night to pass on the group's thanks. Every entree, main and dessert (except for one) was well received. That's 49 dishes out of 50 ... so no gripe from us. The wines were excellent and not cheap. Again, no gripe from us. The service was the high-point, and that's saying something given the standard of the food.

We wished the semi-private dining area was a touch more private, and this would be our only critisism of what was a lovely dining experience.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buddy_Franklin_Mania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
373 reviews
233 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent food and service”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Having dined here on many occasions I have always found it a great place to eat super fish and delicious fresh food combinations. The garfish is excellent, the scallops, tune entree, really some stand-out dishes. We had homemade icecreams for dessert which were very good and their pastry chef is also excellent. Try to sit up the front or on an outside table as much quieter.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tania d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great meal”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

love the meal how ever have to say when i booked online i was asked about food intolerances and i stated yes as my wife does.
i was pretty disappointed that this seemed to be totally ignored and after going to other restaurants like Maha where they totally went out of their way to make her comfortable in the knowledge what she was eating was suitable at Bacash when we told the waiter no extra care was taken at all.
the fish was nice as it should be the restaurant was a little boring to be honest with no real vibe in fact felt more like restaurant catering towards a business client than couples.

the meal it self was very nice and the waiter was good apart from the intolerance issue.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank roscoe69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bacash Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bacash Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing