We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“"Everything you can think of was good here"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melba Restaurant

Melba Restaurant
Ranked #69 of 3,776 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $100
Cuisines: Italian, Chinese, Japanese, Indian, Seafood, Sushi, Asian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Buffet, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Southbank
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
194 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“"Everything you can think of was good here"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

Be it ambience, scenic view from the restaurant, culinary selection- everything was spectacular. This signature restaurant is named after Melbourne's world famous opera performer, Dame Nellie Melba, who in her time enjoyed a long and well-deserved reputation for tasteful performances.
The service was excellent. Inspite of we having sizable group, people got settled down as there was enough space, The place was not crunchy & eateries were well spread hence there was no rish at a specific counter.
The food was good & there was ample choice available. The view from the restaurant was also beautiful havin Melbourne skyline.
The walk area from entrance till you reach the restaurant was very well done with nice decorations to click.
What I liked the most was the ambience, outside view from restaurant & variety of eateries to choose.
I donot think there was anything which I didn't like.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bhushan-Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    518
    248
    112
    45
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Seafood bounty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

For seafood lovers there is a surfeit of shellfish. Crab, shrimp, salmon, squid etc. on ice, in salads and mains. The peking duck pancakes were great and the Indian food quite authentic

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank keasdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
162 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Yum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

Having read mixed reviews about Melba's buffet I was not sure what to expect but we loved it. We went on a midweek day for lunch so it was not overly busy and the reduced price made it good value.... and we gorged! Roasted pork belly with a crispy top was succulent, the antipasto selection varied and good quality, the Indian meals tasty - especially the naan made for you on the spot (try the dessert naan with m & ms and icecream) and there was plenty of seafood for those who like it. We will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nairina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the best buffet breakfasts”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

I haven't had the pleasure of dining at Melba for dinner. But as a guest of the hotel, enjoyed buffet breakfast several times.
The selection is extensive, everything fresh and constantly being topped up.
My fav is the chocolate fountain!
Service at the restaurant is incredible just like in the hotel.
Definitely worth a visit for an anacong breakfast to treat yourself

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Diamondsinchampagne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Very ordinary!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

No better than all you can eat el cheapos. Looks flash but really very ordinary. Pastas overcooked and cook actually asks you how to prepare and cook it. Sashimi very dry and tasteless. Meats just like pub buffets, dry beef, lamb ok but only give you two chops. Chicken tiikki chicken was burnt. Staff remove and don't replace cutlery or ask you to use same cutlery for different dishes. All for $80pp on a Monday night. Never again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank applesmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melba Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Melba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing