We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shockingly Dirty!”
Review of Mantra on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on the Park
Ranked #71 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed October 7, 2010

4 Star Hotel? I don't think so! In desperate need of a thorough clean and refurbishment.
Good sized apartments with two bathrooms, clean bedding and good views over city (only visible with open door) Everything else was appauling. Windows and doors were splattered with sticky stuff, glass coffee table never cleaned. The bathroom floors, ceiling, toilet all dirty. Kitchen only stocked with bare necessities, so certainly not suitable to prepare a meal. Dishes were put through short 'rinse' in dishwasher and no dishwashing powder available. Stove top had never been cleaned, neither had cupboard doors, benches or light switches. Housekeeping staff were Asian, very friendly and with big smiles but obviously untrained. There understanding of a daily service seemed to be replacement of towels and didn't seem to include cleaning of bathrooms, stocking up toiletry items, wiping over dining table and coffee table or vacuuming. I complained several times and each time housekeeping staff were sent up. But the last thing you want at the end of the day , after a busy day in the city, is staff cleaning while you try to relax. This was not a cheap deal and we all were more than disappointed. Reception staff had no interest in our view at all and concierge was unavailable. Wish I would have taken photos but I really just want to forget about it now.

However, Melbourne is a great city and definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bualru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,110 - 2,116 of 2,198 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2010

Stayed here for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom on 6th floor. Very good. Up to date bathrooms. Very clean. Beds & pillows were soo comfortable. friendly staff. Ate in cafe downstairs no complaints. Would definitely stay here again. So convenient to Her Majesty's theatre, free tram, Lygon Street and Exhibition Hall.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank evking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

rooms are very large and pretty cheap (very good deal if you want to have a cheap trip with 4-5 people sharing a room, I had a 2 bed room 2 bath for about 170aus). quality is very cheap though as well. 20+ year old tvs with remotes that hardly every work. walls are beat up, furniture is barely in one piece. terrible terrible internet policies. staff was extremely responsive and friendly and the only good aspect in an otherwise disappointing stay.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KrisBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

Let's start with the problem that most recent reviews have moaned about - yes, this hotel is a little old and the rooms are showing their age. Between 3 & 4 star, appliances are ancient and the place isn't pristine like the shiny new apartments in other parts of Melbourne.
Travelled to Melb for a family holiday with kids, stayed here for 5 nights.

The pros:
- great location, nice view over park if you pay for it.
- 2BR apartment quite roomy, comfy beds and fully equipped kitchen
- indoor pool & sauna, with fresh towels supplied
- free tram stop only metres away
- convenience store downstairs, very....convenient!
- close to museum, QV markets, Melb Central, Chinatown, Lygon St, etc.

The cons:
- service was fairly average on occasion
- dishwasher, microwave, dryer, etc. are all quite old and showing their age. They worked OK though :)

If you travel a lot, you've stayed in places like this before. A little dated and lacking the finesse of a shiny new building...but still perfectly acceptable, comfortable and (some may say) a good deal for the price paid in a fairly expensive city.

I'd stay there again. Simple as that.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keggut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed over the long weekend in June 2009. First mistake we made was not having a credit card. Despite having already pre-paid in full 14 days earlier than our stay, a credit card hold of $100 was still required. We were not aware of this because previous hotel or apartment stays elsewhere hadn't required this.This was anew practice as far as we were concerned. So they demanded a cash bond from us and they wanted $500!! This resulted in a very long arguement with the reception staff which we escalated to the Manager/Supervisor. We managed to whittle the cash demand down to $100 after quite lengthy debate. We were told ok pay the $100 and they would remove the mini bar from the room. Fine with us as we never intended to use the mini bar anyway.

So we get our room eventually which we were convinced was the worst room they had on account of us refusing to pay the $500 bond. The room was not clean. Dirty curtains, fluff and grime caked in around the washing machine/clothes dryer, mould in to bathroom, food scraps in the dish washer and a burn mark on the kitchen bench which we made sure we photographed straight away as proof we didn't do it as we just didn't trust them after that.

On the plus side, we had paid for buffet breakfast to be included as a part of the Billy Elliott package deal we had booked. This was excellent, no complaints there.

Location was ok and the city loop tram stop was pretty much right at our doorstep.

Would we stay again, no probably not on account of the bad and embarassing experience we had over the bond/credit card issue.

Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Julee64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

Very disappointed with our room (7th floor). Was not up to Mantra's usual high standards. As mentioned earlier in other reviews, definitely not worthy of a four star rating. Our experience was more like a 3 star motor inn. We acknowledge that we got a mystery rate, but for staying somewhere for 4 nights, we expected more than the abomination we were about to behold.
After checking in we found one of three elevators was out of order. This turned out to be symbolic of our whole experience: just not up to standard/second rate.

Problems:
- Filthy shower and shower curtain.
- Grimy bathroom/laundry floor
- Filth between washing machine/wall
- Lipstick on glasses
- Scum in coffee mug
- None of the carpets in whole hotel were vacuumed
- Restaurant/room service rarely operating
- Staff were mainly unaccommodating and unfriendly
- Decor appeared to be obtained from a garage sale
- Poor TV reception

Positives:
- Good sized room
- Room service food quite tasty (when operating)

We wanted to pay more for an upgrade. We were told by receptionist that the manager would contact us... yeah right. We ended up just having to put up with an embarrassment to the Mantra chain. If you can, stay on the upper floors which we were told by numerous guests were better than our floor. Or just spend another $20 a night and go somewhere that is not mediocre.
We were VERY disappointed with a hotel with so much potential. This is our first negative review on this site, so we are not serial whingers with unrealistic expectations.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madniggaish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2010

I stayed here during 2010 Comedy festival and didn't expect a great rate being in CBD during this event. I was lucky and got a cheap rate last minute and was happy with what I got for the $140/night price.

Apartment needs a bit of maintenance money spent on it for general touch ups but everything that was clearly broken had been replaced with modern fixtures so a little inconsistent, but again, everything worked.

Location seemed great on a map and during the day the City Circle gives you free rides around the CBD and to the door of this hotel. Once they stop running early evening, it's a bit of a walk uphill from Swanston Street if you are in heels!

It's not pretending to be anything it's not and the price is right.

Being an apartment property, you automatically get more room than a normal hotel so based on that alone, I generally book this style.

Being on my own meant safety was considered and having 24 hour reception ideal. The little minimart on the corner was great for little snacks too.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taylor_deborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 161 in Melbourne
2,459 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#24 of 161 in Melbourne
2,084 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#58 of 161 in Melbourne
1,868 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#87 of 161 in Melbourne
1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Park

Address: 333 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $121 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Park is centrally located in Melbourne's CBDminutes from theatres, fashionable restaurants and the famous shopping precinct offering spectacular views from private balconies of the beautiful Carlton Gardens or city skyline. Mantra on the Park is an apartment style property consisting of self-contained one and two bedroom apartments. Foxtel is also available in all apartments. Hotel facilities include a 24 hour reception desk, concierge and porter service, evening room service, valet laundry service and tour desk, indoor heated pool, sauna and gymnasium. Mantra on the Park also offers an onsite dining venue, The Terrace Restaurant Bar and Grill which offers full buffet breakfast daily, a la carte dinner, all day room service, coffee, light meals and snacks. We also offer the convenience of a full minibar in all apartments. *Please be advised parking fees will increase to $33 from 1st January, 2018 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Park Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On The Park Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing