We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”
Review of Mantra on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on the Park
Ranked #69 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed May 9, 2010

I had booked to stay in this hotel for 3 nights. All I can say that this hotel is a disappointment. I have visited Melbourne a lot and have stayed in many hotels, and I have to say I was not too impressed. Upon arrival after a long journey on the Sky Way's Hotel Shuttle I arrived at the hotel. The man checked me in, I told him that my Boyfriend may join me tomorrow. I was given a room on the 7th floor. I was surprised to see that was given a 2 bedroom (4 single bedded) apartment. (not sure what they thought I would do with 4 single beds). The hotel told me that they were fully booked and could not put me in another room. (admittedly I did book this as part of a secret hotel deal, but my booking was not for single beds- and I have booked secret hotel deals before and never had issues like this).
The apartment looked run down. The carpet and furniture looked dated and run down. The beds were on wheels so they would move. The whole floor stunk of some weird cleaning product, my room smelt musty. The air con was so noisy that it occasionally kept me awake. There was one TV in the lounge area and it was old and tiny!
The hotel is technically near the corner of Exhibition and La Trobe Street. It is a bit of a walk to the city centre, however there is a tram stop on that corner. I would not even bother buying groceries from the IGA next door, because they are so over priced!
By day 2 I got fed up and relocated to another hotel.
Upon checking out early, I got asked why I was leaving early. All I got was a non sympathetic lucky you and that was it.
I would suggest that people try to stay at another hotel! It is definitely only worth 3 stars!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advocate_of_truth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    615
    794
    328
    104
    62
See reviews for
908
301
48
287
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2010

We stayed four nights in mid March 2010. We had a one bedroom appartment on the 17th floor with wonderful views over the park and the Exhibition centre. The bedroom was comfortable with reasonable wardrobe facilities. Very good bathroom, with washing machine and tumble dryer - very useful during the course of a long trip round NSW and Victoria. The open plan living room / kitchen area was excellent - very spacious and comfortable. The balcony was good - quite small but perfectly adequate for our needs - small table and two chairs. It had the advantage for us of being in the shade in the hottest part of the day.

We didn't use the pool - but it looked reasonable if very small.

The staff were always courteous and very helpful.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We had a "four nights for the price of three" deal which made the accommodations reasonable value. We also found the location ideal for us, within walking distance of restaurants and with lots of transport nearby (including the free circular tram and bus).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank ellenwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2010

We stayed over the xmas period 09. We had a 2 brm apartment on the pool floor. The apartment was clean but quite small. The balcony was very small & overlooked the roof of another building which was littered with rubbish from New Years festivities. We asked to be moved & they were very obliging & found us another apartment 1 floor up.
The pool is small & our 10yr old children were dissapointed but it did redeem itself to a degree by being nice & deep at one end.
The apartment could do with renovating all the furnishings were really old fashioned & tired & that applied to both apartments.The only TV was small & old but they had all the Foxtell channels.
The staff were very good & as a hotel & not a resort it was very good place to stay close to the trams to get around the city.
We payed for parking underground @ $25. a day which was very convient in a city like melbourne & there was always parking available altough not a spce allocated.
We stayed for 10 days & did not spend a lot of time in the hotel as we had family in the city but as a place to stay The beds were good & clean The kitchen was adequate & the bathrooms wre clean. The ensuite for the master bedroom was very small more like a wardrobe in the 1st apartment & in the 2nd it was across the hall

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bakerauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

great facilities forthe traveller - large living room/fully equipped kitchen with balcony, adequate double bedroom with en-suite and full sized laundry facilities. The room was clean and well equipped. There isa cafe, restaurant, bar on the ground floor and a small indoor pool. The htelis located at the top end of the CBD but the free tram and tourist shuttle stop very close by the hotel. This would suit travellers on the move or those who wanted a longer stay with all facilities. I got a last minute internet deal of $105 per night which made it great value for money - not much more than a single room in a backpackers.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2010

Second time I have stayed at this hotel. The rooms and hotel are spotlessly clean, good sized kitchen and living areas. Beds are comfy. This is a convenient place that is easy to get to the tram to the dockland and walking distance to Lygon street and QV Markets. Highly recommended. First visit was funded by work but this visit I paid through lastminute.com which made it an affordable weekend.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Stayed two nights in a 1BR apartment at a good rate of A$139/night. Good location, very good indoor pool and sauna. Parking expensive (A$30/day) and internet extortionate (A$27/day). Free wireless internet not working in cafe downstairs. Park somewhere else and find an internet friendly cafe nearby and it's great.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

Yes the room furnishings are a bit dated but all works well. Good beds, microwave, dishwasher, laundry...Stayed in room 805, a 2 bedroom apartment with views over Calrton Gardens and the Exhibition Hall.
The free Tram stops virtually at the door, however you can really walk anywhere..A big PLUS is the staff..Very friendly, courteous and professional..And almost forgot, there is a IGA store with good selection of goodsand it alsohas a bottle shop!!! Will definetley stay here again when in Melbourne next time..

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uaflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 160 in Melbourne
2,156 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#72 of 160 in Melbourne
997 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#10 of 160 in Melbourne
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#30 of 160 in Melbourne
1,731 reviews
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#61 of 160 in Melbourne
1,495 reviews
Lygon Street
Quest Carlton on Finlay
Quest Carlton on Finlay
#38 of 160 in Melbourne
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Park

Property: Mantra on the Park
Address: 333 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Park is centrally located in Melbourne's CBD. This fantastic Apartment hotel is minutes from theatres, fashionable restaurants and the famous shopping precinct offering spectacular views of the beautiful Carlton Gardens or city skyline. Mantra on the Park is an apartment style property consisting of self-contained one and two bedroom apartments. All rooms are spacious and offer private balconies, spectacular city skyline or scenic garden views, air-conditioning, full kitchen and laundry facilities, and lounge and dining areas. Foxtel is also available in all apartments. Guests of Mantra on the Park can enjoy hotel facilities including a 24 hour reception desk, concierge and porter service, evening room service, valet laundry service and tour desk. Leisure facilities include an indoor heated pool, sauna and gymnasium. Mantra on the Park also offers an onsite dining venue, The Terrace Restaurant Bar and Grill which offers full buffet breakfast daily, a la carte dinner, all day room service, coffee, light meals and snacks. We also offer the convenience of a full minibar in all apartments. Mantra on the Park is an idyllic accommodation choice for travellers who wish to enjoy all Melbourne has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Park Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On The Park Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing