We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long stay, place great”
Review of Mantra on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra on the Park
Ranked #70 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

I was based at this hotel for five weeks throughout August and September. The terrific booking guy - named AJ - gave me an exceptional nightly rate on the top floor on that basis. Don't expect high end utter luxury, but do expect friendly helpful staff and a recently renovated smart apartment that is very clean and cleaned a couple of times a week for long stayers. The TV is a good size, kitchen has the basic pots, pans and implements though there are such good eating places nearby that I barely ate in. Only tiny quibble was that while you can open lounge room doors onto a little balcony, the bedroom window is fixed shut - this could get a little warm in summer unless you are prepared to have air -con on the whole time. Also no telly in the bedroom which is always bit of a treat in a hotel. But then price is so good that you can't expect to have it all. The hotel is particularly well located for theatres and just across the park are all the fun shops, restaurants of Fitzroy. Oh, and the view is simply spectacular with the grand old Exhibition Building in full view in the park across road. Tram stop just outside.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank VivienneSki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,871 - 1,877 of 2,271 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2013

Very central hotel in Melbourne on the edge of the main CBD - take the tram out the front to anywhere in the CBD and then catch the buses and trains. We had a two bedroom apartment - it was so big and spacious! Included a laundry and kitchen - must have with babies. Very pleased with their re-refurbishment. We will be back hopefully next April for another week away, and definitely staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013

We arrived around 8am, checked in but were told our room was not ready. We told them that we had flown for quite a long time and overnight and would really appreciate it if they could ring us if something became available earlier.

We called again around 1140 to check if the room was ready upon collecting my parents from the airport, they told us no.

We left our bags with them and went to the city to get some food and did some shopping. We came back at 245 pm and we're told our room had just become available, 45 minutes later than standard checking time. The staff members were not apologetic about it, and did not really care. We did not receive any friendly vibes, accept from one different front desk lady on the third day of our stay.

Thankfully we got our keys and upon checking in, it made the not so nice check In experience worthwhile. The two bed two bath apartment we hired was newly refurbished, tastefully decorated, and a full kitchen and
Laundry facilities. Bedrooms were large with cupboards and plenty of room to move around. There was a small balcony with table and chairs.

The bathrooms were a bit of a let down, very dated, washer and dryer looked about 20 years old, but they do work. There was masking tap on the shower floor, presumably to patch up some sort of damage in the shower. Stall was small, shower head really. Weds to be changed, mould around stall area clearly visible. Very dusty around appliances. Bathroom does not look clean upon check in. Had all amenities though. Towels were very old and did not look clean.

Room service was done all 4 days we were there, beds were made up, sheets not changed the durations we were there. Towels were changed every day, however amenities not refilled, floors not vacuumed, basin not wiped down, hairs visible everywhere.

It is close to the city, about 3 blocks from swanston st, an IGA express is downstairs.

I would really like to see reception customer service improved for a better experience, and hopefully the outdated bathrooms will be upgraded like the rooms. The housekeeping also needs to be stepped up as Mantra is supposed to be a 4 star hotel with a 4 star price tag.

I would stay again.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Belinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in a 2 bedroom unit with a wonderful view of the park. Room was comfortable and spacious. Buffet breakfast satisfied everyone's appetite. Great gym and handy parking underneath.

Room Tip: Ask for a 'park' view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jbpapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

First time we have stayed at this hotel although we've stayed at other Mantra locations. First impressions are very important and I have to say that the reception staff were fantastic to deal with and very helpful. Without asking we were upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment with a fantastic view of the Exhibition Gardens. We had originally booked a one bedroom apartment. Very neat rooms with modern facilities. Parking was very easy and accesible. The location is easily within walking distance of numerous restaurants and local city sights. Will definately stay there again. Having stayed at a few higher end accomodation property's the service we received on this occasion would easily out shine many.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodney R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights,home away from home. Immaculately presented,great view,comfy beds and amazing staff. Close to city circle tram plus short walk to city centre. Highly recommend Mantra on the park very reasonable prices.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Hollyk109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I asked for a room in a higher floor and they offered us an apartment in the top floor. It was the AFL finals weekend and the place was fully booked. Staff were pleasant and helpful. There is under ground parking with multiple entries. Apartment was fully equipped and the view was great. We loved the indoor swimming pool. Free city tram is almost at the door step. Can explore the city without the need of a car. China Town, Lygon Street (Italian), Old Melbourne Goal, QV Markets are within walking distance.
Worth the price and will stay there again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DG050403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 161 in Melbourne
2,544 reviews
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#56 of 161 in Melbourne
1,949 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
2,149 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#81 of 161 in Melbourne
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Park

Address: 333 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $126 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Park is centrally located in Melbourne's CBDminutes from theatres, fashionable restaurants and the famous shopping precinct offering spectacular views from private balconies of the beautiful Carlton Gardens or city skyline. Mantra on the Park is an apartment style property consisting of self-contained one and two bedroom apartments. Foxtel is also available in all apartments. Hotel facilities include a 24 hour reception desk, concierge and porter service, evening room service, valet laundry service and tour desk, indoor heated pool, sauna and gymnasium. Mantra on the Park also offers an onsite dining venue, The Terrace Restaurant Bar and Grill which offers full buffet breakfast daily, a la carte dinner, all day room service, coffee, light meals and snacks. We also offer the convenience of a full minibar in all apartments. *Please be advised parking fees will increase to $33 from 1st January, 2018 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mantra on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Park Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On The Park Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing