We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central accommodation”
Review of Mantra on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra on the Park
Ranked #73 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights in October. This is the second time we have stayed here. The first was in a two bedroom suite which was big and comfortable with its own kitchen - great for a family stay. This trip was a suite with one bed. It is a very comfortable hotel, quiet and with excellent views over the park. Front of house staff are mixed - some are very friendly and helpful but a couple were far more interested in chatting with each other than providing assistance.

Town, Lygon street, the museum, Melbourne Uni are all within easy walking distance. The hotel has a pull in area for taxis which makes for more comfortable transfer of luggage.

Room Tip: Specify if you need an access room - I don't but got one with no negotiation offered. Ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalind L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Hi Rosalind L,

Many thanks for posting a review of your recent stay, I am pleased to hear you had another enjoyable time. Thanks for your feedback about the front desk team, I will address this with these individuals.

We look forward to seeing you again when next coming across to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,100)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,719 - 1,725 of 2,100 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

I read positives and negatives on this hotel prior to booking. I really have no cause for negatives! We originally booked a 1 bedroom apartment with Park view and were offered a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom on the top floor for a reduced rate on check in. We took up the offer. I have nothing but nice things to say. The reception staff have been more than helpful. The restaurant downstairs serves beautiful, well-priced meals and provides a lovely atmosphere. Mum and I enjoyed a 3 course meal each along with a couple glasses of wine each for under $100 combined! The apartment decor has been updated and looks lovely and the facilities in the apartment are great. The only downfall would be the bathrooms. They have been slightly updated, but could use a fair bit more. But most importantly, they are clean.
We r still here until Sunday and overall, really happy with the Hotel. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FallonMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Hi FallonMe

Many thanks for your review while inhouse at Mantra on the Park! So pleasing to hear you had an enjoyable time!

We hope to see you again with us soon!

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

very impressed,KC an team thanks very much for a great stay, This hotel is by far the best we have stayed at, the apartment was spacious an well layed out, bathrooms are good maybe a freshen up wont hurt, but in all very pleasing. the balcony was a great place to be, not big but for three, it worked for us,Location for us was great, an every thing we wanted to see an do was easy an handy. thanks very much, looking forward too returning early next year.

Room Tip: for morning sun, park side or evening sun city side. 9th floor or 10th would be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 414daveb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Hi 414daveb,

Many thanks for posting a review of your recent stay, we look forward to welcoming you back early next year!

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Our trip was a birthday surprise for my sister-in-law, Sue, with me flying in from Perth and Sue flying in with her daughter from Newcastle, NSW. With the help of the hotel staff, who were able to organise an early check-in and who did not let slip that I was already there, we managed to surprise Sue when she opened the apartment door!

We found the 2 bedroom apartment clean and neat with a fantastic view and even took photos of the sunrise from our balcony. Our only concern was the lack of an exhaust fan in the bathrooms which made them very misty. The location of the hotel is fantastic, with Chinatown, Queen Victoria Markets and the theatres an easy walk away. Lygon Street was a bit further, but still a reasonable walk. But with the City Circle tram just around the corner, it was very easy to get anywhere!

With the help of the very friendly and efficient staff, we had a fabulous weekend and would come back tomorrow!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Barbara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Hi Barbara L,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay, I am glad to hear the staff were able to assist with your surprise for Sue and make it an enjoyable girls weekend all round!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed in a spacious one bedroom with a lovely view overlooking Carton Gardens which had quality carpets and furnishings. Bathrooms could do with an update. The staff were very helpful with directions and places to eat close by. Dined in the hotel restaurant one night and it was enjoyable. One real complaint with this hotel would be that you cannot control the temperature in the room. It was very hot the first night making it hard to sleep. My suggestion would be that management put fans into these rooms they know have this problem until a major overhaul with the heating/cooling system can be carried out. Trams are out front and a taxi ride from the CBD will set you back $7-10.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joelle43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Hi Joelle43,

Many thanks for your review of your stay at Mantra on the Park, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Our air conditioning system is a centrally managed system which can be controlled to either heating or cooling. Unfortunately due to Melbourne's current inconsistant temperatures we are having a few minor issues when there is a sudden change to the ambient temperature, however all of our rooms offer large opening balcony doors to allow in fresh air and we do have fans available for extra comfort.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to Melbourne.

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a two bedroom, two bathroom suite overlooking the exhibition centre- great view! Room was spacious and clean. Shower was quite low- hard to wash my hair! The room was almost unbearably hot, even when setting the controls to ten degrees Celsius the vent was blowing hot air. Beds very comfortable, service polite and great breakfast in the café downstairs. Car parking at $30 per day seemed expensive, but hotel is perfectly situated to explore queen vic markets, Chinatown, Melbourne museum, old Melbourne gaol, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Hi Ali B,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay, it is pleasing to hear our location suited your needs in Melbourne and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

My advice to everyone who wants a big apt space, book early! The price I paid was 50% off when I book 3 months in advance. So plan early your trip and you will get one of the best deals in town! It's a stone away from the tram stop.

You don't have to take a tram as it's walking distance to anywhere in town.

The receptionist was efficient, polite and helpful! You can ask any tips from them about anything. It's also nearby a rental car which is at Little Bourke St which I did not need to travel too far to get a car. Again it's walking distance from the apt.

What I did not was the check out time was way too early at 10am and if you are checking out on Friday or Saturday, the hotel won't be able to offer you late check out as their apt is quite popular on weekends. If you are checking out on a Sunday or Monday, you have better luck checking out late as that's what I have been inform.

Overall, it has been one of the best accommodation cum apt in Melbourne I have stayed so far. I would booked this apt again on my next trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Chanbrothershotels.com
Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2013

Hi Danny L,

Many thanks for rating us a 5 in the review of your recent stay at Mantra on the Park!

We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip.

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 162 in Melbourne
2,367 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#27 of 162 in Melbourne
1,950 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#84 of 162 in Melbourne
2,280 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#75 of 162 in Melbourne
1,114 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#11 of 162 in Melbourne
1,585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Park

Address: 333 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $139 - $316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Park is centrally located in Melbourne's CBDminutes from theatres, fashionable restaurants and the famous shopping precinct offering spectacular views from private balconies of the beautiful Carlton Gardens or city skyline. Mantra on the Park is an apartment style property consisting of self-contained one and two bedroom apartments. Foxtel is also available in all apartments. Hotel facilities include a 24 hour reception desk, concierge and porter service, evening room service, valet laundry service and tour desk, indoor heated pool, sauna and gymnasium. Mantra on the Park also offers an onsite dining venue, The Terrace Restaurant Bar and Grill which offers full buffet breakfast daily, a la carte dinner, all day room service, coffee, light meals and snacks. We also offer the convenience of a full minibar in all apartments. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Park Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On The Park Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing