We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's okay...”
Review of Mantra on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on the Park
Ranked #71 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Rooms were big and spacious, location great, it was just the little things that let this down a bit. Like the concierge not wanting to open the gym 5 minutes early (it's on the ground floor next to reception so no chance of waking guests). Good on you mate...you stood your ground. I think he was the anomaly as others were fine. Another issue was that the aircon was down...the fan worked but no cold air. My friend reported the same issue on another floor.

In short, this hotel has got everything you need for a short stay without being exceptional at anything.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shawn_Zoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hi Shawn_Zoe,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay with us, I am pleased to hear that overall your stay met expectations. I will follow up with the team in regards to your comment about accessing the gym earler than normal - thanks for bringing this to my attention.

We look forward to seeing you back here again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Michael McKinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,876 - 1,882 of 2,186 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Mantra on the Park for 4 nights. We arrived early so couldn't check in. We left our bags in a secure location at the lobby. We came back to find they had upgraded our room to a two bedroom apartment which was considerably bigger. The location of this hotel is perfect. It is located on the free loop tram that circles the city and stops off at many of the main attractions. It is also located to Chinatown and many good restaurants. You can also walk 15 min walk to Flinders Railway station. The rooms are very spacious and we had a full blown kitchen complete with dishwasher. We had breakfast in our room getting it for from a 7/11 next door to the hotel. Our room had two bathrooms one with a bath tub. Some say they are are a little run down but nothing is broken and they are very clean. I only spotted some mildew on the ceiling of my shower. This is a great Hotel and I have stayed in many around the world and this would easily be the most spacious and well located to CBD at a very good room rate. Recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a well located hotel in the Melbourne CBD. The one drawback is its distance from the airport, a taxi cost around $50 and the air-port bus $17.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hi Martin H,

Thanks for posting a review and photos of your recent stay at Mantra on the Park! It is great to hear you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to seeing you again when next coming to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Michael McKinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

We booked a 1 bedroom apartment for $139/night. Check in was hassle free and the staff were friendly and welcoming. Got to our room and were pleasantly surprised to find we had been given a 2 bedroom apartment, I checked with reception via phone and was informed this was a complimentary upgrade. The apartments are very nicely decorated with near new furnishings and ample space, even though it was my husband and myself, 4 adults or a family could easily stay here with room to move. A huge bonus was having your own washing machine and dryer in the 2nd bathroom. The kitchen was fully equipped and overall the apartment was clean. We were on the 7th floor and had a fair bit of noise from rubbish trucks early in the morning, upper levels wouldn't have this problem.

Room Tip: upper level floors have great views and less noise from streets below
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debandglenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hi Debandglenn,

It is pleasing to hear you both had an enjoyable stay with us, many thanks for posting a review.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are travelling across to Melbourne!

Kind Regards,
Michael McKinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Booked 2 bed 2 bath as a direct site special but over the phone. Was a 4 night stay. Happy with booking process and deal. Stayed in Melbourne heaps of times but first time here.
We somehow seem to get the apartments alongside the lift well, or maybe payless get less...
Apartment was fine, nicely furnished, good clean relatively new carpet, roomy, huge table ,well cleaned on arrival no signs of any previous occupiers. Tho daily servicing not quite as good. It was great having a small balcony so could have door open for fresh air, or coffee outside and had a view. Kitchen needed more utensils. Definately not enough cutlery....why put in a full size dishwasher as you have to hand wash so you can reuse for same meal! Most people who book an apartment want the facilities to eat in. Main bed had room for a king bed....but sadly didnt!
Location was on the outskirts of CBD but for us was good walking to places. we walked to Lygon St eating places, central cbd shops, South Wharf DFO (a long walk) MCG, but could catch circle tram if you wanted to. We found the location of room on the 15th floor quiet.
Negatives were
1. The bathrooms! The ensuite was larger than the main one...but both were SO small. This was because we had the space taken up by the lift well I take it. Other positioned apartments may have better sized ones. Sure they were adequate, and the laundry was in the very small main bath in a cupboard. Also why in a great complex as this do you spray the bathroom tiles when doing a bathroom upgrade. You need to do them properly and have them look top class. This method is for a quick reno job not a well used up market hotel. This quick fix method was starting to come apart!
2.Car parking fees. $30 per day. Very expensive. But this trip we had a car so needed accom that provided such. The commercially owned car park was great tho, safe parking, easy direct access to hotel.
3.No free wifi! Something that needs considering....tho I learned how to tether my iphone to ipad.....good mobile reception area.
Staff were great,helpful and friendly. Thankyou, it makes all the difference to your overall opinion of a place. And I would recommend as no place is perfect...unless you want to pay double, triple the price. So was good value for money...well the special. We will consider this place again when visiting Melbourne as we had no real problems.

Room Tip: Ask for one not alongside the lift well!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philljan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hi philljan,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Mantra on the Park. I will pass on your comments to the team, it is pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Based on your review we are able to work out the room you stayed in so I will have our maintenace team attend to the bathroom, we are currently working to improve the appearance of these throughout the building. The car park is commercially operated and the $30 per night fee is moderately priced for inner city Melbourne hotels - ours comes with the added benefit of unlimited entries and exits and is directly connected to the hotel. We do have a range of wi-fi pricing options available, however as you mentioned the hotel received excellent mobile coverage for those with their own mobile internet devices!

We look forward to seeing you and your family back here when next travelling to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Michael McKinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Good location but air conditioning doesn't work, door handle for bathroom was broken and the traffic is quite loud also if cooking your own meals the exhaust fan just blows the smoke around the whole room instead of venting externally. The room was booked by a friend who did it online and left earlier than we did so we got a rude shock when we found out we had to pay for the entire stay due to booking only being held by the credit card payment that will be supposedly refunded later! Won't be making that mistake again!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BridgyBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2013

Hi BridgyBrad,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, it is disappointing to hear there were some minor maintenance issues in your room, I will have our team attend to these.

Apologies for the confusion with payment, this should have been made clearer upon arrival as it would have been per the booking T&C's.

We hope to see you back here again when next coming to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Michael McKinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have stayed in both 1 bedroom and a 2 bedroom apartments. They are spacious well maintained , well fitted out and attractively presented. Pleasant views over the nearby park , and verandahs that allow a bit of time in the fresh air enjoying the view. ( The upper floors have quite spectacular views towards the city limits.) Comfy beds, all necessary conveniences are provided for a bit of self catering and laundry if needed. There is also a very good new gym on the ground floor. We found the service provided by the staff refreshingly enthusiastic, helpful and well co-ordinated. There is a restaurant on site which we did not try , which is open for breakfast and dinner and provides room service during limited hours. It seemed popular with guests. However, would thoroughly recommend Thailicious which is almost next door. Great Thai food !! The location is an easy walk to city centre ( 5 minutes) and the free city circle tram is in the next street.
Would recommend Mantra on the Park if you are looking for more than a hotel room. May be a bit dearer but a lovely 'home away from home'.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2adults2teens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Hi 2adults2teens,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, it is great to hear you had another enjoyable stay at Mantra on the Park.

We look forward to welcoming you back to your 'home away from home' when next coming to Melbourne.

Best Regards,
Michael McKinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed at Mantra for a girls shopping holiday. The apartment had everything we needed for our 3 night stay. The bed was really comfortable so slept well. Enjoyed morning swims in the heated pool and a sit in the sauna every morning. No towels left in pool area but after a phone call to reception, they were quickly delivered. Location was great as only a short walk to The Queen Vic Market and to the restaurants on Lygon Street. The free tram was close by as well as the bus. Melbourne museum not far away too . We walked lots of places from The Mantra. An IGA shop is just next door to top up on snacks as those provided by the Mini Bar were overpriced. Soaps etc provided were really nice. A washing machine & dryer in the bathroom were there if needed. This is the 2nd time I have stayed at a Mantra hotel and both times have been positive. look forward to staying there again in the future and will certainly recommend it to friends. One thing lacking is a small dining table & chairs. There were stools at the breakfast bar.

Room Tip: Get a room with the Carlton Gardens view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ReneeLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

Hi ReneeLisa,

Thanks for submitting a review of your recent stay with us at Mantra on the Park.

It is very pleasing to hear you and your friends had an enjoyable time at the hotel and we look forward to seeing you again on your next shopping trip to Melbourne.

Best Regards,
Michael McKinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#37 of 161 in Melbourne
2,455 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#24 of 161 in Melbourne
2,072 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#58 of 161 in Melbourne
1,859 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#87 of 161 in Melbourne
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Park

Address: 333 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $128 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Park is centrally located in Melbourne's CBDminutes from theatres, fashionable restaurants and the famous shopping precinct offering spectacular views from private balconies of the beautiful Carlton Gardens or city skyline. Mantra on the Park is an apartment style property consisting of self-contained one and two bedroom apartments. Foxtel is also available in all apartments. Hotel facilities include a 24 hour reception desk, concierge and porter service, evening room service, valet laundry service and tour desk, indoor heated pool, sauna and gymnasium. Mantra on the Park also offers an onsite dining venue, The Terrace Restaurant Bar and Grill which offers full buffet breakfast daily, a la carte dinner, all day room service, coffee, light meals and snacks. We also offer the convenience of a full minibar in all apartments. *Please be advised parking fees will increase to $33 from 1st January, 2018 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Park Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On The Park Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing