We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time for us”
Review of Mantra on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on the Park
Ranked #68 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Third time for us”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

The 2 bedroom apartments are great, they are always clean and its great value. The staff are friendly and its a great location. Its nice sitting on the balcony with the view of the Exhibition
Gardens. Will book again next time in Melbourne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackmol3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi Jackmol3,

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review, we are pleased to hear you and your family had an enjoyable time with us.

We look forward to seeing you back here for another stay.

Best Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,829 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    589
    759
    320
    100
    61
See reviews for
860
296
47
275
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We were booked to stay at The Mantra at South Melbourne 2 months in advance all paid for two by two bedroom apartments for 8 people and 2 night stay.The Mantra group rang the Thursday night prior to our arrival on Friday the 5th April saying they were not able to Accomadation us at the South Melbourne Mantra and had relocated us to Mantra on the Park on the Northern side of the CBD no consultation prior. This was very inconvenient for us as we had bookings for Restrarants and site seeing on the south side We think that because of the Logies being on the Sunday night mabye had something to do with our relocation Very poor service also at The Mantra on the Park and the rooms were not available to 3.45 pm even though they stated they would be available at 2 pm. We will never stay with the Mantra Group again.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi Sandy K,

Thank you for your review, it is disappointing to hear there were issues with your initial booking at Mantra Southbank and that aspects of your stay at Mantra on the Park did not meet expecations. We had a large group check out which unfortunately lead to some delays in housekeeping preparing the rooms for arrival, apologies your room was not ready at the standard 2pm check in time. I do hope outside of this issue you did have a pleasant stay with us.

Best Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Recently stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment at Mantra on the Park for 4 nights. The check in was extremely quick and the front staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The furnishings in the apartment had been updated and we had a great view looking over to the Exhibition Gardens. The room was quite spacious with a seperate dining and living areas. The main bedroom contains an ensuite and the laundry is within the second bedroom. The apartment would be first class if the bathrooms were updated. The property is located within easy walking distance of QV, Melbourne Central and Lygon Street. The City Circle line is at your doorstep which made accessing all other parts the city and surrounding areas such as the Docklands a breeze. The kids enjoyed the indoor pool which is located on level 6. Would recommend and we are planning a return visit later this year.

Room Tip: All hotel rooms commence from level 6.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaaknich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi jaaknich,

Many thanks for taking the time to submit a review (and some photos!) of your recent stay with us at Mantra on the Park.

It is pleasing to hear you had an enjoyable stay and the kids enjoyed the pool. We look forward to seeing you all again when next travelling to Melbourne.

Best Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This was our second time here, and it was as good as our first. They managed also to explain to us Melbourne's new transport payment system that used on busses, train and trams. A card called Myki.
The Apartment is o the free City Circle tram route, plus other trams routes.
We will use this place next time we go back to Melbourne Australia.
They have also two bedroom options.

Room Tip: You will be given a double, if you require a twin beds ask when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi hjdavid,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay, it is pleasing to hear your second visit was as good as your first!

We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days while at grand prix
Close to china town & reasonably quite
Given the business going on around
walking Distance to rail tram & all city
Rooms large & clean decor 3.5 star but ok service efficient & friendly would go back &
think it is a reasonable rate even though the grand prix was on enjoyed our stay & race was great.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zwho61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi mkw61,

Many thanks for your review, it is pleasing to hear you had an enjoyable Grand Prix weekend staying with us.

We hope to see you again when next travelling to Melbourne!

Best Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed here for the Aus Open tennis in 2012 - two bedroom apartment was a great set up and room was more than adequate. Local IGA store on corner and Lygon St is about a 10-15 min walk away. City circle free tram stops right out the front on cnr of Lonsdale and exhibition

Good value - would return if staying a group again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gw_worldtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Hi TeamGTravel,

Thanks for your review of your stay with us during the Australian Open - such an exciting time to be in Melbourne! I am glad to hear you and your friends had an enjoyable stay and we hope to see you back here again soon!

Best Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
317 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stayed here as a family and found the facilities adequate enough, although a little tired. Kitchen was short on utensils, and just enough towels for us. The pool is ok for kids although you go outside to get to this indoor pool. The location is good, close to trams (free City Circle tram), close to Exhibition and the new Museum, the City Baths are nearby, and the Queen Victoria Markets a short walk away too. It is a bit of a trek to get to SouthBank, MCG, Myer Music Bowl, Federation Square - but use the trams, they are everywhere and go everywhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#34 of 159 in Melbourne
2,071 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#70 of 159 in Melbourne
965 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
Melbourne Marriott Hotel
#8 of 159 in Melbourne
1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#29 of 159 in Melbourne
1,646 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#93 of 159 in Melbourne
691 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Park

Property: Mantra on the Park
Address: 333 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Park is centrally located in Melbourne's CBD. This fantastic Apartment hotel is minutes from theatres, fashionable restaurants and the famous shopping precinct offering spectacular views of the beautiful Carlton Gardens or city skyline. Mantra on the Park is an apartment style property consisting of self-contained one and two bedroom apartments. All rooms are spacious and offer private balconies, spectacular city skyline or scenic garden views, air-conditioning, full kitchen and laundry facilities, and lounge and dining areas. Foxtel is also available in all apartments. Guests of Mantra on the Park can enjoy hotel facilities including a 24 hour reception desk, concierge and porter service, evening room service, valet laundry service and tour desk. Leisure facilities include an indoor heated pool, sauna and gymnasium. Mantra on the Park also offers an onsite dining venue, The Terrace Restaurant Bar and Grill which offers full buffet breakfast daily, a la carte dinner, all day room service, coffee, light meals and snacks. We also offer the convenience of a full minibar in all apartments. Mantra on the Park is an idyllic accommodation choice for travellers who wish to enjoy all Melbourne has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Park Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On The Park Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing