We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”
Review of Mantra on the Park

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mantra on the Park
Ranked #70 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Great view over park to Royal Exhibition Building and right on a free city circle tram stop. We were here for 9 nights and room serviced regularly. Bought food from Queen Victoria markets and cooked in the kitchen with enough utensils and pans to put together a decent meal. Would definitely stay again. Could hear some traffic noise but could also hear birds chirping from the park and the cicadas humming at night from the park. Really enjoyed being able to picnic in the park just across the road as well as walking to Lygon St for dinner.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happytraveller_456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,999 - 2,005 of 2,274 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

Our family stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment. It had nice modern furniture 2 bathrooms and a functional kitchen. The only problem I had was the cleanliness. I bought cleaning products from the iga to clean the bathroom because there was soap scum everywere, hair in the drains and didnt smell clean. I have small children and cleanliness is important to me. I have sayed in many other mantra hotels they have been nicer. Good location near the city circle tram but it only runs in limited hours. I was a bit upset when I paid for parking went to pay with cash and the cashier said I could only pay with credit card then charged me a credit card sercharge :( I dont think we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familytravels21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed here on christmas night. I have stayed at Mantra properties before but wasnt sure what to expect. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment. The room was fantastic along with the nightly rate. The lounge room was massive with a balcony overlooking the park. The room was very spacious with a big seperate bathroom/laundry. Very modern. The view could have been better but hey, i wasnt spending my time staring out the window! The shower was a bit grimy but aside from that the place was clean. The parking was $30 which i think is overpriced but thats the standard across hotels generally. I would definately come back - the location was good aswell because it was on the fringe of the city, not to far to walk to Collingwood/Fitzroy or the City centre.

Room Tip: A high level with a park view would be the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikki_N30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We go to Melbourne regularly to visit family and have stayed at quite a few hotels and apartments. This apartment was such great value for money, efficient check in, good service, easy walk to restaurants and shops, good size 2 bedroom apartment, modern furniture, very clean and lovely view overlooking the park. Highly recommended particuarly for $210 per night. The limo service to the airport for $60 is the cheapest we have experienced in Melbourne (why would you get a taxi), lovely car, friendly and professional driver. We will be back to the Mantra.

Room Tip: Room 605 - 2 bedroom apartment, excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kookie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at Mantra on the Park for 5 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment with a sofa bed, we had booked the room for three people and payed the supplement for the extra person. There wasn't a day that I disn't have to call the front desk about something going wrong.
When we checked in the sofa bed hadn't been made up, there was no bedding provided for it and only two towels. Two of the three the lights in the kitchen didn't work. I called reception and the person I dealt with made it sound like it was just to much hassle for him to deal with - after an hour we gave up waiting for someone to come and fix the issues and went for a very late dinner, when we came back the room had been made up but the lights hadn't been fixed.
The bathroom in the hotel was not clean on check in, with long hairs on the walls and in the shower.
On the second day when I went to complain about the lights the same person on the front desk told me it had already been done and he had been up to our room himself and checked, this was a blatant lie, one of the lights in the kitchen was fixed after three days of complaints and the other never was.
For the remainder of our stay we had to ask for a towel for the third person staying three times and one day they didn't bother to service our room at all.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AntipodeanAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Whilst not the most central of accommodations it is only a 15 minute walk from the river . We were upgraded to a two bed corner apartment overlooking the park. Check in and staff very good and a convenient store next door.

Apartment had everything you could want and was well appointed. Better than the Oaks Goldsborough apartments in Sydney

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigalEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Was four singles in a two bedroom apartment and suited us well. Met at reception with efficiency and courtesy. Great having two bathrooms with three women and a full laundry and separate dining/lounge area. Having the small balcony was great to be able to open the door for fresh air. Free circle tram is practically at the door and enjoyed the steak in the restaurant on ground level. Staff were helpful by organising a taxi for our later departure after a day of retail therapy. Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leeniee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 161 in Melbourne
2,545 reviews
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#55 of 161 in Melbourne
1,954 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#25 of 161 in Melbourne
2,149 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Melbourne Hotel and Apartments
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#80 of 161 in Melbourne
1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Park

Address: 333 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $127 - $294 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Park is centrally located in Melbourne's CBDminutes from theatres, fashionable restaurants and the famous shopping precinct offering spectacular views from private balconies of the beautiful Carlton Gardens or city skyline. Mantra on the Park is an apartment style property consisting of self-contained one and two bedroom apartments. Foxtel is also available in all apartments. Hotel facilities include a 24 hour reception desk, concierge and porter service, evening room service, valet laundry service and tour desk, indoor heated pool, sauna and gymnasium. Mantra on the Park also offers an onsite dining venue, The Terrace Restaurant Bar and Grill which offers full buffet breakfast daily, a la carte dinner, all day room service, coffee, light meals and snacks. We also offer the convenience of a full minibar in all apartments. *Please be advised parking fees will increase to $33 from 1st January, 2018 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Park Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On The Park Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing