We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Better than Expected !!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on the Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra on the Park
Ranked #63 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Better than Expected !!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I stayed here on christmas night. I have stayed at Mantra properties before but wasnt sure what to expect. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment. The room was fantastic along with the nightly rate. The lounge room was massive with a balcony overlooking the park. The room was very spacious with a big seperate bathroom/laundry. Very modern. The view could have been better but hey, i wasnt spending my time staring out the window! The shower was a bit grimy but aside from that the place was clean. The parking was $30 which i think is overpriced but thats the standard across hotels generally. I would definately come back - the location was good aswell because it was on the fringe of the city, not to far to walk to Collingwood/Fitzroy or the City centre.

Room Tip: A high level with a park view would be the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikki_N30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    494
    203
    70
    42
See reviews for
530
196
28
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We go to Melbourne regularly to visit family and have stayed at quite a few hotels and apartments. This apartment was such great value for money, efficient check in, good service, easy walk to restaurants and shops, good size 2 bedroom apartment, modern furniture, very clean and lovely view overlooking the park. Highly recommended particuarly for $210 per night. The limo service to the airport for $60 is the cheapest we have experienced in Melbourne (why would you get a taxi), lovely car, friendly and professional driver. We will be back to the Mantra.

Room Tip: Room 605 - 2 bedroom apartment, excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kookie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stayed at Mantra on the Park for 5 nights in a 1 bedroom apartment with a sofa bed, we had booked the room for three people and payed the supplement for the extra person. There wasn't a day that I disn't have to call the front desk about something going wrong.
When we checked in the sofa bed hadn't been made up, there was no bedding provided for it and only two towels. Two of the three the lights in the kitchen didn't work. I called reception and the person I dealt with made it sound like it was just to much hassle for him to deal with - after an hour we gave up waiting for someone to come and fix the issues and went for a very late dinner, when we came back the room had been made up but the lights hadn't been fixed.
The bathroom in the hotel was not clean on check in, with long hairs on the walls and in the shower.
On the second day when I went to complain about the lights the same person on the front desk told me it had already been done and he had been up to our room himself and checked, this was a blatant lie, one of the lights in the kitchen was fixed after three days of complaints and the other never was.
For the remainder of our stay we had to ask for a towel for the third person staying three times and one day they didn't bother to service our room at all.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AntipodeanAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Whilst not the most central of accommodations it is only a 15 minute walk from the river . We were upgraded to a two bed corner apartment overlooking the park. Check in and staff very good and a convenient store next door.

Apartment had everything you could want and was well appointed. Better than the Oaks Goldsborough apartments in Sydney

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigalEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Was four singles in a two bedroom apartment and suited us well. Met at reception with efficiency and courtesy. Great having two bathrooms with three women and a full laundry and separate dining/lounge area. Having the small balcony was great to be able to open the door for fresh air. Free circle tram is practically at the door and enjoyed the steak in the restaurant on ground level. Staff were helpful by organising a taxi for our later departure after a day of retail therapy. Definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leeniee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My wife and 1 stayed here for a week and were very impressed, we stayed in a one bedroom apartment and were impressed with the size and decor of the place. It is a very short, easy walk to the center of the CBD and would highly recommend this for anyone looking for quality accomodation in the CBD

Room Tip: The one bedroom apartment is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldCoastGolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We had two nights in a two bedroom two bathroom appartment on the 16th floor. The view was lovely over Victoria street and beyond to the ranges. Very nice on the smallish balcony at night. Balcony had two chairs and small table.
What we liked about this Mantra apartment was the two bedrooms were at opposite ends of the apartment space with the living/dining and kitchen in the middle. The linen and towels were quite good and clean. Mini products in the bathrooms. Full kitchen and laundry facilities. Beds were firm but OK. We had no complaints with the apartment except the aircon didn't seem to work efficiently. There is traffic noise but not too bad.
The location was great for dining in Lygon Street and China Town and the free city circle tram was close. An IGA and bottle shop were basically next door but beware it was expensive.
The Mantra restaurant on the ground floor adjacent to the reception was ordinary. We wouldn't dine there again.
Reception was friendly and efficient. Our deal was great value for the two bedrooms. Parking was $27/night
Would stay here again if we were able to get a good deal.

Room Tip: Twobed appartment 1602 had lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wishlist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#34 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,377 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#58 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 783 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#66 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#41 of 157 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 948 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Somerset on Elizabeth, Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Park

Property: Mantra on the Park
Address: 333 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#61 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Park is centrally located in Melbourne's CBD. This fantastic Apartment hotel is minutes from theatres, fashionable restaurants and the famous shopping precinct offering spectacular views of the beautiful Carlton Gardens or city skyline. Mantra on the Park is an apartment style property consisting of self-contained one and two bedroom apartments. All rooms are spacious and offer private balconies, spectacular city skyline or scenic garden views, air-conditioning, full kitchen and laundry facilities, and lounge and dining areas. Foxtel is also available in all apartments. Guests of Mantra on the Park can enjoy hotel facilities including a 24 hour reception desk, concierge and porter service, evening room service, valet laundry service and tour desk. Leisure facilities include an indoor heated pool, sauna and gymnasium. Mantra on the Park also offers an onsite dining venue, The Terrace Restaurant Bar and Grill which offers full buffet breakfast daily, a la carte dinner, all day room service, coffee, light meals and snacks. We also offer the convenience of a full minibar in all apartments. Mantra on the Park is an idyllic accommodation choice for travellers who wish to enjoy all Melbourne has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mantra on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Park Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On The Park Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing