We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Mantra on the Park, Melbourne” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra on the Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on the Park
Ranked #70 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
London
Level Contributor
117 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Mantra on the Park, Melbourne”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

It was nice to have a suite with living room and bedroom, plus our own washing facilities. Nice too to have a small balcony to enjoy breakfast or coffee overlooking the park. The hotel could do with a little bit of modernising and freshening up. Easy to get to via the Skybus from the airport with free onward shuttle from their central depot direct to your hotel. Reasonably good location, opposite Carlton Gardens, the museums and IMAX cinema, and about 15 minutes walk from Federation Square and the river. Try the free City Circuit tram to get your bearings.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilbertfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Hi Dilbertfan,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Mantra on the Park - I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We recently completed a $4M refurbishment of our accommodation rooms and will be doing some updating of the foyer and exterior in the near future.

We hope to see you back here again soon.

Kind Regards,
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    295
    411
    165
    59
    38
See reviews for
419
165
23
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

We had a brilliant stay at the mantra on park. The room was modern and well kept. The service from check in thru check out was excellent and we were really made welcome. Definatley recommend to anyone who wants to visit Melbourne.

Helpful?
Thank magpiejim1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Hi magpiejim1,

Thank you for submitting a review of your recent stay at Mantra on the Park. I am pleased to hear to had enjoyable time and we look forward to seeing you back with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tasmania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

My sister and I stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for two nights. The apartment was well fit out and we had a queen sized bed and a bathroom each. The bathroom needs re-grouting and siliconing but nothing leaked and the shower was surprisingly good. The front of house staff were abrupt and made us feel like we were inconveniencing them by standing at the desk waiting for service. Overall, for the price, we found the stay very pleasant and very conveniently located (the free city circle tram stops just over the road). I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KadenJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Hi KadenJen,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, I am pleased you enjoyed your apartment. As part of our ongoing maintenance we are addressing the shower issue you raised in the effected apartments.

It is disappointing to hear your feedback on reception, we pride ourselves on friendly and efficient service but I have passed on your comments to the team.

We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Good business location on the edge of the CBD - 20 min walk to Bourke and Collins St Mall areas. Spacious apartments equipped and furnished to decent standards. No business desk or cable Internet access. Lighting over dining table intended for mood rather than illumination. Helpful, friendly staff.
Breakfast (and dinner if you wanted, but, hey, this is Melbourne and one of e best cities in the world for eating out, so why would you eat next door?) OK food-wise, but service very slow -new staff member, we were told. Happy to hold luggage and call a taxi, no complaints. We'd stay there again,

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OzCru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Hi OzCru,

Many thanks for your review - great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you back at Mantra on the Park in the near future!

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I stayed at the Mantra in December for 3 nights with my husband and two young boys. The hotel is in an exellent location. The 2 bedroom apartment was clean and spacious which had all you needed. I will definately stay again next time I will be in Melbourne.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boobie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Hi boobie3,

Great to hear you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us - our 2 bedroom apartments are great for families and I hope the kids got to take advantage of the swimming pool!

Hope to see you all back here soon!

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed here twice with a trip along the Great Ocean Road in between. First time we had booked a one bedroom apartment and on our return we were upgraded to a two bedroom on the top floor overlooking the gardens. everything about the rooms was outstanding- very spacious with stylish comfortable furniture, large well equipped kitchen, comfortable beds and very nice bathrooms with good powerful showers. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous. The location is perfect-opposite a park and walking distance to everything. The free circular tram stops outside and supermarket five minutes walk away. We enjoyed restaurants in Fitzroy which is just across the park. We would recommend this hotel to any of our friends coming to Melbourne.

Room Tip: ask to overlook the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Hi chrisalberta,

Thanks for taking the time to submit a review on your recent stays with us - great to hear you enjoyed the upgrade for your second booking!

Good to see you took advantage of our great location and also enjoyed our newly refurbished rooms!

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

We stayed here whilst visiting family in Melbourne

Mantra provides Serviced Appartments not a full service hotel so it's unfair to criticise it as a hotel. What you get is a great location, loads of space and some good basic amenities (like a working and reasonably equiped kitchen, washing m/c and dryer and aircon). Our appartment was well furnished. It's 30 metres from a convenience store and a few more steps gets you to the fee tourist tram stop. Melbourne Museum is a short walk away as is the Chinese district, Greek district and Lygon Street with its Italian restaurants, you won't be doing much cooking!

There's a roof top (ish - floor 6) pool and an independent coffee shop in the same building.

Niggles? well the safe deposit boxes worked well enough, but they are in reception and a safe in the room would be better. The WiFi isn't free (it's not even cheap) and at times it can be pitifully slow. The free TV channels aren't a great choice (no CNN / BBC World / Bloomberg for instance). The step out of the bath / shower was on the high side for some and it would have been nice if the manageemnt had left some instructions for the cooker / aircon / washing machine etc - OK you'll figure them out, but for the cost of a copy is s dumb omission.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a upper floor with a view over the park - not essential, but if you can get it, go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_Elliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this review, February 28, 2012
Hi Mark_Elliott,

Thanks for your review - good to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay with us.

Thanks also for you feedback on various items - we will look into what we can do to improve these areas.

Hope to see you back here again soon.

Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#38 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 1,151 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra 100 Exhibition
Mantra 100 Exhibition
#81 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Chinatown
Oaks on Lonsdale
Oaks on Lonsdale
#65 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#51 of 156 in Melbourne
4.0 of 5 stars 743 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Park

Property: Mantra on the Park
Address: 333 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#65 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Park is centrally located in Melbourne's CBD. This fantastic Apartment hotel is minutes from theatres, fashionable restaurants and the famous shopping precinct offering spectacular views of the beautiful Carlton Gardens or city skyline. Mantra on the Park is an apartment style property consisting of self-contained one and two bedroom apartments. All rooms are spacious and offer private balconies, spectacular city skyline or scenic garden views, air-conditioning, full kitchen and laundry facilities, and lounge and dining areas. Foxtel is also available in all apartments. Guests of Mantra on the Park can enjoy hotel facilities including a 24 hour reception desk, concierge and porter service, evening room service, valet laundry service and tour desk. Leisure facilities include an indoor heated pool, sauna and gymnasium. Mantra on the Park also offers an onsite dining venue, The Terrace Restaurant Bar and Grill which offers full buffet breakfast daily, a la carte dinner, all day room service, coffee, light meals and snacks. We also offer the convenience of a full minibar in all apartments. Mantra on the Park is an idyllic accommodation choice for travellers who wish to enjoy all Melbourne has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Mantra on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Park Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On The Park Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing