We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra on the Park
Ranked #71 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Stayed here on recent trip to Melbourne, based mainly on the great deal we got - $189 a night for a 2 bedroom apartment. I think the usual rate is somewhere nearer $300 a night.

The apartments are huge and clearly designed for longer stays. The rooms have recently been renovated and look good. Our apartment had a full kitchen (full size fridge, cook top, diswasher, sink, microwave, oven) complete with pans, etc, dining table to seat 6, 3-seater sofa, arm chair, TV, stereo with ipod dock, small balcony with view over Exhibition building. The apartment is easily big enough to accomodate 2 couples/4 people travelling together.

The bedrooms were adequately sized and the beds were comfortable. The rooms were absolutely immaculate in terms of cleanliness and presentation. I think housekeeping is doing a good job here.

The location is good, there is a well stocked convenience store right on the corner if you are self catering. As other travellers have noted the free City Circle tram does stop very near the hotel, although it should be noted that this free tram only runs during certain hours, I think 10am to 6pm? So if you are coming back later you will need to work out alternative transport or walk. Next time I would probably look for somewhere a bit more centrally located to the main shopping areas, however the location is very close to the theatre district.

Small points for the 'detail orientated' guest:
The ensuite in the 1st bedroom is a shower over bath type arrangement. The height of the bath off the ground is quite high, meaning you have to step up into it, and the shower fitting is fixed. My partner is 6 feet tall and literally had to kneel on the floor of the bath to get his head wet under the shower.

The second bathroom is a combined laundry/toilet/shower and is not technically an ensuite since the door is off the main room rather than the bedroom, although it is right next door to the 2nd bedroom. It wasn't advertised as an ensuite, I am just making this point in case other travellers are curious about the apartment layout.

One of my travel companions had some difficulty closing the window in the 2nd bedroom - on closer inspection we discovered it spins through 360 degrees to shut. With the window open there was quite a bit of noise but with the window shut it was quiet. We didn't have any other issues with noise and the apartment was very quiet.

Overall we had a pleasant stay and would recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rrw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,186)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,013 - 2,019 of 2,186 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2011

The staff were really helpful when making the booking, I asked for a room with a view and I certainly got one! The lounge, kitchen and bedroom areas were decorated beautifully and were very comfortable, including the bed. Slight problem with the bedroom was the fact the window didn't close properly, which I didn't realise until the day we were checking out, and subsequently, the traffic noise was a bit loud. The only real gripe I had was that the bathroom needed retiling, the tiles were grotty, including in the shower, although the fittings all looked pretty new. Also, the whole apartment needed a good clean as in surfaces were not cleaned properly, but the bedding was immaculate and the flooring looked new. Had a great stay overall and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sas670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

As we only had 3 days in Melbourne we wanted somewhere convenient to all, but not in the city itself & Mantra on the Park is perfect. The Exhibition Building, Museum & Carlton gardens are across the road (definitely ask for a room overlooking the park), the free City Circle tram is right outside & perfect for getting about the city. The staff here are friendly & yes very helpful with any directions or ideas. We actually weren't happy with the view from our first room (overlooking the indoor pool & roofworks below) so asked if it was possible to move to overlook the park - no problems. We came back from our adventures the next day & had been moved to a lovely room & on the 14th floor! Mantra is perfect if you or your partner wants to sleep in/stay up later, as the bedroom, bathroom & lounge are seperated by doors (not too many people mention this) - perfect to put the kettle on or have a shower etc. We continue to be impressed with the various Mantra Hotels we have stayed in & would always recommend them to anyone.

Room Tip: The hotel has offices to the 5th floor, so all are 6 & above, Ask for overlooking the park as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dikel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

This hotel is always great, particularly more so now that the rooms have been renovated. Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment at an excellent price, with views overlooking the gardens and the Royal Exhibition Building. Very friendly and helpful staff. This has been our 5th visit and we will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2011

Stayed here for business this week. Not being a local, staff were very friendly at giving me directions and helpful advice on where to eat etc. Rooms were large and clean. Will be staying here again next month and looking forward to it.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hon12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2011

Hi Hon12,
It is great to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at Mantra on the Park, we look forward to welcoming you back next month.
Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2011

Stayed here with three friends, in a 2 bedroom apartment over a long weekend. The apartment was great, there was plenty of space, 2 bathrooms, balcony overlooking the Royal Exhibition Building and Carlton Gardens. We walked a lot of places and it was a great location for doing that - up to restaurants in Fitzroy and down to the National Gallery. What was particularly good was the staff - on the last day we were potentially delayed in Melbourne due to the volcanic ash crisis, but the staff first organised a late check-out of 4pm for us, and if we'd needed to stay further we could have stayed in that room too. That kind of attention is very helpful in tricky circumstances and very much appreciated.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemissredsoles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2011

Dear lilltemissredsoles,
Many thanks for posting a review on your recent stay at Mantra on the Park. It is pleasing to hear you enjoyed our large apartments and look advantage of a late check out.
We look forward to seeing you back here in the near future.
Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Yes the room was really good, the view superb, the soaps smelt glorious, but the staff we encountered were just great! Top class. Being a bit unfamiliar with what was availabe for dining on a Sunday night - when do things stay open, how close to where we were, could cater for a family etc was a concern. We were given spot-on info and had good choices as a result (and a delicious meal too). My only slightly negative comment would be the buffet breakfast - not keen on overly herbed/marinated fried mushrooms nor very herby sausages first thing in morning. Keep it as basic as possible for family tastes please.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MOTPGM, General Manager at Mantra on the Park, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2011

Hi Abbie T,
Thanks for your review of your recent stay at Mantra on the Park, we are proud of the level of service we offer and I have passed on your great feedback to the team.
The restaurant is run independantly to the hotel and i have passed on your feedback regarding the breakfast buffet to their management team.
We look forward to seeing you again next time you are in Melbourne.
Kind Regards
Michael McKinnon
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#37 of 161 in Melbourne
2,456 reviews
Central Business District
Mantra on Little Bourke
Mantra on Little Bourke
#24 of 161 in Melbourne
2,073 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
Mantra Southbank Melbourne
#58 of 161 in Melbourne
1,859 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Central Business District
Oaks on Market
Oaks on Market
#87 of 161 in Melbourne
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra on the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra on the Park

Address: 333 Exhibition St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#63 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#63 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#66 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#67 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: $128 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra on the Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mantra on the Park is centrally located in Melbourne's CBDminutes from theatres, fashionable restaurants and the famous shopping precinct offering spectacular views from private balconies of the beautiful Carlton Gardens or city skyline. Mantra on the Park is an apartment style property consisting of self-contained one and two bedroom apartments. Foxtel is also available in all apartments. Hotel facilities include a 24 hour reception desk, concierge and porter service, evening room service, valet laundry service and tour desk, indoor heated pool, sauna and gymnasium. Mantra on the Park also offers an onsite dining venue, The Terrace Restaurant Bar and Grill which offers full buffet breakfast daily, a la carte dinner, all day room service, coffee, light meals and snacks. We also offer the convenience of a full minibar in all apartments. *Please be advised parking fees will increase to $33 from 1st January, 2018 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mantra on the Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra On The Park Hotel Melbourne
Mantra On The Park Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing