We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Believe the hype!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chokolait Hub

Chokolait Hub
Ranked #5 of 83 Dessert in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: One of Melbourne's most highly acclaimed chocolate salons serving genuine Belgian chocolate beverages, desserts and of course chocolates.Family owned with most products made in our own on-site kitchen with artisan care and fine attention to detail. Warm, relaxed and friendly and open virtually every day of the year and located near major department stores near the Bourke Street Mall in central Melbourne.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Believe the hype!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

I had heard good things about this place before visiting Melbourne so when we got the chance to try it out for ourselves we were not disappointed. The cheesecake we shared was absolutely delicious. As it was near closing time there were only a few people left in the cafe so we chatted with the owner and his wife and even took a picture with them! Ross certainly knows his stuff from his years of cooking experience.

It's easy to see why this place has won awards and is highly rated! Definitely worth another visit!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Hi Guys, thanks for coming to visit and we are very pleased you enjoyed your Chokolait experience with us, we hope the pics are good, maybe a little airbrush for me, Take care, Ross/Owner/Chokolait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    80
    24
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
129 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A must for anyone that enjoys good chocolate”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We heard about this place shortly before we left home, and had it on the list to look at. We were not disappointed. We had a hot cholate and and iced chocolate drink, and both agreed that they were the best of each we had ever had. We had to go back a few days later for a second go, they were that good. It is a bit hidden, but do take the time and effort to go there and try from the wide selection. The service is friendly and a visit will bring a smile to your face.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kelvin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hi Kiwi gang, Thanks for taking the trouble to find us and we are very happy that you enjoyed your Chokolait experience, Take care and we hope to see you again soon,
Regards,
Ross/Owner/Chokolait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our faveourite cafe in Melbourne!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

We travel to Melbourne every year from Brisbane and Chokolait is always our first stop. We discovered Chokolait a few years ago and we were amazed by all of the delicious desserts, drinks, and individual chocolates they freshly make. Our family has basically tested out their whole menu over the years and we are never disappointed! We recently travelled overseas and tried out some of Europe's chocolates, but our whole family agrees that Chokolait's chocolates are much nicer! The owners - Ross and Marianne are very friendly and you can tell they have a great passion for chocolate and desserts. Would definitely recommend to anyone who has a sweet tooth and enjoys great quality chocolate.

Helen, Anne, Ella and Cara

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ella and Cara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
HI Girls, Thanks again and thanks for taking the time to write a review, much appreciated and see you again in 2014, sometime!!.
Best regards,
Ross
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“So chocolaty and worth it! Must try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

The chocolate experience is unbeatable, so far the best ice chocolate drink I have ever had, wish there is one in Perth! Their ice lemon tea is also specially made.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas_Teh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hi Perth gang, thanks for your kind review and we hope to see you again soonish, Take care,
Ross/Owner/Chokolait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“We take everyone here! For a shot of chocolate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

They serve chocolate, melted to be able to drink (or eat) - need I say more?

(they have other stuff too, but we rarely manage to pull ourselves away from the drinking shot of chocolate!)

PS. Unless you are a chocoholic, one drinking shot can be easily shared by two people. If you need more, get another! :)

(outdoor seating is in the alley, so covered, also a little squashed sometimes)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank egrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Hi guys, Thanks for stopping by again and thanks for your kind review, much appreciated, Take care,
Ross/Owner/Chokolait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chokolait Hub also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Chokolait Hub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing