We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The chocolate here is to die for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chokolait Hub

Chokolait Hub
Ranked #5 of 83 Dessert in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $11
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: One of Melbourne's most highly acclaimed chocolate salons serving genuine Belgian chocolate beverages, desserts and of course chocolates.Family owned with most products made in our own on-site kitchen with artisan care and fine attention to detail. Warm, relaxed and friendly and open virtually every day of the year and located near major department stores near the Bourke Street Mall in central Melbourne.
Patong, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The chocolate here is to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

What an amazing place that i happened to stumble across on a trip to Melbourne last month!
We had the mud cake and the mousse, which were both beautifully presented and tasted amazing...

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alainthered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
HI, thanks for stopping by during your visit to beautiful Melbourne town, we are very pleased you enjoyed the Mousse and Mud cake and thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, much appreciated,
Regards, Ross/Owner/Chokolait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    80
    24
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great service, great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

The hot chocolate is amazing!! Delicious, thick, hot...The mousse cake is to die for...The pavlova cake is heaven. The staff are really nice as well!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Justine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Hi Justine, Thanks for your very kind review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your Chokolait experience with us and we hope to see you again soon.
Ross/Owner/Chokolait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
319 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Delicious warm mud cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I had a warm mud cake here which was amazing, with some green tea. Although pricy i did notice their chocolate was of a amazing quality, as i tend to only consume dark chocolate.
Its a shame they are located in a less than great location, some of their surrounding shops really make the location appeal far less than it should be.
I would definitely return though.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Farnaz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
HI and thanks for your kind review, we try constantly to have the shops around us improve their presentation but unfortunately we are not getting a lot of co-operation so we have to focus on what we do and make sure we do it consistently well so your comments on our Mud cake are much appreciated.
Take care,
Ross/Owner/Chokolait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Best hot chocolate ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

This has become our go-to place whenever we are in the CBD, which lately has been every weekend!

Chokolait is a hidden gem and well worth looking for. If there is a long line, just wait it out- it is worth it!

They have the BEST hot chocolate in all of Melbourne and probably in all of Australia. Possible even in all of the world! No joke. This is what hot chocolate is supposed to be: rich, creamy, decadent.

I also have to recommend the warm chocolate mud cake. Unlike most cafe cakes, which are dried out and tasteless, this cake is the moistest, sweetest, most scrumptious cake ever. It is very rich, so we usually share one, but I could probably manage to eat a whole one myself because it is just so good I can't stop shovelling it in my mouth. I even had to take my coat to the dry cleaners the other week because I had been too enthusiastic about stuffing my face with warm mud cake. That's how good it was. I sacrificed my favourite white coat for that cake.

The only negative thing I can say is that there is one girl there who has terrible math skills. After being charged different prices on different occasions for the same items, we now double check what we have been charged. It doesn't happen often, just when this one particular girl is ringing up the register (I don't know her name), but we still always know before ordering what the total should be so that we don't accidentally get overcharged. Aside from that little flaw, the staff is great and the owner is a very personable, friendly guy.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jae B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
HI and thanks for your very positive review, sorry to hear about your coat but in the chocolate world that can only be a good thing, also, thanks very much for bringing to my attention the "math girl", we will review carefully with all our staff to ensure this annoying issue is resolved.

We make all our cakes on site and our kitchen is constantly working to ensure our cakes are the freshest and most delicious at all times so your kind comments are also much appreciated by our Chefs.

Kind regards and hope to see you and your coat again soon,

Ross/Owner/Chokolait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Amazing!!! xxx”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

First time purchasing a hot chocolate from Chokolait!
Best one i have had so far, very hot and well worth the money, definitely would go back again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chloe b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
HI, thanks for taking the time to post a review about our hot chockie, we are very pleased your enjoyed your Chokolait experience and we hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards,
Ross/Owner/Chokolait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chokolait Hub also viewed

 
 

Been to Chokolait Hub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing