We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hot chocolate!”
Review of Chokolait Hub

Chokolait Hub
Ranked #9 of 105 Dessert in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Takeout
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: One of Melbourne's most highly acclaimed chocolate salons serving genuine Belgian chocolate beverages, desserts and of course chocolates.Family owned with most products made in our own on-site kitchen with artisan care and fine attention to detail. Warm, relaxed and friendly and open virtually every day of the year and located near major department stores near the Bourke Street Mall in central Melbourne.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I have only had hot chocolate here but everytime I cone into the city I have to come here for a hot chocolate. One of the best in Melbourne.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Dreamy_Angel_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

Hi and thanks very much for your very kind review, it is much appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again soon for another Chokolait experience,

Take care,
Ross/Owner/Chokolait

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 170 of 401 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2013

Great that you can pick how hot on a scale from 1 to 10 you want your hot chocolate. Even when busy they smile and look after you. Great place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2013

HI and thanks, smiley here, glad you enjoyed your Chilli hot chocolate, there are great especially through the colder months so better rush back before we move into summer mode, Iced chocolate, fresh strawberry, banana etc, yummo.

Take care,
Ross/Owner/Chokolait

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was a chocolate place a friend brought my wife and I to recently in our Melbourne trip. It was amazing! The whole experience was really worth it.

Service - Amazing friendly service from everyone on staff. They were always smiling and very helpful to our questions/orders. Flawless. Our friends were regulars at this place and the owner was chatting with them. He is such a cool owner :D

Food - Only tried the drinks here. I got the chocolate affogato (hot dark chocolate with a scoop of vanilla ice-cream) which was heavenly. I'm not normally a sweet-tooth person but this was amazing. Chocolate was the right sweetness and the ice-cream complimented it nicely. My wife had the cinnamon dark chocolate and she loved it too.

Value - Not too expensive considering what the quality was so definitely good value for money.

Atmosphere - Nice little cafe shop and the decors were simple but fits the whole setting. Kinda like a cafe in Paris or Milan for sure.

Overall - A great place to have chocolate drink and if you love/like chocolate, this place would be like heaven for you :) Would return for sure.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MJJC_1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

HI KK girl, I know where that is 'cause I have been there, thanks for your very generous review and we are very pleased everyone enjoyed their Chokolait experience with us, hope to see you again one day, Take care, Ross/Owner/Chokolait

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Melbourne has a lot of chocolate cafes, many very good like Koko Black, Max Brenner and more. This one is the best overall IMO. A range of chocolate drinks are available spanning Belgian milk through many flavours like the jaffa orange, cinnamon and chilli. Cold variants exist as well. the quality of chocolate used is excellent as are the available selection of sweets. The dark jaffa orange hot choc is a wonder to behold. The obscure location and the fact that this is not a franchise really adds to the experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank legrandfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

HI and thanks for your very kind review, we are a little hidden but that makes us work harder to ensure every visit from every customer is a memorable experience so thanks for taking the time to write your review, much appreciated, Take care, Ross/Owner/Chokolait

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Back to Chokolait for another fondue and it is always yummy. Chilli hot chocolate, cinnamon hot chocolate and coffees were all great. This place is a must-do on our trips to Melbourne for a reason and never fails to impress.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank iloveholidays077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

HI Holiday girl, thanks for your kind review and we are very pleased that you enjoyed yet another Chokolait experience with us, Take care, see you next time, Kind regards, Ross/Owner/Chokolait

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chokolait Hub also viewed

 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Chokolait Hub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing