We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chocolate experience in Melbourne”
Review of Chokolait Hub

Chokolait Hub
Ranked #10 of 106 Dessert in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: One of Melbourne's most highly acclaimed chocolate salons serving genuine Belgian chocolate beverages, desserts and of course chocolates.Family owned with most products made in our own on-site kitchen with artisan care and fine attention to detail. Warm, relaxed and friendly and open virtually every day of the year and located near major department stores near the Bourke Street Mall in central Melbourne.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best chocolate experience in Melbourne”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

It's a big call I know, but if I want to spoil myself with decadent chocolate drinks or food, this is my first preference. There are other great chocolate cafes in Melbourne, but none are as great as this. I was introduced to this venue by a fellow student some years ago, and now it's my friends and family's special event chocolate stop, or the comfort chocolate stop when nothing else but chocolate will soothe the soul.

Once you find this place you will always remember it fondly. Although it may not appear in your dreams, it will definitely find a place in your soul, tongue and stomach.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hi Bluebec, Thanks very much for your kind review and of course your visits to our Chokolait Heaven, we hope to see you again soon, take care, Ross/Owner/Chokolait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    81
    27
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Unreasonable rules - the next "Soup Nazi"??”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We bought a small packet of macarons on Easter Sunday & sought a place to sit down & enjoy them with a cup of coffee. We chose Chokolait. When they brought the drinks to our table the waitress saw my daughter photographing & facebooking her macarons & told us we we not permitted to consume external food. I politely pointed out that we had already purchased items at their store & as they did not sell macarons themselves, we were not bringing in competing products. In addition I explained my daughter was photographing the macarons - not eating them. I was told she was allowed to take a picture but not allowed to eat! The waitress invoked a rule written on a sign in the store (too small for us to have noticed, evidently.) This was not only an unreasonable but seemingly selective rule as a family at the table behind us sat down and ate several "external" macarons without recrimination. Very poor and disappointing Chokolait!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FOSTERSAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi thanks for your review but unfortunately you have used language in the subject title that is very offensive and racist. We do have a very large sign on our door and on our register advising guests that external food is not allowed and this policy is very common in the hospitality industry for the reasons most fair and reasonable people would understand and respect.
Regards, Ross Harvey/Owner/Chokolait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

We came half an hour before they were meant to open but the lovely worker let us in and served us. We had one iced dark chocolate one milk, one Jaffa and one chili hot chocolate. All the drinks were to die for, find this place if you're in Melbourne it's definitely worth a visit or two.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RachelR33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hi Rachel, Thanks for your review, the "lovely worker" was probably the Missus, Marianna, in the early morning I am usually in the Kitchen cooking our "World famous" Chokolait Pavlova and many other goodies, Take care and we hope to see you again soon, even early is ok, if the door is open, we are open, Take care, Ross/Owner/Chokolait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“OMG”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Oooohhhhh yeah! Feed the man chocolate! This place is to die for. We had iced chocolates, one milk chocolate and one white chocolate. They were superb. We also had a chocolate pavlova, world famous apparently. Certainly good enough to be. It wasnt sickly sweet like pav can be. Layers of thin meringue with rich chocolate spread in between, covered in double cream and strawberries. Fantastic. This place is worth finding!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Redaussie8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Hi Redaussie, thanks for your review and comment on the "world famous" Chokolait Pavlova, spread the word and one day I won't have to say, "world famous" just, world famous, take care, Ross/Owner/Chokolait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An absolute must to try out!”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

This place is a chocolate lovers dream, you can taste the rawness of the Belgian chocolate in everything, especially the mousse which was very fluffy and rich but not over sweet, so you could enjoy spoonful after spoonful. Very decadent and worth the walk to find it. An experience to remember.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J99CritiQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
HI J99. thanks for your review, we are very happy that you enjoyed your Chokolait experience with us and we hope to see you again soon, Take care, Ross/Owner/Chokolait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chokolait Hub also viewed

 

Been to Chokolait Hub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing