We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To Die For”
Review of Chokolait Hub

Chokolait Hub
Ranked #10 of 105 Dessert in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: One of Melbourne's most highly acclaimed chocolate salons serving genuine Belgian chocolate beverages, desserts and of course chocolates.Family owned with most products made in our own on-site kitchen with artisan care and fine attention to detail. Warm, relaxed and friendly and open virtually every day of the year and located near major department stores near the Bourke Street Mall in central Melbourne.
bunbury
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“To Die For”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Don't try everything all at one visit....Everything sounded delicious to try. (Ended up having to ask for take-away)
Must have the Jaffa Hot Chocolate!!!
Mud cake & icecream superb.
Chocolate Pavalova is a must as well.
Not easy to find - down a little arcade.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank 4knotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
HI Bunbury gang, thanks for taking the trouble to write, much appreciated and we are very pleased you enjoyed you Chokolait experience, hope to see you again soon, Take care, Ross/Owner.Chokolait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    81
    27
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“Did I Miss Something?”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We were in town a couple of weeks ago and decided to checkout Chokolait Hub for a bit of an afternoon treat. We decided to go for the Chokolait Heaven ($15.50 each) and we both felt it was just OK. The strawberries and Belgian chocolates were nice, but not stunning and neither of us found the mouse to be particularly brilliant. I also had a coffee which wasn't hot enough for my liking - my fault for not mentioning this - so if you like it hot make sure you ask the lady serving who was very pleasant.

I suppose following all the Excellent Tripadvisor Reviews, our expectations were very high and the actual experience didn't meet them. Having said that though, we didn't hate it and would recommend something more basic.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geordielass2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
HI, seems something went "missing", let's go with us, sorry we wern't quite up to your expectations but your review and comments are most appreciated as they keep us on our toes and help us improve wherever possible, I see you are a Melbourne girl so if you get a chance stop by and say hello and we can have a little chit chat about things that go "missing", like my poor little brain at times, we hope to see you again soon, Take care, Ross/Owner/Chokolait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Chocolate mouse cake”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Service was initially poor, but when the owner/chef returned it was very efficient. Chocolate mouse cake was AMAZING.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy_traveltheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Hi Travelling Girl, I remember you from your last review, sorry to hear service was a bit off before I came to the rescue, should't happen so you comments are very helpful, looks like the staff don't get their mouse cake rations this week. Take good care and hope to see you again soon, Ross/Owner/Chokolait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best hot chocolate”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Omg. I go here every time I visit Melbourne. They do the best hot chocolate. I can't decide between their milk or dark hot choc, so I just have to go back for one of each.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank drusinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
HI, thanks for your review, maybe you should try our Super 44, it's not on the menu, only for those who can't decide between milk or dark, Take care and thanks again, Ross/Owner/Chokolait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fab”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Great chocolate treats. Everything we tried was delicious so I don't think you can go wrong. A great place to stop off at for coffee and cake.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnMondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chokstar, Owner at Chokolait Hub, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
HI John and gang, Thanks for your kind review and thanks for writing, much appreciated, Ross/Owner/Chokolait
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chokolait Hub also viewed

 

Been to Chokolait Hub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing