We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delicious, exotic food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maha

Maha
Ranked #10 of 3,633 Restaurants in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $23 - $47
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Innisfail, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“delicious, exotic food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

On our first trip to Melbourne we decided to go to the Maha after watching spice journey on SBS. WOW!!! From the moment we walked down the restaurant steps we felt welcomed by the friendly and attentive staff. We decided on the 4 course soufra meal. Yum.Delicious. Loved the smoked hummus, olive bread, slow cooked lamb etc... This restaurant is amazing. If you're in melbourne, do yourself a favour and let your taste buds enjoy the flavours of the Maha restaurant. Well done Shane Delia and staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anniebb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneDelia, Owner at Maha, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi anniebb41,
Thank you for choosing to dine at Maha when you were in Melbourne recently! I'm so glad that you were able to experience Maha first hand after watching my Spice Journey series on SBS. It's always so humbling to read when someone has enjoyed their Maha experience so much. I hope that you can visit us again soon when you're next in Melbourne for another Spice Journey of your own! Thanks for taking the time to share your review. Cheers, Shane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    656
    191
    69
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Food was good but serving does not justify price, particularly when service was lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

We were a party of 5 and ordered the Souffra banquet at $75 per head. Whilst quality of food was good, quantity was lacking. The desert was the most generous serving but everything from entree to main was basically a bite each.
Service was perhaps most disappointing. Earlier in the evening before restaurant got busy, we at least got some attention. Once it got busier our water & wine was never topped up once without us directly asking for it to be done.
Whilst we did not leave hungry and overall, it wasn't a bad evening, it did not live up to reputation or price tag.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Hollytd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneDelia, Owner at Maha, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi Hollytd,
It's always disappointing to read when we have fallen short of your expectations. I always welcome feedback both positive and negative, as I think it's a great way to continually improve what we offer. I am sorry to read that on this occasion you did not fully enjoy your experience and I will be sure to pass your comments on to my team. I appreciate you taking the time to post your review and hope that we can welcome you back one day to show you the true hospitality that is Maha.
Thanks, Shane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
164 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had been enjoying dishes from the Maha cookbook prepared by our friends, so thought we had better go there and see them prepared by the professionals. We thought the whole experience was wonderful. We were greeted by the friendly staff and shown to our table in the warm and inviting dining room.
After a saffron martini (lovely), we had the four course shared menu. This included hot and cold mezze, several main courses, salads and dessert. Great value and tons of food. There were many highlights but amongst our favourites were the walnut dip with duck and figs, the kingfish cerviche, the slow cooked lamb, the salad of ancient grains, the spinach borek - and the dessert platter. There were a few things we didn't love as much as the others, but it was an experience of different tastes, textures and spices that we loved. We also had a bottle of Chablis that went perfectly with the spicy food. We can't wait to go back - or try to recreate some of the recipes from our new book!.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AussieJulesW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneDelia, Owner at Maha, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Hi AussieJulesW,
Great to hear that not only was your whole Maha experience wonderful, but that you and your friends have been enjoying some Maha dishes from my book! The dishes on our 4 course Soufra menu change regularly so I hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back to Maha soon to take you on another journey of taste, texture and spice! Thanks for taking the time to post your review. Cheers, Shane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I chose Maha for a birthday celebration because I had heard wonderful things about it. I opted for the 6 course meal with matching wines and I think I should have gone for the 4 courses. The 6 was just a bit too much food. The food was amazing. The first course (soup) was incredible. The second course was the least impressive of the whole meal. It was a seafood cous cous - put simply. The rest of the meal was wonderful! I think the portions are just a tiny bit too big (for a 6 course meal). The matching wines were great - however the wine waiter kept spilling wine when he poured it.
Overall it was lovely. I would recommend to others, but there are so many other restaurants in Melbourne that I want to try that I wouldn't go back (just yet).
As a nice little after dinner treat - they have heated outdoor (but covered) seating where you can have a drink and smoke a shisha.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Duckw8211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneDelia, Owner at Maha, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Hi Duckw8211,
Thanks for choosing Maha for your recent birthday celebration! I'm glad that your enjoyed our Latifa menu - the 6 courses certainly is a feast! Thanks for the feedback regarding the wine service, I have passed on your comments to my team. Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Cheers, Shane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Maha brilliance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I asked a very well known restaurant reviewer, who has been a friend for years, where I could take my mother for her birthday. As a vibrant 78 year old we try and make each one memorable for her.
Well my friends recommendation was excellent. As a group of 6 adults we loved the restaurant the minute we walked in for atmosphere, to staff attentiveness, the wines, the Amuse Bouche and the incredible flavours of the food. We ordered a la Carte as an alternative to the 8 course. With attentiveness to food intolerances, even those alternatives were delicious in taste. Shane Delia clearly is passionate about what he does and thanks Matt for the heads up!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Catherine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShaneDelia, Owner at Maha, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi Catherine,
Thanks for choosing to celebrate a special birthday here with us at Maha! I'm so glad we could play a part in making your mothers birthday a memorable one. Thanks for taking the time to post your review. I'm thrilled to read that you enjoyed your Maha experience and that your party enjoyed the alternatives offered for those with food intolerances. I hope to welcome you back to Maha again soon! Thanks, Shane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maha also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Maha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing