We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and terrific location”
Review of YTI Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YTI Garden Hotel
Ranked #143 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed November 13, 2013

In the middle of Melbourne between Chinatown and the main shopping precinct. Reasonably priced, rooms with a basic kitchen area and refurbished bathrooms. Staff helpfull and public transport anywhere within strolling distance. We would definitely stay here again as its a good base to explore all that Melbourne has to offer

Room Tip: Twin rooms may be bigger than doubles.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pittosporum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for YTI Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

147 - 153 of 246 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

I was only there for one night, room was quite small, but high ceiling helped to keep it from being too small. Bed was extremely comfortable. Bathroom was fantastic size, bigger than some of the more expensive hotels I have stayed in, and all new. even had a retractable clothes line. Pleasant and helpful staff, room was ready couple hours early for me which was great. easy to find dinner/breakfast etc in hardware lane, really close to bourke street etc. Only thing that concerned me was they wanted to take a photocopy of my credit card even though I had already paid for the room - to ask this is actually against federal finance regulations (I've worked in the business travel area previously).

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janelle79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

I recently spent two nights here with my mum for Melbourne cup, we loved it, right in the middle of the shopping district, trams everywhere and we loved it. The rooms a simple but fantastic bathrooms, huge showers and all bran new, would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Located in little bourke street, a two minute walk to bourke street, and right on top of hardware lane, the rooms are basic, but clean and modern. Would stay here again. Convince plus.bistros around the corner in hardware lane and the main tram line 2 minutes away in bourke street. No need to rent a car.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobCentralCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The hotel is small but very clean and tidy. Pleasant staff greeted me in a friendly way when checking in very early - my room was immediately available despite it being only 9.00 am and I could drop my bag in my room which was great - not many hotels let you do this even if your room is ready! Room was more than suitable for an overnight - modern and very clean bathroom. The hotel is right near Hardware Lane with heaps of cafes, restaurants, pubs and bars to pick from and a walk down Little Bourke St will see you in Chinatown. Close by major melbourne shopping such a Melbourne Central and Bourke St Mall. And if you come in from the airport by Skybus be sure to use the courtesy bus to get a free transfer to and from the hotel.

Room Tip: Most rooms are towards the rear of the hotel are better - try to ask for one away from the lift.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The City Garden Hotel was was tidy and clean. The rooms were fresh and modern, though definitely on the small side. We had a comfortable stay, and the staff were friendly.
The hotel is very central, and also has the option of cheap, close parking.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winterblossom92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Yes- One can't get any closer to the city staying in City Garden Hotel - value wise it is the best I reckon. Nothing flush - just a nice homely spacious room for relax and ready to roll the for the next day. Right at the street of Chinatown if you love Chinese Food. Have a go!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sistema888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#116 of 160 in Melbourne
1,183 reviews
Central Business District
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
#110 of 160 in Melbourne
444 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#118 of 160 in Melbourne
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#136 of 160 in Melbourne
1,354 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Riverside Apartments
Central Business District
The Great Southern Hotel
The Great Southern Hotel
#135 of 160 in Melbourne
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YTI Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YTI Garden Hotel

Address: 378 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly City Garden Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: $70 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — YTI Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, giving you easy access to all that Melbourne City has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your YTI Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing