We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great Location, Good 31/2 star hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of YTI Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
YTI Garden Hotel
Ranked #134 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Location, Good 31/2 star hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed in a Deluxe Studio Apartment May 7-10, and would definitely come here again. This is a solid 3 1/2 star property, the rooms although could do with a touch up of paint, the staff couldn't have been more cheerful and helpful, The location was not noisy, and slept with the window open throughout our stay. If you want good budget accommodation in the CBD don't overlook this property. Also great dinning options for all just steps away..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dor15z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    79
    71
    32
    21
See reviews for
34
61
31
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Devonport, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

2 nights.
Requested disabled room, which was an effort and a half to get to with a motorised scooter. Bathroom floor was grotty with black grimy marks all over particularly around the sink hole. A regular bleaching would of fixed this.
A park bench would have been more comfortable than the hard bed. Seriously hardest bed i ever come across. the foam topper did nothing to help the firmness i requested extra pillows to lay on. These were bought to the room quickly.
Minimal milk in the fridge, tea and coffee hadnt been topped up as there was no coffee sachets..
I wrote to management but got no response.
Very disappointed considering the room my sister and brother had in another hotel or only $20 extra.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneilC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed in a premium apartment May 8-20, 2013. I would definitely come here again if I were coming to Mel. Although the rooms aren't the greatest, the staff couldn't have been more helpful, with moving our luggage in and out, recommendations for dining or information on where to find groceries, pharmacy, money change, etc. Now the downside. The beds are indeed pretty hard (I brought a pad which helped a great deal; my daughter likes a hard bed). The lighting is pretty dim, and the kitchen facilities are minimal (no oven , no microwave in room). The location was not noisy, except on Wednesday nights when it sounded like they were rolling bottles down the street - probably just the recycling pickup, though. It is located on a narrow one-way street, which is a GOOD thing, as traffic is at a minimum. If you don't like city noises, don't stay in the city, folks! As for dodgy elevator, bad smells, damp rooms, there was NONE of that. Look, folks, this is not a 5-star hotel nor does it attempt to be one. Quit your whining and enjoy life a little. I will repeat again - the staff were WONDERFUL. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else. This hotel promises alot on its website but the reality is something all together different. The Modern Hotel Room turned out to be a small cramped excuse for a room that did not even have a window! When a complaint was made they offered to move me to another room, but that turned out to be just as nasy and small and while it did have a window, the noise from the lane way below was already loud at 6pm. I could not stand it so cut my losses and went onto Wotif and got a lovely big studio room at the apartment hotel just around the corner for $20 more than I paid for the Garden Hotel room... Lesson learned, I should have booked there in the first place.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank targangil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Melbourne hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Bed is hard as rock barely sleepable! Tv is so small room is small cracked windows such a disappointment to my holiday away! As for the location it's good but that's it. In an alley way which is noisy do yourself a favour and don't stay here!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roses116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

The location of this "hotel" is fantastic, right in the middle of the CBD and close to Hardware Lane. Sadly that is where the good stops. To get to your rooms you travel in a small, noisy and dodgy elevator, the floor I was on and the room I was given smelt so badly of cigarette smoke and damp. The rooms are very rundown and shabby, the walls are scuffed and marked and dirty. The window in the room was cracked. The room faced an alleyway and was extremely noisy all through the night. The bed was rock hard and on inspection was a piece of well used foam on a dodgy mattress/ base. The tv was slightly bigger than a postage stamp, and could get 3 channels, the remote only worked within 30 cm of the tv. Service was non existant and I moved hotels the next day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ABC123709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

me and my girlfriend stayed there for one night, room was nice, but way to small then the introduce on there website.
the room smelt abit off when we got inside, there was no drinks or foods inside the fridge for choice of purchase, the tv only receives analog tv which i thought was very poor, not to mention the tv is only about 15" .

we asked for a queen sized bed but instead they put us in a room with a double. bathroom was a very tight squeeze too.
windows very thin, and drunken crowds come through the alley way next too the hotel , even with the windows closed it was very loud.
room was clean, and bathroom

the good side was it was close to everything and public transport. i wouldn't recommend it for people who are seeking a big room, only for those who are traveling or dont mind staying in a small room

Room Tip: only stay if you want to be traveling or if its just a place to crash back at after a night out in m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jesse H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#112 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#110 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Central Business District
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
Naughtons Parkville Hotel
#113 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#142 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#97 of 157 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#138 of 157 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YTI Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YTI Garden Hotel

Property: YTI Garden Hotel
Address: 378 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000 , Australia (Formerly City Garden Hotel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 157 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — YTI Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your YTI Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing