We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy and Central” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Garden Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
City Garden Hotel
Ranked #126 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Western Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Cosy and Central”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

We stayed at the Leo Pacific (now called the City Garden) for four days to celebrate our daughter's 21st birthday in Melbourne. There were three of us in our room, quite small but clean and comfortable. The bathroom was modern, the water hot, the towels thick and white...although there was a cracked window that needed replacing. The walls are thin but we weren't disturbed by others and the noise in the street was also minimal. The hotel is central to fantastic restaurants, cafes and various transport options. The staff were polite, helpful and friendly. They didn't bat an eyelid when my daughter spilt her juice all over the floor (so sorry) just as our Jetbus driver was rushing us out to his van for the airport. All in all, it was a well run budget hotel that was great to bustle into and relax after a hectic day (or night) in Melbourne. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerry2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    72
    64
    29
    19
See reviews for
29
58
25
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

The hotel was very close to everyhting, great restaurants and bars in the closest lane. could have done with a proper exhaust fan and a coat of paint in the room but the bed was very comfy. we didnt seem to experience as much noise as some of the other reviews, could have been because we were on the top floor.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swimmergirl_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

While overall the hotel is basic, we enjoyed our 3 days and will definitely return. The rooms are clean and functional - albeit a little small. As highlighted by some other reviewers street noise late at night (from garbage trucks and general city life) is loud at times and the rooms would benefit from some double glazing. However the room was clean and well serviced, reception staff very friendly and helpful and the bed, while firm, was sufficient for 3 good nights' sleep. The major bonus is the location - you will not get a better spot in the city for the price.

Room Tip: Look for something towards the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GandM_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

This hotel is within easy walking distance of most central business district attractions and for the price it was good value. It was a little hard to find with only a small entrance. The service was good and the rooms comfortable with their own little kitchenette, everything was clean and tidy but don't expect any views, our view overlooked a narrow alley and rooms at front look over narrow street, that's the price you pay for the good location .

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lemaltan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

Certainly not the best hotel I have stayed at, but facilities were adequate.
Beds VERY hard though, TV the size of a computer screen, and shower was not fully closed in so water went all over the floor.
When I asked for a blanket for the bed as the quilt was too hot, I was looked at a bit strangely by the staff!
Kitchenette was okay and generally it was quiet so sleeping wasn't really a problem.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichiMet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

Checked in with a friend for an overnight stay. We had booked two single beds which was somehow changed to a queen on arrival. After they made us wait for 20 mins at reception, and repeatedly asking if we wanted to have the queen bedding, they decided to 'just put us in another room'.
The rooms are clean but the bathroom is well oversized considering the sleeping arrangement was very squishy.
The hotel is well secured and there was always someone at the front desk. The room was clean on arrival and all appliances worked fine.
For the price and value of the room ($140 weekend rate) i wouldn't stay there again, purely because there are much nicer, roomier hotels in the same proximity, and they often have complimentary breaky.

Room Tip: Late checkout was no hassle when we requested at last minute
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meganthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margaret River, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Room was clean, well set out and bed good. Only problem was the noise on Friday and Saturday nights ( we stayed 4 nights). it seemed to echo down from rooms upstairs via open shaft area, it wasn't as bad with the window shut, but did go on until 2am. Would stay again but certainly not over a weekend.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#119 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
Central Business District
Causeway Inn On The Mall
Causeway Inn On The Mall
#103 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 515 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Sophia
Hotel Sophia
#132 of 156 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#129 of 156 in Melbourne
3.0 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
Central Business District
Hotel Ibis Melbourne Little Bourke Street
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#98 of 156 in Melbourne
3.5 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Garden Hotel

Property: City Garden Hotel
Address: 378 Little Collins St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly Leo Pacific Hotel)
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 156 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your City Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing