We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just When You Think Your Favourite Place Couldn't Get Better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RACV City Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Melbourne
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
RACV City Club
Save
You added RACV City Club to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Echuca
Level Contributor
191 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Just When You Think Your Favourite Place Couldn't Get Better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

It's been awhile since my wife and I lodged here for a weekend. Circumstances were such that my wife was coming in from Hobart and I was coming down from the Murray River on a Sunday and we needn't be home until Tuesday. When I phoned to make a booking I was informed that there was a 'special' on which mean the second night was 50% off! Excellent.
I asked if it were possible to be put in one of the new rooms and was instantly given one of the King Deluxe rooms and when I arrived the desk made sure I was aware that room was only accessible by a certain bank of elevators; that there were complimentary canapés and drinks in the evening; and that we could enjoy a continental breakfast up there rather than going down to the main area in the mornings. Life just got a whole lot better!
We couldn't be more pleased or impressed with our accommodation and the 'extras' and it has sharpened our resolve to get down to Melbourne a little more often.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatTheCoffeeFiend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    41
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
40
59
7
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
298 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

We attended a sporting club function /luncheon for 400 people on the 17th level. The main course ( alternate placement ) was (1) pan fried chicken supreme and (2 ) herb crusted lamb rump followed by glazed lemon tart. The meal was perfect and the service could not be faulted. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

Very helpful front office staff even though my room was cancell due to my mistake. The room is big and very clean. It is very near to the tram line and the stop is less then 20 meters away. Friendly coffee house staff make me feel like home. I will come back to this hotel on the next trip. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank MatNoq61
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My husband had stayed at the RACV City Club (he's the member) previously, but this was the first time we've stayed there as a family (2 adults + one 8yo). The central city location is the best part about the Club, easy walking distance to the Burke St Mall, trams virtually at the front door, tourist shuttle bus around the corner, even walking distance to Southbank & the Casino. The room we had (5th floor) was spacious with 2 double beds (altho we found the mattresses too soft), so enough space for three of us and the bathroom was well equipped and plenty of amenities supplied (soaps, shampoo, hairdryer, tea/coffee making etc). However, the towels and sheets had obviously seen better days, in fact one set of sheets was threadbare with holes!! When we booked the info we received indicated "wi-fi in all rooms", this was not accurate. "Some rooms" have wi-fi, not all, and whilst there is access in the public areas, the connection is slow and not always reliable. The breakfast buffet was well stocked but the coffee was terrible, that is when you could actually get a waiter/waitress to serve it – really let down the overall experience. Evening drinks and dinner in the restaurant was good value, well serviced and child friendly. Big high-5 goes to the Concierge Desk staff who were always friendly, extremely helpful (with luggage etc) and ready to provide info on everything from the nearest post office to which tram/train/bus to catch to wherever!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveltarts1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The RACV Club remains a high standard accommodation and entertainment facility. The rooms are large and comfortable, clean and very usable. TV is now out of date and movies way too expensive. We stayed Friday and the room/breakfast/car park package was excellent value. We arrived early afternoon parked but did not check in. Went for a walk around town returning at about 4pm. Had a couple of drinks in the Carbine Bar, which is a really good relaxing area, checked in and went out for a function. On return had room service meals which were very good value and quality and had a good comfortable nights sleep. Rooms are ready for an update but totally acceptable. It is a club and some of the dress rules are up there but you know where you stand so this should not be an issue.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Well situated and versatile as members we have stayed here for years.
The rooms are good but becoming a little dated and gloomy, some colour would be good rather than corporate brown. Great shower but the towels are small thin and very worn looking. Included breakfast is good but the coffee continues to be un drinkable. Wi Fi is only available in public areas, this is un acceptable now days as the club is becoming quite expensive. The art collection is fantastic.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
135 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Attended a conference in RACV City Club Melbourne and stayed in their hotel accomodation. The rooms were large and beds comfortable. The bonus was the gym and pool. The gym was large by most 5 star hotel standards. Plenty of pulley machines and free weights. The 25 meter pool was crowded at peak training but avoid this and you are fine. Definitely the place to stay if you want to maintain your fitness or training whilst in the CBD.

Room Tip: Keep to the lower floors. Hotel has a 2 lift system and higher floors have a longer ride.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitfun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 1,352 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#4 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 4,508 reviews
Central Business District
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#14 of 157 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 stars 3,240 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RACV City Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RACV City Club

Property: RACV City Club
Address: Racv Club Members Only | 501 Bourke St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RACV City Club is one of two outstanding RACV Club properties and is conveniently positioned in the heart of Melbourne's CBD at 501 Bourke Street. For an overnight stay, a weekend away, a short break or a holiday, the City Club has a range of accommodation options to suit your needs. There are 136 large and spacious rooms including suites, family suites, doubles, twins and interconnecting rooms for families. A full buffet breakfast, free internet and valet car parking is included in room rates. The impressive RACV City Club caters for the social, leisure and business needs of all Club members. A range of stylish dining venues and entertainment options make the City Club the perfect place to celebrate a special occasion or to enjoy a coffee, social drink, business lunch or intimate dinner. Membership of the private RACV Club is separate to other types of RACV membership, which can include RACV Emergency Roadside Assistance and RACV Insurance. Only members of the private RACV Club can book accommodation at the RACV City or Healesville properties. RACV Club members pay an annual membership fee which enables members to book accommodation for themselves, their family, friends and guests at both RACV Club locations and to access a range of other Club dining, lifestyle and recreation facilities. RACV Club membership is available to anyone through a nomination process and full details about how to become an RACV Club member are available on the RACV website. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Racv City Club Hotel Melbourne
Racv City Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing