We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best backpackers in Australia.”
Review of Urban Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Urban Central
Ranked #30 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Probably the best backpackers in Australia.”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Been traveling for 3 years and this is easily the best backpackers I have stayed in. It's the whole package, rooms are very clean and spacious, staff are very friendly and helpful, facilities are second to none, the bar is great and always has very good drinks promos and bar games and above all friendly staff and to top it off the location is perfect. I would recommend this hostel as a must for anyone planning to visit Melbourne.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Wow, thank you for your great review of Urban Central. I'm so pleased to hear you liked our rooms, facilities, location, bar and awesome staff. Our staff work hard to ensure everyone has a great stay with us and they will be very happy to read your feedback. Thank you for choosing to stay with Urban Central and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    154
    60
    19
    30
See reviews for
19
59
122
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Urban Central is a good place to stay, is not so close of the city center but if you like to walk you will enjoy. Great room, free breakfast, friendly environment, helpfull staff. They have a bar and happy hour every day.
You can have breakfast in MacDonald's (24 hours) right infront of the hostel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flyangel_K8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I'm pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us. As we are located on the south side of the city, the nearest landmarks to us are Southern Cross Station, Etihad Stadium, Exhibition Centre and Crown Entertainment Complex. To get to other parts of the city you can either walk or catch the free City Circle Tram. We think our large four share dorm rooms, free breakfast, daily happy hour in our bar and helpful staff are awesome as well. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Stayed at Urban Central in dec 2009 for the first time and had a great time and no complaints. Fast forward four years later and: hello disappointment. I booked online in advance but when my travelplans changed I contacted them via e-mail that they claimed they never recieved. I've heard this excuse in Australia many times and I begin to wonder if e-mails work at all in that country. It always works when you're making a booking or a payment, but if you want to make changes, complaints or have questions no-one is there to answer. It's never a problem in the rest of the world. Anyway, this meant that we had to pay for an entire week extra which cost us hundreds of dollars. We could have spent the same sum of money to stay in a five star hotel. The double-room we stayed in was quite spacious but full of bugs... We got a new room though, and it was ok. Staff in reception was helpful but cleaning staff came in to our room several times without knocking and cleaned even though we asked for privacy and lost one of my most precious jewellry... I'll never ever stay at UC again. Terrible.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sriyaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback about your recent stay with us. I'm glad to hear that you found our reception staff helpful. I'm disappointed to hear that your private room had bugs in it. Unfortunately, try as we may, it is extremely difficult to control what our guests bring with them when travelling from place to place. I hope you enjoyed your new room and housekeeping entering your room on a daily basis to clean, didn't put you out too much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plympton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Fab location, discounts offered for places within the area such as mcdonalds, great for backpackers. Stuff going on every night, like the bar quiz which was fun. The kitchen is great cause there's free food and also always clean. It has a good atmosphere in the place and the place is generally neat and tidy. Helpful and happy staff. Only problem we had was that during the melbourne heatwave - the air con wasn't working in our room and we had no windows!! massive let down cause it was 28 degrees at night, couldn't sleep.. but all in all, great place..

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EFEE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your great review of Urban Central. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere and the different events going on in our bar. I've passed on your comments to our staff as they work hard to ensure our guests have a fantastic stay in a happy and clean environment. The heat wave in Melbourne kept most of the city awake that week, we have checked all of our air conditioners and are hoping that the next heat wave stays in the 30's. Thanks again and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I spent 5 nights in Urban Central in Melbourne and it was great. It's fairly central, there's a Woolworths and Aldi 10 on foot and you can walk into the center of Melbourne.
The beds are very comfortable, the showers are good, everything is very clean and the personnel is very helpful and nice.

I can absolutely recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, its great to hear you had a comfortable stay. We also think our staff are helpful and nice, I'll pass on your comments in our next meeting. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here on noumerous occasions and never had any issues. Price is reasonable, place is clean, and rooms are somewhat spacious compared to other backpackers worldwide.

The only issue I had this time was poor staff attitude. I have never had this issue before but unfortunately it is worth mentioning.

However I will continue to return for now as I think this is a minor issue compared to how good Urban Central ranks to other backpackers I've stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for returning to Urban Central and taking the time to send us your feedback. It's great to hear you like our spacious and clean four share dorm rooms at a great price. Thanks again for your review and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have been here over a month and intend on staying a couple more months.
The good points are:
1. Bedrooms have only 4 people in, they are spacious, clean, sheets changed every week, really big lockers!
2. Bathrooms are nice and clean
3. Good selection of movies even though they are VHS
4. In general, staff friendly and helpful
5. Opportunities to do things round the hostel for free accommodation which some people reallt maximise on

Bad things:
1. Kitchen is always crowded and other people don't clean their dishes but not uc's fault
2. Bar isn't great.... Good prices, entertainment not the best.
3. One man in the kitchen is absolutely horrible, he makes accusations about people not cleaning when they have, talks about his sex life and his infections while others are cooking.... And in general creeps on girls.

Would recommend staying here definitely. Rates are pretty reasonable I would say to book well in advance to secure weekly rate.
Oh and travel desk are most helpful if required

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, General Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Holiday606,

Thank you very much for taking the time and consideration in making this response. I am very pleased to read that your stay here has been extremely successful, even to the point you intend on staying longer! We take great pride on our cleanliness here, and find it very welcoming to see that this has been noticed by yourself as well as numerous other guests.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you enjoy the remainder or your time here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#103 of 159 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 136 in Melbourne
535 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#9 of 136 in Melbourne
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Home at The Mansion
#48 of 136 in Melbourne
118 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#19 of 136 in Melbourne
411 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#33 of 136 in Melbourne
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Central

Property: Urban Central
Address: 334 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Urban Central 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban Central is ideally located in Melbourne's vibrant Southbank adjacent to the famous Crown Casino. The city is a 10 minute walk and with public transport on our doorstep, St Kilda is only a 10 minute tram ride away. Shopping around Urban Central is located close to local cafes, shops and the famous South Melbourne Market. If you enjoy good coffee and eateries Southbank restaurants overlooking The Yarra River are 5 min stroll from Urban Central. On the way to visit Port Melbourne beach you could pick up a bargain at Direct Factory Outlet about a 10 minute from our accommodation venue. Stay, Play at Urban Central! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Urban Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Central Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing