We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good!”
Review of Urban Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Urban Central
Ranked #30 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Bondi, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good!”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

I spent 5 nights in Urban Central in Melbourne and it was great. It's fairly central, there's a Woolworths and Aldi 10 on foot and you can walk into the center of Melbourne.
The beds are very comfortable, the showers are good, everything is very clean and the personnel is very helpful and nice.

I can absolutely recommend this place!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for your feedback, its great to hear you had a comfortable stay. We also think our staff are helpful and nice, I'll pass on your comments in our next meeting. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    154
    60
    19
    30
See reviews for
19
59
122
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed here on noumerous occasions and never had any issues. Price is reasonable, place is clean, and rooms are somewhat spacious compared to other backpackers worldwide.

The only issue I had this time was poor staff attitude. I have never had this issue before but unfortunately it is worth mentioning.

However I will continue to return for now as I think this is a minor issue compared to how good Urban Central ranks to other backpackers I've stayed in.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for returning to Urban Central and taking the time to send us your feedback. It's great to hear you like our spacious and clean four share dorm rooms at a great price. Thanks again for your review and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have been here over a month and intend on staying a couple more months.
The good points are:
1. Bedrooms have only 4 people in, they are spacious, clean, sheets changed every week, really big lockers!
2. Bathrooms are nice and clean
3. Good selection of movies even though they are VHS
4. In general, staff friendly and helpful
5. Opportunities to do things round the hostel for free accommodation which some people reallt maximise on

Bad things:
1. Kitchen is always crowded and other people don't clean their dishes but not uc's fault
2. Bar isn't great.... Good prices, entertainment not the best.
3. One man in the kitchen is absolutely horrible, he makes accusations about people not cleaning when they have, talks about his sex life and his infections while others are cooking.... And in general creeps on girls.

Would recommend staying here definitely. Rates are pretty reasonable I would say to book well in advance to secure weekly rate.
Oh and travel desk are most helpful if required

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, General Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Holiday606,

Thank you very much for taking the time and consideration in making this response. I am very pleased to read that your stay here has been extremely successful, even to the point you intend on staying longer! We take great pride on our cleanliness here, and find it very welcoming to see that this has been noticed by yourself as well as numerous other guests.

Again, thank you for your review and we hope you enjoy the remainder or your time here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Down, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Myself and a few friends stayed here over the St.Patrick's day weekend as we were going to the F1 Australian Grand Prix. The room was big enough for the four of us and was clean. Breakfast was reasonable, and the location was good, easy to walk to the main attractions. It can get a little noisy at night though!

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors not facing the main road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, General Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Martin1789,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at Urban Central. I hope the Australian Grand Prix was everything you expected it to be (even though Lewis Hamilton never made podium). We relish the fact that major events such as this, as well as several others, are on our door step!

We hope you thoroughly enjoyed the rest of your trip and all the best for the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Room was big and spacious. Location was good, easy to walk to main attractions. Kitchen was cramped and hectic most of the time but there was always someone on duty to keep it clean. Breakfast was reasonable, toast, cereal and juices, but again busy. Free pasta and rice was appreciated. Downsides, we got noisy room mates who came in at all hours and even bought additional night time guests!! Not very pleasant and when I complained, nothing happened. Apparently we couldn't be moved and they weren't prepared to talk to the girls.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, General Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Sophie M,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review regarding your stay with us at Urban Central. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay, and the fact you took full advantage of our complimentary breakfast, pasta and rice! I'm disappointed that your complaint was not dealt with there and then, and this matter has now been raised with our team in order to prevent it from happening again and impacting future guests.

All the best for the future, we hope to see you again soon and thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura, Australia
Level Contributor
152 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This place is really an upmarket backpackers, so if you're after a motel look somewhere else. The room was clean enough but its location on City Road, and next to the Freeway, plus all the backpackers traipsing past the room meant it was incredibly noisy. The price at $155 would have been ok if there were 4 of us (our room had 2 single beds and a bunk) but as a couple was quite expensive for the quality of sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeborahMildura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, General Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear DeborahMildura,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Urban Central. It is pleasing to read that you rate us higher than your average backpackers. Although our hostel is situated next to a freeway, we advise our guests to fully close the room windows and latches, which minimises the noise.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels, and would welcome your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here 3 nights with my pregnant wife in a double room with ensuite. $110 per night. It was comfortable and quiet, perfect for us.

The kitchen wasn't the cleanest, (there were a couple of cockroaches), but they did have someone on duty at meal times to put dishes through a sterilizer and wipe down surfaces, which upped the hygiene considerably. Lots of large fridges, but they didn't seal well, so our food was at room temperature most of the time. The kitchen was well equipped, and though it looked small, it never felt overcrowded.

The bed was very comfortable, bathroom was spacious.

It is 5 min walk to supermarket, and to the vibrant south Melbourne market. 10 min walk to the south bank. There is a bus stop directly outside, to make things even easier!

Urban Central seems like a great place for travellers and solo backpacking too. They hold free social events every night, like bingo, cooking lessons, exercise classes, and beer pong contests.
There is a bar and a reading room as well.

Breakfast is included, and on Monday and Tuesday you can buy dinner for $6 including a free drink.

The staff were pretty terse and unfriendly, but they were helpful.

We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwicritic28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Urban Central. I am pleased to hear read that you enjoyed your stay with us in one of our Double Rooms room at Urban Central was perfect. I am sorry that the kitchen cleanliness that you encountered did not meet your expectations. While we spend much time focusing on cleanliness and hygiene we appreciate feedback from our clients. Urban Central is award winning for its cleanliness so it is unfortunate to hear of your experience. I have passed on your comments to our housekeeping and maintenance departments and will endeavor to get these rectified immediately.

Thanks again for your review, we would love the opportunity to welcome you back to Urban Central again soon.

Regards
Katherine King
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#103 of 159 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 136 in Melbourne
535 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#9 of 136 in Melbourne
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Home at The Mansion
#48 of 136 in Melbourne
118 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#19 of 136 in Melbourne
411 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#33 of 136 in Melbourne
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Central

Property: Urban Central
Address: 334 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Urban Central 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban Central is ideally located in Melbourne's vibrant Southbank adjacent to the famous Crown Casino. The city is a 10 minute walk and with public transport on our doorstep, St Kilda is only a 10 minute tram ride away. Shopping around Urban Central is located close to local cafes, shops and the famous South Melbourne Market. If you enjoy good coffee and eateries Southbank restaurants overlooking The Yarra River are 5 min stroll from Urban Central. On the way to visit Port Melbourne beach you could pick up a bargain at Direct Factory Outlet about a 10 minute from our accommodation venue. Stay, Play at Urban Central! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Urban Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Central Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing