We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Melbourne accomodation with excellent bar”
Review of Urban Central

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Urban Central
Ranked #30 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Alexandra Headland, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Central Melbourne accomodation with excellent bar”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Urban central is a venue that has a variety of accommodation from multi-dorm backpacking to rooms with en-suite. The beauty of the venue is the location and the fantastic bar downstairs where all the various guests mingle and chat.

Room Tip: It depends what you are after but if a group are travelling organise a dorm and split the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadicRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, General Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Tinshed21,

Thank you for this kind review, which is very much appreciated. The art culture around Urban Central, in fact Melbourne as a whole, is spectacular, so we hope we hope you enjoyed getting out and about sightseeing.

All the best for the future, and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    154
    60
    19
    30
See reviews for
19
59
122
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Good value hostel, 4 bed dorms with big lockers that can fit your entire bag and have a plug inside. Clean rooms, kitchen and bathrooms.
Free breakfast, nice extra, but very basic (cereal, toast). Quite crowded most of the time, hard to get yourself a mug or glass and Always in line for the toasters.
This hostel is very big and spread out over multiple floors. Due to the size it feels quite impersonal.
Overall good value for money and not too far out of the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, General Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Lizaal,

Thank you for taking the time and consideration to review us here at Urban Central. We take a lot of pride with regards to cleanliness and it is pleasing to see that yourself as well as numerous other guests notice this.

We hope the rest of your journey was a success, and we would love to see you return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2013

the room was pretty nice except for the German girl and guy having sex every night!! the public areas were alright except for sunday mornings when it was full of drunk people from the nightclub downstairs!! Overall its better than the ones in the city centre but its not great...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, General Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It's great to see you rated our location and rooms at a high standard. The weekends can get a bit noisier being in the city, and we hope you'll choose to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Reasonably priced and good location. Right next to a tram stop that goes to the city centre or St Kilda! Or you can walk to the centre in about 15 mins! Nice clean rooms with private lockers that have plug sockets in. Spacious kitchen with great facilities! Really big hostel, so I felt it lacked some atmosphere. Right opposite Mcdonalds and a short walk from Woolworths and Aldi. Really friendly staff at reception!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieNelson_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, General Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear KatieNelson_X,

Thank you for taking the time to review us here at Urban Central. I am pleased to read that our reception staff provided you with excellent service during your stay. It’s the little things like having your own personal plug socket in a secure location that make the difference, so we are pleased that you appreciated it.

All the best for the future, and we he hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Close to tram stop, only a few minute ride to the city centre. Rooms and communal areas are super clean. Secure building and staff at the reception 24/7. Excellent value. Definatly will return and highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hello, Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Urban Central. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, especially our location, clean facilities and 24 hour reception. We hope to see you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
136 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is the most favourable hostel in my backpacker's life. It is located 10 minutes walk from the Southern Cross Station (Transportation hub) and few walk to the South Melbourne Market, supermarket, restaurants, cafes and the Crown Entertainment Complex. The promise is a large
7 storey building with 100 rooms. Most of the rooms is the 4-bed dormitory. In the dorm, besides the 2 clean bunk beds, there are lockers, bed lamps, plug-in boxes and mirror. There is a TV lounge in each floor. The ground floor houses a huge bar, internet room, dining room, telephone strands, outdoor smoking area and a well equipped kitchen. The cleaners are very busy to clean
up the kitchen and the dining room. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Free breakfast is more than basic and 24-hour coffee is provided for free. Highly recommended to all travellers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lui w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi Lui, thank you for your kind review of Urban Central. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass on your positive words to our cleaning staff and reception staff. I hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to Urban Central one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Good basic student accomodation with close link to city centre and opposite a Mcdonalds for the hangover in the morning. The facilities were good and clean and the bar and restaurant were open late but didnt disturb during the night.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the upper floors to avoid any noise transfer from the bar below
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spenderpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason-GM, Front Office Manager at Urban Central, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Urban Central. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us, especially our close proximity to the city. Hopefully we will see you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#103 of 159 in Melbourne
378 reviews
Central Business District
United Backpackers Melbourne
United Backpackers Melbourne
#4 of 136 in Melbourne
535 reviews
Central Business District
Space Hotel
Space Hotel
#9 of 136 in Melbourne
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Home at The Mansion
#48 of 136 in Melbourne
118 reviews
Central Business District
Melbourne Central YHA
Melbourne Central YHA
#19 of 136 in Melbourne
411 reviews
Central Business District
The Greenhouse Backpacker
The Greenhouse Backpacker
#33 of 136 in Melbourne
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Urban Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Urban Central

Property: Urban Central
Address: 334 City Rd, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Urban Central 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Urban Central is ideally located in Melbourne's vibrant Southbank adjacent to the famous Crown Casino. The city is a 10 minute walk and with public transport on our doorstep, St Kilda is only a 10 minute tram ride away. Shopping around Urban Central is located close to local cafes, shops and the famous South Melbourne Market. If you enjoy good coffee and eateries Southbank restaurants overlooking The Yarra River are 5 min stroll from Urban Central. On the way to visit Port Melbourne beach you could pick up a bargain at Direct Factory Outlet about a 10 minute from our accommodation venue. Stay, Play at Urban Central! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Urban Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Urban Central Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing