We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Melbourne

“Another treasure in Melbourne”
Review of Tim Ho Wan

Tim Ho Wan
Ranked #405 of 5,443 Restaurants in Melbourne
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Central Business District
Description: Home of Chef Mak and Chef Leung's famous dumplings. Our signature baked BBQ Pork Buns are available every day of the week!
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We get the information about these dumpling restaurant from our friend 3 days ago. We try it today. Unbelievable how can we miss these place at the heart of Melbourne.
Try their Bake Bun, Glutinous rice, wasabi salad prawn dumpling, mango sago pomelo. So delicious. Exactly we will come again & again to these restaurant who has been Awarded Michelin Star several time since 2010.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank mulyanegara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 346 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2020

Yeah, wasn't what I really expected to line up for 15 minutes for. The word Michelin Star is on he signs but really there are far superior Asian restaurants just metres away. menu is different, it is basically all snack type dishes. Not my favourite place in Melbourne.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GregoryBBundaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

A Michelin Star eatery which is affordable and real good. Their Baked Buns with BBQ pork are amazing and so are the prawn dumplings. I find their plain Vermicelli Rolls a little too sweet with the Hoi Sin sauce dribbled artfully on it but the soy sauce kind of balance it. if you are a Dim Sum lover this is your MUST place!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sally T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2020 via mobile

All the dumplings and dishes were excellent quality. Not too much oil and steamed well. All the classic dishes were delicious, Siu Mai, Har Gao, Glutinous rice, Cha Siu Can Bao, Har Cheung, Custard Buns. You will have to pay for it, ended up being $30 pp.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank chanpion01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2020 via mobile

Before leaving for Melbourne we have put Tim Ho Wan in our dining list. Tim Ho Wan Hongkong is a great name that achieved Michelin Star in 2015, their Dim Sum was great when we ate in this restaurant in February 2019. To reach this restaurant we can use Tram 96 which ride across Burke Street, it is not far from Burke St/Swanson St - Stop 6 (not Russell St - Stop 7, as mentioned in Google Map).

However we're very surprised when visiting Tim Ho Wan the 2nd times this late December, the restaurant was not as crowded as before and also the food were tasteless! Has something changed???

Date of visit: December 2019
Thank ferdinandlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tim Ho Wan also viewed

 

Been to Tim Ho Wan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing