We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the most hideously rude and agressive staff member I have ever encountered!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne
Ranked #52 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Wow! Literally just got back home and soooooo pleased that my hideous experience at Docklands "Prestige" Apartments is OVER! I have absolutely never encountered such rude and obnoxious staff in my life.

We were literally abused for turning up at 9pm (sorry, should have asked the captain of our plane to step on it!)....and when I stated that I had two babies (8 months old and 21 months old) and to stop yelling at us and calm down the General Manager (being the lovely Wanda Robinson) actually said "I don't care about your kids, I'll leave you right now!" and she turned around and walked away from us leaving my two frightened children, my husband, our PA and I absolutely stunned and in the freezing cold!

After returning as a result of a desperate plea to take us to our room, our "friend" Wanda screamed at us for no word of a lie, twenty minutes about the fact we should have read our paperwork and turned up at a different entrance (god for bid she actually had to walk 5 minutes to meet us when we spent $1,745 to stay there for 4 nights!!!!).

The abuse was absolutely unbelieveable. I have never experienced anything like it and to think someone would do that in the presence of two young babies, and why, because we turned up to a different entrance? What kind of "business" are you guys trying to run?

The fact that this woman is the GENERAL MANAGER, I find absolutely unbelievable (particularly as she's also the customer face of the business and sits on the front desk - can't be that busy hey Wanda?).

Aside from the hideous character they call a Manager, the room was sub-standard. The electrics were appaling - the TV barely worked, the dishwasher kept going and going and actually never stopped and there is no internet (expect a $40 dongle for 24 hours) - what a joke!!!

The room smelt musty, there was no cleaning as part of the "prestigous" package we thought we were getting and it really is in a shoddy location.

Certainly wouldn't recommend it for a business trip which we were on and most DEFINITELY would never recommend it for families.

What a nightmare of an experience, so glad to be home and as far away from anyone by the name of WANDA ROBINSON!

Room Tip: Don't do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
42  Thank Mrs_Renee_GC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda R, Manager at Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

We realised that arriving early hours in the morning with the plane being delayed and having two small children can leave you extremely frazzled. After hours staff did their upmos t to calm the family down and get them settled as soon as possible. We are disappointed that travelling was so stressful that our staff was the targeted at the end of your trip.

Thank you for your comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 81 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed 5 nights in a 3-bedroom, 2-bathroom apartment. There are three accommodation towers in the Docklands Precinct and we stayed in Nolan, named after Sidney Nolan. It's useful to ask which tower you might be allocated to, as those close to the trains and trams can be noisy. The apartment was neat and clean, however, the lounge/dining area was a bit on the small side. Good eateries close by, as well as bargain shopping across the road at Harbour Town. The city is not far away and is best accessed by catching the free City Circle tram which stops 200m away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Travellingthylacine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

The pics on the internet looked great - the reality was quite different ! Nestled amongst residential apartments in the Dockland precinct the property was hard to get to, through lifts and corridors and very unusual smells... The view was very nice if you didn't mind the dirty balcony and rusty outdoor setting. The cleaners did the best they could with air freshener to mask the musty smell of the room. The bed and bedding had obviously accommodated - many guests from what we could see red heads, brunettes and a few blonds.
Perhaps when first released it was "Prestige" but little has been done to keep to an acceptable level for the price we paid. Try some where else to enjoy the Docklands experience.

Room Tip: Check reviews by other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
29  Thank tkelly5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanda R, Manager at Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Dear Valued Guest

The photos on our website are genuine photos of our apartments unlike other serviced apartment providers. Unfortunately from the car park to the apartment that is how the building was built at Docklands. Being by the sea the outdoor settings do tend to suffer from the salt air and the balcony from the weather.

Thank you for your ocmment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

As a regular in self catering accommodation all over the world, and with the prospect of Christmas there, choosing self-catering again was the obvious choice. Prestige Apartments seemed upmarket, well appointed and located. That's from the website. In reality....

We spent probably half an hour trying to find out the exact building. There are no details given when the booking is confirmed and the instructions are... vague to put it politely. The same as the instructions relating to facilities in the building: absolutely wrong. Probably relating to a completely random building, certainly not this one.

The 2 bedroom flat was supposed to have a study as well: the 'study' was a room that had an armchair in the corner. No desk, no other furniture, not even the promised 'internet connexion' (on figuring out there's no wifi we assumed there may be a cable. Alas, we soon discovered that when you assume....). We enquired about the absence of the advertised internet (which for the price should be included) and were told by a stroppy lady that 'they (the customers, that is) kept using it and downloading', and it was costing them, so now if we wanted it she could sell us a dongle.

The rest.... no coffee maker; no chopping board. As a matter the fact, the kitchen had 2 small pots, one frying pan and a dirty tray. No basics aside from 4 sachets of coffee, sugar and tons of salt. Some small quantities of sugar, oil, etc wouldn't have cost a fortune and would have probably made me less inclined to leave such a detailed review Sufficient cutlery, but no bottle openers; little was kept in the otherwise plentiful storage space.

One of the bedrooms had no shelving space, the other no hanging space. I was left seething after the better part of $1400 for four nights. Nothing in terms of customer service, other than complaining about previous customers.

What a rip off!!! Avoid at all costs.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank alstma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Highly recommend the Penthouse suite 'Crystal'. I was so surprised of the views in this apartment, the immaculate Decor and the standard of this suite. Staff were friendly and helpful. Would love to stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah_h87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2010

cups were chipped, crockery cracked, minimal utensils, no full length mirror, sreeeching doors, squeeky beds, couldn't find bath plug, light bulbs missing.....

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank berntSandstonePoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

Attempted to book a room via prestige apartments - recieved nothing but arrogance - pricing changes by the day - non returning of calls and total disinterest in taking my booking - I thought I'd speak to the owner to let them know how the ship was run whilst the captain was away , and nothing was said - word on the street is this is a common occurance at docklands prestige apartments - let it be known I found friendly helpful service with mecure apartments docklands and they will be utilized in the 6 seperate occasions I require in 2011 (that's $15,000 worth of accomodation you have missed out on Beverly )

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
25  Thank Bolder77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
#57 of 161 in Melbourne
717 reviews
Quest Docklands
#20 of 161 in Melbourne
722 reviews
Docklands
Four Points By Sheraton Melbourne Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands
Accommodation Corporate Docklands
Docklands
Docklands Private Collection of Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne

Address: 7 Caravel Lane, Melbourne, Victoria 3008, Australia
Location: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Docklands
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 153 Specialty Lodging in Melbourne
Price Range: $151 - $369 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Docklands Prestige Apartments Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing